Library Guides: Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: Get Started

Welcome!

See other pages in this guide for ESPM-specific information on:

Related Guides:

Getting connected

Connecting from Off Campus
Set up the VPN (pick the Library Access and Full Tunnel option) or add the proxy bookmarklet to your browser to access Library e-resources from off-campus.
On-campus Wifi
You will need to use the Eduroam wifi network to connect to Library e-resources while on campus.
Student Tech Support
Get help with your technology at several campus locations or via Zoom, phone, or email.
Student Technology Equity Program
Need-based loans of technology hardware to grad and undergrad students.
Software @ Berkeley
Campus licensed software

Need to know

Textbooks

Digital Course Reserves
Where possible, the Library acquires ebooks of assigned texts or scans textbooks and makes them available via controlled digital lending. Your instructors should provide links if your texts will be available online.

Workshops, Trainings, Groups

Calendar of Library Workshops
The Library offers drop-in workshops, particularly towards the beginning of each semester. Topics include Zotero, data analysis, GIS, and more.
Subscribe to Library Workshop Calendar

For workshops on software, data analysis, and programming languages such as R and Python, watch the D-Lab calendar or sign up for their email list.

The Geospatial Innovation Facility (GIF) has workshops on geospatial topics, and you may be interested in the GIS and Mapping Community of Practice

Bay Area Open Science Group meets monthly and is a great community for learning about Open Science.

New Library Resources

Planet Labs satellite images
See description and access information in 'Planet Data' box.

Fire Insurance Maps Online: California This link opens in a new window
Provides user-friendly access to full-color Sanborn and other fire insurance maps from roughly 1875-1950s. Maps may show building structures, building construction details, property uses, and other information. Subscription includes California only. Users can search the platform by place name or through an interactive map. Maps can be accessed online or downloaded in full resolution.
OSF Institutions This link opens in a new window
The Open Science Framework (OSF) supports and enables reproducible open science as a platform for research outputs including preprints; registrations and preregistrations; and project sites to host project plans, results and associated files.
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and History This link opens in a new window
Archival collections (documents, images, data, maps, and photographs) from multiple global sources that focus on aspects of environmental science, history, and anthropogenic change.
"Sources include the Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI), The National Archives (UK), Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew), the Commonwealth Forestry Institute, Royal Entomological Society, and Ecological Society of America.

Topics covered include agriculture, biodiversity, botany, climate change,
deforestation, entomology, fisheries, hydrology, irrigation, livestock, water sources, and wetlands. "
Environmental History: Conservation and Public Policy in America, 1870-1980 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources that document the role of government agencies, conservation organizations and individual actors who pioneered the study of the natural environment and campaigned for its protection. UCB access only.
The sources in this database document the different aspects of conservation and environmental public policy in North America in the modern era. Researchers can explore unique primary sources that trace the evolution of land rights, resource usage, trade rules, and environmental protections that mark the beginning of the modern conservation movement. Scholars will find the papers of pioneering conservationists such as George Bird Grinnell and Joseph Trimble Rothrock, alongside material from government agencies such as the Bureau of Land Management and the Bureau of Reclamation who have formed and conserved national parks, forests and dams across North America, shaping the landscape it is today.
Pharos This link opens in a new window
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).

Secondary menu

Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: Get Started

Welcome!

Getting connected

Need to know