Historical Primary Sources: Latin America

Includes most of the material held in the SAMS archives for the period up to 1919. This collection reproduces the minute books, reports from the mission field, articles and photographs on the geography, anthropology, natural history and economic development for the society's magazine, launched in 1867, as well as the journals of its Anglican founder, Captain Allen Gardiner, and two others of its missionaries, Edward Bernau and Adolfo Henriksen.

Digital version of the 1615 manuscript by a native Andean, Felipe Guaman Poma de Ayala

Chronicles the development of U.S. policy as it attempts to deal with the tragedy experienced in Argentina during the critical, formative period of the late 1970's, which featured a political collapse verging on civil war; a military coup; and massive illegal detentions, torture and kidnappings

Argentine presidential speeches from the 19th and 20th centuries

Official journal of Argentina includes laws, regulations, and other governmental information. Coverage is scattered, with some material dating back to the 1920s.

This digital collection documents the human rights activism of the Rabbi Marshall T. Meyer in 1970’s and 1980’s Argentina. The collection consists of the correspondence, project files, subject files, publications, and other documents contained in the Argentina subseries of the Geographic series of the Marshall T. Meyer papers held at Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Memoria Abierta is an alliance of non-governmental Argentinian organizations that is collecting documentation regarding the last military dictatorship.

Collection contains rare examples of anarchist, socialist, and communist newspapers published in Buenos Aires during the late nineteenth century.

A central repository for documents generated by Argentine political-military organizations.

A compilation of records from Executive branch departments and agencies relating to human rights abuses committed in Argentina between January 1, 1975 and December 31, 1984.

Vicente Gregorio Quesada (1830-1913) was a member of the national Parliament and Minister of the government in the province of Buenos Aires; a diplomat; as well as director of the National Library and initiator of editorial projects. His son Ernesto (1858-1934) was a lawyer, historian and social scientist, held important academic positions and is today known as one of the founders of the social sciences in Argentina.

Collection of digitized pamphlets documenting century of Bolivian literate culture, beginning in 1848

Digital access to private collection of José Mindlin, housed at the University of São Paulo.

A collection of archival materials from 1961 to 1988, with specific focus on the period of the military dictatorship in Brazil.

An archive of legal and judicial proceedings collected after the fall of the Brazilian military dictatorship in 1985. Many of the documents describe human rights violations against defendants and political prisoners.

Documents political and social popular movements during the time of Brazil's military rule (1964-1984) and followed by the New Republic. It encompasses pamphlets, serials, posters, news clippings, newsletters and reports of grassroots organizations.

Collection of Brazilian government documents from 1821 to 1993

Collection of Brazilian laws and other official documents from 1808-1822

This collection brings together important historical sources of Brazilian law in original editions, covering Brazil and related jurisdictions from the 15th through the 19th centuries.

A collection of projects on the history of memory of different Brazilian communities.

Project to digitize 10,000 U.S. State Department documents on Brazil from 1963-73

Presents a selection of European sources, in the original languages and translated into Portuguese, relating to religious practices developed in the Mina Coast (West Africa), between 1600 and 1730.

Digitized versions of correspondence of the Overseas Archive in Lisbon related to colonial Brazil.

Brings together the radio audio collections of the Museum of Memory and Human Rights in Chile.

Provides access to resources relating to the period 1973-1990.

Documents related to U.S. involvement in the military coup led by General Augusto Pinochet

Presents 2,842 once-secret, U.S. records--among them hundreds of declassified Top Secret CIA operational memos, cables, and reports--as well as records from the archives and courts of other nations.

Collection of digitized books, both primary and secondary, of Chilean history and culture

Provides online access to Colombia's political constitution, relevant regulations, laws, and information and links to the main governmental offices in the country.

Provides online access to historical primary sources from the Colonial period to the twentieth century.

Provides online access to complete books of Colombian literature, articles about historical primary sources, manuscripts, rare books, audio recordings, maps, photographs, plates,and others.

The institution responsible for building historical memory related tot he country's political violence. It provides online access to reports, documentaries, first-person testimony, photographs, and other documentation.

The approximately 2,000 documents from the State Department, Pentagon, Central Intelligence Agency, and other agencies focus on U.S. efforts during the Cold War, when incipient insurgent groups first formed in the Colombian countryside; during the drug war, when powerful narcotics trafficking organizations threatened the country's political institutions; during the rise of paramilitary violence in the 1990's, when right-wing militias terrorized rural Colombia in a bid to dislodge guerrilla influence from lucrative narcotics trafficking regions; and during Plan Colombia and beyond, when the human rights issue came up against a multi-billion dollar U.S. investment in Colombian security forces.

Digitized selections from the collection of broadsides, 1825-1972; pamphlets, 1785-1969; and programas, 1819-1914 from Colombia

The digitized collections of the National library includes books, images, manuscripts and more

A uniquely detailed collection of records documenting Peru's civil war, internal repression, and growing authoritarianism during three successive Peruvian administrations, as witnessed by the U.S. embassy in Lima, U.S. military officials, and U.S. intelligence.

Internet Archive of Historical Sources of Peru, a voluntary initiative of young historians to raise the visibility of digital resources of interest for the study of Peru.