Art History: Digital Collections

Contains nearly all the cataloged drawings of the Department of Prints and Drawings. View the drawings according to their current attributions, previous owners, dates, schools, and subjects.

The Codex Gigas contains five long texts as well as a complete Bible. The manuscript begins with the Old Testament, and it is followed by two historical works by Flavius Josephus who lived in the first century AD. These are The Antiquities and The Jewish War.

The digitized exhibition catalogues are divided into two sections: the Detroit Museum of Art (1886-1919) and the Detroit Institute of Arts (1919-present).

Electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and online resources. Made possible by the Chipstone Foundation, the project is produced by the University of Wisconsin Madison General Library System.

The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions.

The Getty Research Portal is an online platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. Aggregating 170,000 digitized volumes from nearly 40 contributing institutions around the world at present, the Portal provides free and open access to the digitized literature of art history. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts hosted by the contributing institutions or their service providers.

Published by the National Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.), this online catalogue raisonné features publications of the Los Angeles print and sculpture workshop from its beginning in 1966 through 1996. Includes more than seventeen hundred print and sculpture editions by artists such as Robert Rauschenberg, Ellsworth Kelly, and Jasper Johns.

Exhibition checklists and pamphlets, published between 1895 and 1953, of the Macbeth Gallery and held by the Thomas J. Watson Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Frick Art Reference Library.

An online project under the direction of the Cape Ann Museum, Gloucester, Massachusetts. Includes historical archive, catalogue raisonnés, and educational resources.

The Getty Provenance Index® (GPI) provides access to archival inventories, sales catalogs, and dealer stock books.
The Getty Provenance Index: Additional Databases provides access to the Collectors Files, Payments to Artists, and Public Collections.

Searchable on-line digital collections of Saint John's University and the College of Saint Benedict. Includes digitized manuscripts, art, rare books, photographs, audio, video, and other resources.

Created by the Smithsonian American Art Museum, the Art Exhibition Catalog Index has descriptive information on nearly 136,494 art works shown in over 1,057 exhibitions held in this country and Canada up through 1876 (the Centennial year). Includes American and European artists and includes all media of art works - painting, sculpture, prints, drawings, etc.

A project of the Michigan State University Museum, this index is a searchable repository of digital images, audiovisual resources and documents representing over 50,000 quilts and associated quiltmakers and quilt-related activities, along with ephemera and interpretive materials.

Provides free worldwide access to scholarly research and documentation relating to artworks by Robert Rauschenberg in SFMOMA's permanent collection.

Within the Internet Archive search "getty salon" to retrieve the digitized salon books. Online access to 222 of the library's collection of Salon books.

This lecture archive includes more than 650 lectures from 1952 to present by visual artists, poets, architects, philosophers, journalists, curators, historians, and choreographers delivered by artists and visiting faculty at Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture. Note that the audio archive is not available online, but can be accessed on site at the following institutions: Archives of American Art, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Sterling & Francine Clark Art Institute, Colby College Museum of Art, The Ernest G. Welch School of Art & Design at Georgia State University, the Getty Center, the Museum of Modern Art, the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Tate, and Yale University.

Currently contains over 2 million records with 280,000 online media such as images, sound files, videos, and online collections including the Archives of American Art.

Selected from the rich World's Fair Collection at the Architecture Library, University of Maryland, this database provides access to art and architecture related images, virtual museum-like curated tours, and contextual essays covering a broad number of international fairs. Specific fairs were selected because of their international representation from the first international fair, the "Crystal Palace" in London (1851) through the present, although the Treasury's collection is strongest for the 1876 Philadelphia Centennial exhibition and the 1904 St. Louis Louisiana Purchase Exposition.