Migration and Immigration

• World Bank Global Bilateral Migration
  • An interactive portal allowing customized analyses of migration flows between 230+ countries by gender and year

• World Bank Migration and Remittances 
  • Tables and charts on migration flows and the sending of remittances (money sent from destination country back to origin country).  See also related publications. 

• Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
  • The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.  See also the MPI's publication Immigration Data Matters, which " links users directly to the most credible, high-quality data on immigrants and immigration in the United States and internationally. The easy-to-use publication includes more than 220 data resources compiled by governmental and authoritative nongovernmental sources."

• OECD Migration Databases
  • The OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) manages several databases related to migration to and from its 37 member countries. See also its annual publication, International Migration Outlook.

• Global Internal Displacement Database: The GIDD has three main tools for exploring, analysing and viewing displacement data:
  • The Displacement Data tab is a portal through which you can view the published figures from our annual flagship reports. These are the figures that have been able to validate through internal quality assurance and external peer review.
  • The Global Displacement Risk Model is a tool for exploring and visualising disaster-related displacement risk metrics such as how many people are likely to be displaced per country per year, or over five- or ten-year period. It also enables users to assess the likelihood of the occurrence of specific displacement events, for instance a cyclone that displaces 100,000 people or an earthquake that displaces 50,000 people.
  • The Displacement Data Exploration Tool lets users generate their own custom charts using our displacement data, UNHCR’s refugee data and all of the indicators from the World Bank’s open data catalogue. In the coming months, we will update this tool to include even more data related to development and humanitarian assistance and more granular data on specific sectors, such as agricultural production and food availability.

• The Humanitarian Data Exchange
  • The Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX) is an open platform for sharing data across crises and organisations. Launched in July 2014, the goal of HDX is to make humanitarian data easy to find and use for analysis. Our growing collection of datasets has been accessed by users in over 200 countries and territories.

• Eurostat Asylum and Migration Statistics
  • Eurostat produces European statistics in partnership with National Statistical Institutes and other national authorities in the EU Member States. This partnership is known as the European Statistical System (ESS). It also includes the statistical authorities of the European Economic Area (EEA) countries and Switzerland. This page contains statistics related to asylum and migration.

International Labour Organization: International Labour Migration. ILO unit responsible for labour migration undertaking a number of activities on priority areas of labour migration.

International Organization for Migration. Leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration. Excellent free online publications.

United Nations Demographic Yearbook. Collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched by the United Nations Statistics Division.

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs - Population Division. Responsible for monitoring and appraisal of in the areas of population.  See their World Population Prospects for estimates and projections for World Population.

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe: Population Statistics. Demographic data for Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States for population, mortality, marriage and divorce.

UNECE Population Unit - Generations and Gender Programme (GGP).  System of national Generations and Gender Surveys (GGS) and contextual database to improve policymaking in UNECE countries. Provides data access to support academic and policy research.

UN-Habitat: United Nations Human Settlements Programme. The United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN-HABITAT is mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.

United Nations Population. Part of the UN Department of Economic & Social Affairs. Responsible for monitoring and appraisal of the broad range of areas in the field of population.

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA). UN autonomous agency, and the world's largest international source of funding for population and reproductive health programmes. Flagship publication is the State of World Population.

United Nations Refugee Agency.   Stories and information about the UN's work for refugees around the world as well as searchable databases.

• Publications - See especially the Global Report and Global Appeal.
• Refworld - Searchable database on UN Refugee Literature.
• Statistics and Data.  Statistics and data on asylum seekers, displaced persons, and persons of concern. The UNHCR Popstats database presents tabular data in these areas.