A repository of more than 1 million high resolution art, architecture, and design images with associated catalog data.
A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines. Includes several collections such as: The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; Native American Art and Culture from the Smithsonian; the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, etc. Short instructional videos are available online. See: Intro to the new ARTstor, Downloading images to PowerPoint, Batch download tool, and Making an image group.
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
Brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions. Europeana -- the European digital library, museum and archive -- launched in 2008 and is funded by the European Commission and its member states. This current prototype is one of many parallel projects of The European Library.
The most comprehensive slide archive of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period. The archive houses over 6,000 slides of artworks and exhibitions, as well as publications and videos about and by artists. There are over 200 individual artist folders, as well as curators, art historians, cultural critics and arts organization files. AAVAA is searchable by keyword, including title, artist, subject, technique, and description. Sponsored by University of East London.
More than 100,000 color transparencies and 500,000 black-and-white negatives relating to works of art in France's national museums: paintings, sculptures, decorative arts, drawings and photographs. Also includes 120,000 glass plates (the Fonds Vizzavona-Druet) documenting artistic life in the first half of the twentieth century. Offers a representative survey of the history of art, archaeology, architecture, and ethnology. English version available.
Historical Associated Press photos. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, audio files, and news stories and headlines. (Associated Press Photo Archive - AccuNet - AP Multimedia Archive - AP Photo Archive) [1826 - present]
4.6 million photographs from the Associated Press dating back to 1826 to the present. Historical photos date from 1996 to 1826. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, over 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines dating from 1997. Search by keyword to search all the images in the photo collection or do an advanced search to limit results.
A repository of more than 1 million high resolution art, architecture, and design images with associated catalog data.
A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines. Includes several collections such as: The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; Native American Art and Culture from the Smithsonian; the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, etc. Short instructional videos are available online. See: Intro to the new ARTstor, Downloading images to PowerPoint, Batch download tool, and Making an image group.
The Beazley Archive is the largest single collection of images (over 27,000) from Greek vases, and is excellently indexed, not only by painter, vase shape, location, etc. but by subject. A good place to find images from both classical myths and from everyday life, with full scholarly apparatus.
In cooperation with the Biblioteca Ambrosiana in Milan, Italy, Professor Robert Randolf Coleman of the University of Notre Dame is producing this inventory-catalogue of the Ambrosiana's collection of some 12,000 drawings by European artists who were active from the fourteenth through nineteenth centuries.
Published by the German Documentation Center for Art History/Bildarchiv Foto Marburg, this database includes over 2 million images of art and architecture in thirteen European countries. The images and data are contributed from 80 partners. Search by places, artist, portraits, and topics.
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
A collection of over 12,000 digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world.
A collection of over 5000 digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages to the Parc de la Villette. Users can now search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields. Images have all been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. Freely available to anyone with access to the Web for use in the classroom, student study, or for individual research purposes.
A searchable collection of more than 100,000 digital images of decorated Greek pottery, drawn from the illustrations of the out-of-print fascicles of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. The print version of CVA is arranged by country, then by holding institution, and surveys comprehensively collections of Greek vases in museums around the world.
Focus on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic history materials. Includes historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa. (Luna Insight)
Contains to date over 8,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. [Note: This collection is also part of the UC Image Service and can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality but must be downloaded.]
Electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and online resources.
Brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
This site enables visitors to browse and download jpegs of large format digital files created through a project supported by The National Endowment for the Humanities and The Henry Luce Foundation.
Includes artists’ sketchbooks, drawings and watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks, and early photographs of the Middle East and Asia. Available to the public for use without fees or restriction.
The Library of Congress is home to a noteworthy collection of rare Persian language manuscripts, lithographic books and early imprints, as well as printed books, housed in the African and Middle Eastern Division (AMED) and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division.
A number of the illuminated books are multilingual works, which include Arabic and Turkish passages in addition to Persian, focusing on scientific, religious - philosophical and literary topics, and others are holy books important to all confessional traditions within the Islamic world.
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The timeline extends from prehistory to the present day.
"Photography: The World through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe."
"Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed. The nineteenth century was about family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel—all this is captured in photographs. This engaging resource serves multiple disciplines and supports a range of research and study topics."
High-resolution and zoom-able images from the UC Shared Images/Digital Special Collections program. Includes maps, photographs, art images, posters, and more. (Digital Special Collections) - DSC Image Service Collections (UC Image Service)
Among the 19 collections and over 30,100 images that are part of the UC Shared Images/Digital Special Collections program are several map collections (David Rumsey Historical Collection, Japanese Historical Maps, Maps of Africa), photographic collections (Andrew Dickson White Architectural Photographs, Icelandic and Faroese Photographs), art images (Claire Hold Indonesian Art Images, Lee Institute of Japanese Art, National Palace Museum of Taipei), posters (Hoover Institute Poster Collection, World War II Posters) and more. Collections provide high resolution and zoom-able digital images.
[Note: The collections in the UC Image Service can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality including cross-search all collections but must be downloaded.]
Includes more than 300,000 images from some 35 image collections from museums, universities and private collections throughout the world in the areas of cartography, fine arts, architecture, and photography. (Cartography Associates, David Rumsey - Luna Insight)
Includes more than 30,000 images from some 35 image collections from museums, universities and private collections throughout the world in the areas of cartography, fine arts, architecture, and photography. Some of the collections included are free and open to the public; others are restricted to educational use only or on a subscription basis only. Among the collections included are: USF Rare Map Collection, MOAC (Museums and Online Archive of California), Japanese Historical Maps Catena Historic Gardens and Landscapes Archive and many more. [Note: This collection can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality but must be downloaded.]
