Contains 15,000 structured vocabulary terms and other information about objects, concepts, artists, and places.
Terms may be used to describe art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, and archival materials. Coverage ranges from Antiquity to the present, and the scope is global.
Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one million artists.
Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one million artists, A-Z, from antiquity to the present with world-wide coverage for painters, graphic artists, sculptors, architects, designers, photographers, video and installation artists, artisans, etc. Important historical sources Thieme-Becker/Vollmer, the Nurnberger Kunstlerlexikon and the Lexikon der Kunstlerinnen are also included. New articles are published immediately and the content is regularly updated and expanded. In addition to the biography, articles contain information on the artist's creative work, art historical significance, a selection of works with locations, exhibitions, and bibliographical references.
ArtLex provides definitions for more than 3,300 terms used in discussing visual culture, including thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, quotations and cross references.
Over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present. Searchable via Oxford Art Online along with Grove Art Online, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, etc.
Over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present. Searchable via Oxford Art Online along with Grove Art Online, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, etc.
From Baroque to Postmodernism, batik to mezzotint, and canvas to porcelain, provides succinct and accessible explanations of over 1,800 terms used in the wide variety of visual media that makes up the art world.
Containing more than one million names and other information about places that are important for art, architecture and material culture. Includes the vernacular and English names of the place, variant names in other languages, and historical names.
Iconclass is a subject-specific classification system and a hierarchically ordered collection of definitions of objects, persons, events and abstract ideas that can be the subject of an image. Art historians, researchers and curators use it to describe, classify and examine images represented in various media such as paintings, manuscripts, posters, photographs and newspaper clippings.
Published by the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions, this glossary covers specialized terms used by art historians in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Swedish, with a U.S. English index.
Online encyclopedia with 6000+ entries on all aspects of the ancient world and classical antiquity.
Online encyclopedia with 6000+ entries on all aspects of the ancient world and classical antiquity. Includes a brief but up-to-date bibliography, a list of authors and the titles of their works, as well as of collections of inscriptions and papyri.
ULAN, published by the Getty Research Institute, is a structured vocabulary that contains over 250,000 names and other information about artists. Coverage is from Antiquity to the present, and the geographical scope is global. The scope includes any individual or corporate body involved in the design or creation of art and architecture. The focus of each record is the artist. Linked to each record are names, relationships (including student-teacher relationships), locations (for birth, death, and activity), important dates (such as for birth and death), notes, and sources for the data. Names for any artist can include the vernacular, English, other languages, natural order, inverted order, nicknames, and pseudonyms. The database is updated monthly. ULAN typically has more variant names and better biographical information than the Library of Congress Name Authority File.
