A project that brings together researchers of letters, history and communication sciences, which studies the history of Argentine magazines in the twentieth century; the trajectories of those who directed, wrote and illustrated them; the debates that ran through its pages; the intersections and dialogues with mass journalism, literature, political programs, readers and writers.
This unique collection is dedicated to a type of small-format periodical, containing plays, short novels and other literary texts, which used to be very popular in the Río de la Plata region during the first half of the 20th century.
Classic Brazilian Cinema Online provides access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Brazilian cinema gained international acclaim through the Cinema Novo of Glauber Rocha, Nelson Pereira dos Santos and other directors in the 1960s. The present collection remedies this situation by providing easy online access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s. By bringing together film magazines from institutions and private collections in both Brazil and the United States, this collection dramatically increases the number of sources available to researchers interested in understanding the role of cinema in the largest country in Latin America. (Source: Brill)
The Golden Age of Mexican cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. It includes magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1951-1955), and El Cine Gráfico. From the Archives of the Filmoteca of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Mexican cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries.
Primary-source collection of documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Founded only three months after the Cuban Revolution, Casa de las Américas in Havana quickly emerged as one of the leading cultural institutions in Latin America and the Caribbean. Among its many activities is the publication of four highly influential journals, the first of which was launched in 1960, a year after the opening of the institution. Over the decades, these journals have covered countless topics pertaining to the culture and cultural history of the region. The journals have published texts by literary authors, musical scores, reviews of books, performances, and exhibitions, op-eds, and news reports.
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection of 971 titles provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode in the history of Latin American labor movements. (Brill) [1890-1920]. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The collection contains numerous rare, and in many cases unique, titles. Included, among many others, are the Argentine periodicals La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera; the Brazilian O Exempio, Jornal do Povo and Battaglia; the Chilean Voz del Mar; and the Mexican Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social and El Sindicalista.
A hub for scholars across the globe to more easily access literary and cultural journals published in the Hispanophone Caribbean and Latin America during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Many of these journals remain difficult to find in their printed form, and/or hard to access in private collections, including in many of the countries where the journals first appeared.
