Skip to main content

GPP 115: Global Poverty - Challenges and Hopes in the New Millennium: Articles by Subject

Academic Journals and Poverty

Many academic disciplines study issues relating to poverty, microfinance and humanitarian relief.  The following databases are grouped by these disciplines: business, economics & political sciencesociology and anthropologyglobal studies; and public health.  

Sociology & Anthropology

Anthropology Plus. Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries.

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available. 

Project MUSE. Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch of the Proquest social sciences indexes. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. 

Social Work Abstracts. Indexes  journals related to social work on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization

Urban Studies and Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection. Covers  Economic Development, Planning, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Community Development, Urban Policy, and Welfare Economics.

Web of Science. Indexes the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Business Economics and Political Science

Business Source Complete.  Scholarly business journals and other sources, including peer-reviewed business publications, including management, economics, finance, international business, and more.

EconLit. The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). 

Eldis.  Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of full text documents free to download as well as resource guides and country profiles.

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. 

Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection.  Journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers American Government and Politics, Policy Studies, Peace and Conflict Studies and International Relations.

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch of the Proquest social sciences databases. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.  Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy. 

Global Studies

Absees Online Database. Citations to research on Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and the former Soviet Union published in the US and Canada.

Africa-Wide Information. Database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). Searches journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

Ethnic News Watch (ENWH). Indexes ethnic, minority, and native press publications, searchable in English and Spanish. 

Index Islamicus. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

PASCAL and FRANCIS Archive. Bibliographic databases ceased in 2015 but now freely available. FRANCIS indexes journals, books, dissertations, and other European sources covering the humanities and social sciences (1972-2015). PASCAL provides multidisciplinary coverage for science, technology, and medicine with an emphasis on European content (1984-2015).

RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe. Spanish language ejournals maintained by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and with a focus on materials published in and about the nations of the Spanish. 

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in the Global South, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean. 

Public Health

PubMed. National Libraru of Medicine's bibliographic database of citations and abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and worldwide. 

BIOSIS Previews. Most comprehensive reference database for life sciences. Covers biology, biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology, medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology etc.

CAB Abstracts. International database providing access to articles, conference proceedings, reports, and books. Covers all aspects of sustainable development and applied life sciences, with emphasis on agriculture, forestry, human health, and the management of natural resources, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries.

Global Health.  Indexes journals, books, reports, conference proceedings,patents, theses, and electronic only publications. Topics include environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, nutrition, public health, and more.

IndMED  Database of Indian biomedical research.To search, type your search terms in the search form and then click "Begin search," or one may utilize the Advanced Search function.

LILACS: Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences. Covers literature related to the health sciences that has been published in Latin American countries. 

Web of Science. Indexes the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

World Health Organization Regional Databases.  Regional health and medical databases  from countries outside the major industrialized areas which not included in Medline. Includes:

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.