Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one million artists.
Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one million artists, A-Z, from antiquity to the present with world-wide coverage for painters, graphic artists, sculptors, architects, designers, photographers, video and installation artists, artisans, etc. Important historical sources Thieme-Becker/Vollmer, the Nurnberger Kunstlerlexikon and the Lexikon der Kunstlerinnen are also included. New articles are published immediately and the content is regularly updated and expanded. In addition to the biography, articles contain information on the artist's creative work, art historical significance, a selection of works with locations, exhibitions, and bibliographical references.
A collection of treatises on art and architecture printed and published between 1470 and 1775.
A collection of treatises on art and architecture printed and published between 1470 and 1775. Structured around the two Italian editions of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists. First or early editions have been preferred and translations are from the publication period. There are two exceptions to this policy for English translations. A 1912-1914 translation of Vasari's Lives and a 1907 translation of the introductory section On Technique are included because no reliable contemporary translations exist. The entire text of each work is included and the complete database contains approximately 4,000 images.
Over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present. Searchable via Oxford Art Online along with Grove Art Online, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, etc.
Over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present. Searchable via Oxford Art Online along with Grove Art Online, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, etc.
An index of art historians mentioned in major art historiographies, including Eugene Kleinbauer's Research Guide to the History of Western Art (1982) and his Modern Perspectives in Western Art History (1971), Heinrich Dilly's Kunstgeschichte als Institution (1979) and some of Kultermann's Geschichte der Kunstgeschichte (1966). The database is designed to give researchers a beginning point to finding information on the background of major art historians of western art history. Edited by Lee Sorenson, art reference librarian, Duke University.
Broad coverage of painting, sculpture, and graphic art, encompassing all the major movements and styles of the twentieth-century, including entries on art schools, galleries, exhibitions, prizes, terms, techniques, collectors, critics, dealers and patrons. Features many of the interesting figures at the periphery of modern art.
Multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool about Iranian history and civilization.
The disciplines represented include, but are not confined to, anthropology, archaeology, geography, art history, ethnology, sociology, economics, history of religion, philosophy, mysticism, history of science and medicine, Islamic history, botany, zoology, folklore, development of agriculture and industry, political science, international relations, and diplomatic history. Articles are in English with multilingual bibliographies. [Must use Internet Explorer to access.]
Essays and articles on major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts. (Oxford Encyclopedia of Aesthetics)
Surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society -- from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Includes coverage of international aesthetics, modern aesthetics, new media like computer art, and areas like neuroaesthetics.
All aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Over 260 contributors from around the globe. Represents the diversity of issues and theoretical paradigms that drive archaeological research. Online counterpart of the 3-volume print edition published in 2008 by Elsevier.
Online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes). Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography.
Online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes). Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Also includes biographical information on major artists, bibliographical references and links to images. (Part of the Oxford Art Online suite.)
Encompassing over four thousand years and with over 1,000 entries, spans every art form, medium and civilization, from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. Features in-depth articles, including biographies and thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. Art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.
The Modern Art Iraq Archive project documents Iraq’s rich but threatened modern artistic heritage. This open access project includes images of works of art, many of them now lost, from the Iraqi Museum of Modern Art in Baghdad, as well as publications, exhibition catalogs, and personal documentation.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Over 800 biographical entries, both on photographers and on others who have influenced photographic culture from the 19th century to the present, plus a wide range of technical information. Over 1,600 entries in total.
In-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques. Critical appreciation and factual information on over 1700 artists from classical times to the 20th century are included with 49 feature articles covering a broad spectrum of topics from art history and its methods to wall painting. 2,600 entries.
Biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism, covering painters, sculptors, installation artists, American institutions, organizations, schools, techniques, styles, and movements.
Based on the Oxford Dictionary of Art, this is an authoritative and up-to-date guide to Western Art from ancient Greece to the present day. Here also are periods and movements, including the Classical period, the Renaissance, Impressionism, the Ashcan School, and Cubism, as well as techniques and styles such as encaustic painting, encarnado, lithography, cabinet painting, and blot drawing. 2,500 entries.
Approximately 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt. Treats all branches of Egyptology: archaeology; anthropology; architecture; linguistics; literary studies; epigraphy; papyrology; history; art history; religion; economics; ecology; geomorphology; and life sciences.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 3/31/24 due to library budget cuts. The REM is a cross-disciplinary resource for students and researchers covering several subject areas: literature, architecture, visual arts, music, dance, theatre, film and intellectual currents.
Over 1,000 articles and over 100 images are included. Browsing by subject, movement and place is available to find information across fields and topics.
Directs users to archival repositories in the U.S. with collections of primary source material about women visual artists active in the U.S. after 1945 in addition to primary source material about the organizations, collectives, publications, alternative spaces, and artists' communities where the artists worked or continue to work. The Collections Database describes the primary source material for each artist (or organization, collective, publication, alternative space, artists' community) that is held by the repository.
