Library Guides: Art History: Indexes

Indexes

Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Issues are scanned in high resolution color with fully searchable text. [1896 - 2015]
Covers the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Formerly titled Art Source or Art Full Text
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of the current literature of modern and contemporary art, photography and design. [1974 - present]
Indexes journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. [1929-1984]
Includes citations to art reproductions. Provides citations from Volumes 1-32 of the print counterpart, Art Index. (Art Index Retro - Art Index)
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Saving your search & setting alerts
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and professional journals covering architecture, architectural design, environmental design, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. [1860s - present]
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
The Berg Fashion Library provides text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive eBook collection, reference resources, and a vast image bank.
Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of the published literature pertaining to Mesoamerica, including archaeology, art history, ethnography, ethnohistory, linguistics, physical anthropology, and related disciplines.
The geographical scope of Bibliografia Mesoamericana includes conventional coverage of Mesoamerica as a culture area. Specifically it includes most of Mexico, all of Belize and Guatemala, the western parts of El Salvador and Honduras, and the Pacific coastal regions of Nicaragua and Costa Rica to the Nicoya peninsula. Temporal coverage extends from the early sixteenth-century to the present. Bibliografia Mesoamericana is a joint project of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI) and the Library of the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, Philadelphia, PA.
Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of Medieval Civilization indexes monographs and miscellanies as well as book reviews. It complements and can be simultaneously searched with the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) for periodicals. (Brepols) [1958 to present]
Originating in the printed bibliography published in the well-known Cahiers de civilisation médiévale between 1958 and 2009, it is sustained by the work of selection and indexing carried out at the Centre d’Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale (CESCM) in Poitiers. Initially dedicated to the High Middle Ages, it has progressively broadened its scope, going from Late Antiquity to the Late Middle Ages (300-1500). Each bibliographical record is searchable by date, subject and place and provides a wealth of information.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, and more. [1971 - present]
Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art and Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) are citation databases searchable together, and cover material published between 1975 and 2007, primarily covering European and American art.
Includes articles from over 1,200 journals. For material published after 2007, see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. (19th Century Index) [1800 - 1899]
C19 Index draws on the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present. [1973 - current]
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
DYABOLA This link opens in a new window
A catalog of one of the world's largest and oldest collections of books, journals, and research material on Classical, Egyptian, and Near Eastern archaeology, Byzantine art, epigraphy, numismatics and ancient history. [dates vary]
The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an image database of ancient works of art known during the Renaissance, along with information about them: authorship; conventional title; provenance; current and former locations; Renaissance texts discussing them; and some modern scholarship. It includes 10,000 ancient monuments, 20,000 references to Renaissance texts, and 30,000 photographs.
History of Modern Russian and Ukrainian Art Online This link opens in a new window
The collection documents the history of modern Russian and Ukrainian art. It encompasses critical literature, illustrated books, and art periodicals. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The collection contains texts by such artists as Wassily Kandinsky, Pavel Filonov, Kazimir Malevich and Anatolii Petrytskyi; publications of art groups such as the Jack of Diamonds (Bubnovyi valet) and Màkovets; theoretical tracts by Nikolai Tarabukin and Boris Kushner; and books by well-known critics such as IAkov Tugendkhol'd, Erikh Gollerbakh, and Nikolai Punin.

Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.

Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Indexes early Christian and medieval architecture and art objects to 1400 via thematic and iconographic indexes. Formerly titled Index of Christian Art.
Indexes early Christian and medieval architecture and art objects to 1400 via thematic and iconographic indexes. Several thousand images are now available as links from individual records about art works.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, artists, architectural design, exhibitions and sales, and advertisements to provide nearly complete coverage of art journals. (Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals)
Offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
A successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). (2008 - present)
This database covers international scholarship in European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history. Over 500 core journals are indexed, as well as monographs, essays, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs.
International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary bibliography of the Renaissance and the early modern period (1500-1700) which includes monographs, critical editions, translations, anthologies, miscellanies and exhibition catalogues to specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias, handbooks, journal articles and reviews written in any language and presented in any format. (Brepols) [1965-present]
The IBHR is a continuation of the Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance, coordinated and published by Librairie Droz since 1965. The core of the Bibliography focuses on European history and culture that spans the 16th and 17th centuries, and encompasses a broad spectrum of subjects, ranging from religious history through to philosophy, science and the arts; and from military and political history through to social and gender studies. Both the geographical and the chronological delimitations are not restrictive as the IBHR also includes publications on the European interactions with the wider world through exploration, colonization, slavery and the Christian mission and extends its coverage to the modern period with the inclusion of modern hermeneutics, reception studies and the 21st century teaching of texts written in the target period.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4500 periodicals and 5000 conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, edited volumes, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs covering all aspects of the Middleaages (400-1500 A.D.). Complements and can be searched simultaneously with the Bibliography of Medieval Civilization (BCM) for books. (Brepols) [1967 - present]
Covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300 journal titles to create a bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). [1883 - present]
Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world, International Directory of Scholars, International Directory of Renaissance and Reformation Associations and Institutes, and Scholars of Early Modern Studies (volume 34).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
KuBiKat This link opens in a new window
The Union Catalogue of three German research institutes (Kunsthistorisches Institut/Max Planck Institut, Florence; Zentralinstitut fur Kunstgeschichte, Munich; Biblioteca Hertziana/Max Planck Institut, Rome). Includes coverage of articles in periodicals, books, and e-journals.
KuBiKat was initiated by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Index of thousands of publications covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, including literature, language, history and archaeology. [1949 - 2004]
Indexes over 2000 books, journals, dissertations, conference papers, and collections covering all aspects of greco-roman antiquity including literature, language, history, and archaeology. Corresponds to volumes 20 (1949) to 75 (2004), covering the journal and monographic literature of Classics: over 375,000 bibliographic records, plus brief abstracts. (annee philologique)
Left Index This link opens in a new window
A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. [1982 - present]
A few materials have been included since 1975, though most began in 1982.
PASCAL and FRANCIS Archive This link opens in a new window
Both bibliographic databases ceased in 2015 but are freely available through INIST-CNRS. FRANCIS indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other European sources covering the humanities and social sciences (1972-2015). PASCAL offers bibliographic indexing of core scientific literature, and provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage for science, technology, and medicine with special emphasis on European content (1984-2015).
The PASCAL-FRANCIS Archive will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having previously cooperated with PASCAL and FRANCIS.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Index of performing arts periodicals. (formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts) [1864 - present]
Indexes and abstracts scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, documents, biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, and reviews. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
Russian Avant-garde Online This link opens in a new window
This collection represents works of all Russian literary avant-garde schools. It comprises almost 800 books, periodicals and almanacs most of them published between 1910-1940. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The Russian literary avant-garde was both a cradle for many new literary styles and the birthplace of a new physical appearance for printed materials. The strength of this collection is in its sheer range. It contains many rare and intriguingly obscure books, as well as well-known and critically acclaimed texts, almanacs, periodicals, literary manifests. Represented in it are more than 30 literary groups without which the history of twentieth-century Russian literature would have been very different.
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
A digital platform for culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within - and about - the Indian subcontinent. [1700-1953]
The South Asia Archive provides digital access to rare and out of print materials ranging from the mid-18th to mid-20th century in a mix of English and vernacular languages. Search across multiple document types, including government acts, books, calendars, catalogs, censuses, directories, gazette, journals, film pamphlets, legal documents, magazines, manuals, maps, proceedings, reports, and statistics. The material included is interdisciplinary, covering art history, economics, law, science, education, literature, and more.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 6/30/2024 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar as an alternative resource. Essential index to the study of cities and regions including urban affairs, community development and urban history. Coverage dating back to 1939.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), including advertisements, images, etc. from the first issue in 1892 to the present. [1892 - present]
The entire run of U.S. Vogue (including advertisements, images, etc.) from the first issue (1892) to the present. Includes the ability to search by fashion item and company/brand.

Secondary menu

Art History: Indexes

Recommended Indexes

Indexes