Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Poverty: Agriculture and Agribusiness

Food Sovereignty and Agribusiness

The following are suggested library databases, aid organizations (both governmental and non-governmental) sample books, and journals containing information on the political economy of food, food sovereignty, and agribusiness.  

Library Databases

Agricola. Indexes books, journal articles, audiovisual materials, state agricultural and USDA publications. Subjects include agriculture, agricultural economics, horticulture, nutrition, and soil science

AGRIS. International, multilingual database of papers, data, and statistics on agricultural research and technology produced by the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). 

Business Source Complete. Access to scholarly business magazines and other sources, including peer-reviewed business publications.

EconLit. Access to scholarly journal articles in economics as well as books and dissertations, and articles within 'collective works'. 

Humanities International Complete. Indexes scholarly publications in the humanities: often offers interesting critiques of the dominant paradigms in development assistance. 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Left Index. A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

PAIS International.  Books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, and conference reports related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

Sociological Abstracts.  Finds books, journals, and dissertations on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, and urban development.

Women's Studies International.  Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and reports worldwide.

Sample Books