It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Great source for street data, and other infrastructure. Global coverage. Download OSM data directly through the map interface or other sources (including Geofabrik and the HOT (Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Team) export tool). OSM data may also be accessed via a QGIS plugin. OSM data is edited and updated by users, so it may be worth validating against current imagery in a GIS program.
A spatial database of the location of the world's administrative areas (or administrative boundaries) for use in GIS and similar software. Includes countries and lower level subdivisions such as provinces, departments, bibhag, bundeslander, daerah istimewa, fivondronana, krong, landsvæðun, opština, sous-préfectures, counties, and thana. GADM describes where these administrative areas are (the "spatial features"), and for each area it provides some attributes, such as the name and variant names.
Includes maps, apps, and data layers. Some content freely available, some available with UC Berkeley login. To access:
--> Click the "Sign In" button
--> Click the "Enterprise Login" button
--> Enter "cal" (no quotes) in the box to complete the URL and click "Continue"
--> Sign in using your CalNet credentials
The Gridded Population of the World (GPW) collection, now in its fourth version (GPWv4), models the distribution of human population (counts and densities) on a continuous global raster surface. GPWv4 is gridded with an output resolution of 30 arc-seconds (approximately 1 km at the equator).
Fine resolution global population distribution data. Data can be used within the web application or downloaded for use in GIS software (contact the map librarian for more information). [2000-]
Produced by Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), LandScan is the finest resolution global population distribution data available. The LandScan algorithm uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and a multi-variable dasymetric modeling approach to disaggregate census counts within an administrative boundary. The resource provides ambient population (24-hour average) data by country, admin1 unit (state/province), pixel (sq km), and custom area. Data is broken down by gender ratio and age group. Data can be used within the web application (Web App) or downloaded for use in GIS software. Please contact the map librarian if you would like to access it via WMS/WCS in your GIS software.
The USGS 3D Elevation Program (3DEP) Datasets from The National Map are the primary elevation data product produced and distributed by the USGS. The 3DEP program provides a variety of resolution (1 meter to 1 arc-second) raster elevation data of the conterminous United States, Alaska, Hawaii, and the island territories. These seamless DEMs were referred to as the National Elevation Dataset (NED) from about 2000 through 2015 at which time they became the seamless DEM layers under the 3DEP program and the NED name and system were retired.
High-resolution, Earth science-oriented, topography data (including DEMs and Lidar), and related tools and resources. The OpenTopography Facility is based at the San Diego Supercomputer Center at the University of California, San Diego and is operated in collaboration with colleagues in the School of Earth and Space Exploration at Arizona State University and at UNAVCO.
ASTER Global Digital Elevation Model (GDEM 003) was released in Aug 2019. The ASTER GDEM V3 maintains the GeoTIFF format and the same gridding and tile structure as V1 and V2, with 30-meter postings and 1 x 1 degree tiles.
A global digital surface model (DSM) from JAXA with horizontal resolution of approximately 30 meters (1 arcsecond) by the Panchromatic Remote-sensing Instrument for Stereo Mapping (PRISM) on board the Advanced Land Observing Satellite "ALOS".
Aims to provide the most authoritative, publicly available bathymetry data sets for the world’s oceans. This includes global gridded bathymetric data sets; the GEBCO Gazetteer of Undersea Feature Names; the GEBCO world map; Web Map Services and the IHO-IOC GEBCO Cook Book— a reference manual on how to build bathymetric grids.
Generalized bathymetry data for making beautiful world maps. An edited version of GEBCO (General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans), a public domain dataset that combines ocean bottom and land elevation data of the entire world.
The dataset is coded according to both the Correlates of War and the Gleditsch and Ward (1999) state lists, and is therefore compatible with a great number of existing databases in the discipline. Provided in a geographic data format, CShapes can be used directly with standard GIS software, allowing a wide range of spatial computations. In addition, we supply a CShapes package for the R statistical toolkit. This package enables researchers without GIS skills to perform various useful operations on the GIS maps.
The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia. It also includes non-county areas, unsuccessful authorizations for new counties, changes in county names and organization, and the temporary attachments of non-county areas and unorganized counties to fully functioning counties.
The principal sources for these data are the most authoritative available: the session laws of the colonies, territories, and states that created and changed the counties. The Newberry Library makes these data available without charge over the Internet as shapefiles that users can download for use with geographic information system (GIS) software. Accompanying these data for each state and its counties are two versions of the essential metadata: one an extensive, detailed document following the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) model, the other a one-page summary. There also is a database that describes each change, provides the FIPS codes and complementary ID codes for all states and counties, and gives references to the authorities for every county change. A set of supplementary documents includes chronologies of changes, county areas in square miles for each version of every county, and a bibliography of the laws, maps, and other materials used to compile the boundary changes.
Contains 21 maps, one for each century from year 1 CE to year 2000 CE. These maps depict the political makeup of Europe at the last year of each century. Each map is composed of physical features shapefile layers (rivers, seas, and elevation data) and political features layers (sovereign nations, dependent territories, autonomous peoples, cities and towns, uncertain boundaries).