Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Art History: Guide to online resources during COVID-19

Introduction

See the COVID-19 Portal for UC Berkeley Library Users for the most recent updates on evolving library services

Read more about the HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service: https://news.lib.berkeley.edu/ETAS

Book a Zoom reference appointment with the Art Librarian if you need help accessing resources, or you can use our 24/7 chat help.

Guide to free trials at UC Berkeley during COVID

COVID-19 Alert: HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS)

HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) 

ebooks

Below is a sampling of publications available online. Some publications are also discoverable from the Oskicat search portal. You can also view our general guide on finding eBooks at Berkeley.

 

Berkeley eBook packages:

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project

Artifex Press

Cambridge eBooks

EBSCO eBooks

JSTOR

MIT Press Direct

Overdrive ebooks and audiobooks (read more here)

Project Muse

ProQuest Ebook Central

Springer Electronic Book Package (read more here)

UC Press E-Books Collection (eScholarship Editions) 

Yale Art & Architecture ePortal

 

Other Portals for Accessing eBooks:

Getty Research Portal

Google Books

HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (read more: https://news.lib.berkeley.edu/ETAS)

Internet Archive (register for an account to 'check out' books)

 

Open Access Museum Publications:

Art Institute of Chicago Publications

Detroit Institute of Arts

Getty Museum Publications

Guggenheim Publications

LACMA Publications

Metropolitan Museum of Art Publications

Museum of Modern Art, NY Publications

National Gallery of Art Publications

Smithsonian Books Online

Wildenstein Institute Publications

 

Textbooks with free temporary access:

Cengage

Redshelf

Vitalsource

 

List of other vendor free access during COVID-19:

 https://tinyurl.com/vendorsupportedaccess

Film and Video

Online Databases

Berkeley subscribes to many databases with online journal content. You can find a full list of the Berkeley databases at the A-Z database list. Below are a few of the recommended databases for Art History research.

Tips for finding ebooks at Bekeley

Start Your Search

  • In the Start Your Search search results, select eBooks from the Source Types filter in the column to the left of the page.
    source types in start your search
  • If you don't see a listing for eBooks under Source Types, choose the Show More link and look for eBooks there.
     
  • To jump directly to the eBook contents on the vendor's site look for links to:
    • PDF Full Text 
    • Online Access
    • ePub Full Text
    • Full Text from...
      ebooks in search results
  • Note that Download (Offline) links require you to create and login to a My EBSCOHost account.

OskiCat

  • From OskiCat's Quick Search, change the dropdown to the right of the search box from "Entire Collection" to "Available Online" and enter your search terms.
    oskicat search
  • To access an eBook from the OskiCat search results, first select the link to a particular title.
  • Access the eBook via the link in the Link to online version(s) box. NOTE: The link will include the name of the database, not the eBook title, and often includes a notice such as "Restricted to UC campuses."
    link to eBook