Library Guides: Migration and Immigration: Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
America: History and Life
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 6/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, and more. [1971 - present]
Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
Black Studies Center (BSC) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.
Includes three modules: The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience which includes interdisciplinary essays on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), a database covering some 150 scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, many of them in full text; and the full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Index of publications on Mexican-American topics and Latino cultures since 1967. [1967 - present]
Also includes materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. Coverage includes art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
CINAHL Complete
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 2/28/24 due to library budget cuts. Please use Pubmed as an alternative resource.

CINAHL is the primary database for nursing and allied health including topics such as addiction, aging, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, mental health, psychology, and more. [1937-]
CINAHL Complete includes articles, books, audiovisuals, standards of care, and more. Indexing over 5,000 journals from 1937 forward, it features PreCINAHL citations and cited references starting with 1985. Over 730 journals are available full text.
Education Source (formerly Education Full Text ) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text education research, including an international array of English-language periodicals, books, yearbooks, and more. (Education Index) [1929 - present]
Indexes articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere on all topics related to education.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH) This link opens in a new window
Although primarily newspapers, does include over 100 scholarly journal titles.
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies research in all disciplines; most references are in Spanish or English. [1936 - present]
Indexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating between focusing on the humanities and the social sciences.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. [1970 - present]
Indexes books, journals, conference proceedings, and official documents on Hispanic America (North, Central, and South), Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Historical Abstracts
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 06/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews and feature stories devoted to Jewish affairs published throughout the world. [1988 - present]
English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world. (Womens Studies International) [1972 - present]
Also indexes other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Secondary menu

Migration and Immigration

Finding Scholarly Articles