The sources listed here may overlap with other geographic areas, but mainly cover the countries of Central America: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama.
The University of Kansas's collection of broadsides (large single-sided printings) from Guatemala and Central America. Many pertain to national and local politics and include election materials, political manifestos, and government pronouncements.
Collection comprises the record cards, correspondence, and reports of the Military Intelligence Division (MID) that relate to conditions in five Central American countries—Costa Rica, El Salvador (throughout this period commonly referred to as "Salvador"), Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua—from 1918 to 1941.
This site features a searchable translation and analysis of four codices (screenfold books) painted by Maya scribes before the Spanish conquest in the early 16th century. The codices contain information about Maya beliefs and rituals, as well as everyday activities, all framed within an astronomical and calendrical context.
Consists of 1,384 U.S. intelligence, defense and diplomatic records — about ten percent of the Clinton administration's original release — concerning El Salvador during its civil war.
This file includes State Department, FBI, and El Salvadoran government memoranda, correspondence, specimen analyses, photographs of weapons, field reports, newspaper clippings, witness statements, and polygraph examination reports. In addition, there are requests for information by the victims' families to both the U.S. and El Salvadoran governments.
Documents focus on United States policy toward El Salvador and events in El Salvador from the Carter Administration's formulation of a new Central American policy in January 1977 through the Salvadoran Presidential elections of May 1984 that brought José Napoleón Duarte to power.
More than 2,000 documents describing Guatemala’s internal political, military, social and economic conditions, as well as the details of U.S.-Guatemala relations during this critical period.
Spanning more than four hundred years, The Guatemala Collection concentrates primarily on the national era, particularly 1824-1948. [full date range: 1587-1991]. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The vast majority of the documents—correspondence, annual reports, statistics, letters, litigation—found within The Guatemala Collection are copies from the Archivo General de Centroamérica and the Archivo Histórico Arquidiocesano “Francisco de Paula García Peláez” (formerly known as Archivo Eclesiástico de Guatemala) in Guatemala City.
Call Number: F1466.7 .G81 1999 Main (Gardner) Stacks
The Accord of Oslo, signed as part of the Peace Process in 1994, provided for the establishment of the Guatemalan Historical Clarification Commission (CEH), charged with investigating and elucidating the human rights violations and violence connected with the armed confrontation and recommending measures to promote peace and national harmony. This is the report of the Commission.
The collection provides records on all aspects of U.S.-Nicaraguan relations during the 12 years covered, including: U.S. efforts to orchestrate the end of the Somoza regime and prevent a Sandinista victory, the CIA's Contra war, the congressional debate over aid to the Contras, U.S. economic policy toward Nicaragua and U.S. policy toward the 1990 elections.
Includes over 4,200 primary documents in an open-access, interpretive digital archive focusing on the period of the nationalist rebellion against U.S. military intervention in Nicaragua.
