Art History: Social justice and anti-racism library resources

This collection of photographs of African Americans in the San Francisco Bay Area consists almost entirely of press photographs collected by James Abajian. Many of the photographs have captions provided by the press photographer or news agency. Photographers include Peter Breinig, Greg Peterson, Joe Rosenthal, Bill Young, Bob Hirschfield, David Randolph, Jerry Telfer, Art Frisch, Ken McLaughlin, and a few others.

Collection consists primarily of snapshots of Eldridge Cleaver's career from the mid-1960s to the early 1980s. Earliest materials relate to his affiliation with the Black Panther Party. Also contains photographs taken during his exile abroad from 1968 to 1975. The majority of photographs was taken after Cleaver's 1975 return to the United States and relate primarily to his activities in conservative politics and the evangelical Christian movement.

The Steven Marcus photographic collection contains approximately 1200 negatives taken during 1964. A student at the University of California Berkeley during Free Speech Movement (FSM), Marcus photographed FSM events regularly during the Fall for various local publications.

The Records of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Region I document the daily work of the NAACP in the Western United States from 1942-1986 (bulk 1945-1977). Regular additions to the collection are expected. Although the Region initially consisted of four states and grew to include nine, the bulk of the collection documents the work of the Region I Office in California, particularly in regard to statewide legislation.

The Free Speech Movement selection from the The San Francisco News-Call Bulletin newspaper photograph archive represents only a small portion of the total News-Call Bulletin photograph collection at The Bancroft Library. A representative group of photographs were selected from the original photographic negatives taken by staff photographers covering the Free Speech Movement protests at University of California Berkeley in the fall of 1964 and spring 1965.

Contains leaflets, flyers, posters, publications and ephemera. Gathered by the Social Protest Project primarily on Sproul Plaza for the UC undergraduate library between 1969-1982, the material primarly relates to the Vietnam War and Civil Rights demonstrations although there is significant material on Black Power, political issues, the Women's movement, lesbian and gay rights, Third World issues, the Left and Right, campus labor disputes, and the movement against nuclear power.