EnviroAtlas is a collection of tools and resources to provide data, research, and analysis on the relationships between nature, people, health, and the economy. EnviroAtlas interactive tools allow users to discover, analyze, and download data (some at community level) and maps related to a wide variety of environmental and demographic variables.
Allows visualization and download topographic base map data and other data themes including: Elevation, Orthoimagery, Land Cover, Hydrography, Geographic Names, Boundaries, Transportation, and Structures.
An interactive mapping tool from the Commission for Environmental Cooperation to research, analyze and manage environmental issues in Canada, United States and Mexico. Includes thematic data on land cover, terrestrial and marine ecosystems, pollution and waste, human influence, and climate, as well as base data.
Download GIS data for California protected lands and conservation easements. The California Protected Areas Database (CPAD) is a GIS dataset depicting lands that are owned in fee and protected for open space purposes by over 1,000 public agencies or non-profit organizations. CPAD depicts the wide diversity of parks and open spaces in California, ranging from our largest National Forests and Parks to neighborhood pocket parks. The California Conservation Easement Database (CCED) contains lands protected under conservation easements.
SFEI is the regional data center for the San Francisco Bay-Delta and northern montane regions. The Institute manages water quality, tissue, wetlands, historical, and spatial data, and develops tools for uploading, accessing, and visualizing data.
Marine Regions is an integration of the VLIMAR Gazetteer and the VLIZ Maritime Boundaries Geodatabase. The VLIMAR Gazetteer is a database with geographic, mainly marine names such as seas, sandbanks, seamounts, ridges, bays or even standard sampling stations used in marine research. Combining this information with the Maritime Boundaries database, representing the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of the world, led to the creation of marineregions.org.
Find information by searching the database on spatial, temporal, and metadata criteria or interactively browse and visualize live data and metadata. Get data and information in a variety of useful formats (e.g., downloads, reports, graphics). Data currently include North American Pollen (NAPD) and fossil mammals (FAUNMAP). Other proxies (plant macrofossils, beetles, ostracodes, diatoms, etc.) and geographic areas (Europe, Latin America, etc.) will be added in the near future. Data are derived from sites from the last 5 million years.
Movebank is a free, online database of animal tracking data hosted by the Max Planck Institute of Animal Behavior. They help animal tracking researchers to manage, share, protect, analyze, and archive their data. The animal tracking data in Movebank belongs to researchers all over the world who choose whether and how to share their data with the public.
US Climate Data Resources
Consult the links below for US based Climate Data and Information.
The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) is a Federal program mandated by Congress to coordinate Federal research and investments in understanding the forces shaping the global environment, both human and natural, and their impacts on society. Access to National Climate Assessment.
NASA provides data from a variety of sources including satellites, airborne campaigns, field campaigns, in situ instruments and model outputs. There are data that span the Earth science disciplines, providing measurements for Earth’s Atmosphere, Ocean, Land, Cryosphere, and Human Interactions with the Environment. In addition, calibrated sensor data are available.
The National Geospatial Program manages the National Hydrography Dataset (NHD), Watershed Boundary Dataset (WBD), and NHDPlus High Resolution (NHDPlus HR). These geospatial datasets represent the surface water of the United States for mapping and modeling applications.
A global flow direction map at 3 arc-second resolution (~90 m at the equator) derived from the latest elevation data (MERIT DEM) and water body datasets (G1WBM, GSWO, and OpenStreetMap). River networks are algorithmically extracted by separating actual inland basins from dummy depressions caused by the errors in input elevation data. After a minimum amount of hand-editing, the constructed hydrography map shows good agreement with existing quality-controlled river network datasets in terms of flow accumulation area and river basin shape. The location of river streamlines was realistically aligned with existing satellite-based global river channel data. Relative error in the drainage area was smaller than 0.05 for 90% of GRDC gauges, confirming the accuracy of the delineated global river networks. Discrepancies in flow accumulation area were found mostly in arid river basins containing depressions that are occasionally connected at high water levels and thus resulting in uncertain watershed boundaries. MERIT Hydro improves on existing global hydrography datasets in terms of spatial coverage (between N90 and S60) and representation of small streams, mainly due to increased availability of high-quality baseline geospatial datasets.
GeoMapApp is a map-based application for browsing, visualizing and analyzing a diverse suite of curated global and regional geoscience data sets. These cover geophysics, geology, geochemistry, physical oceanography, climatology, and more.
ISRIC World Soil Information attempts to catalogue all freely-downloadable primary soils information usable in a GIS either as "point" observations, polygon maps, or gridded maps ("rasters"). Many of the linked sites also have interpreted information.
Allows users to explore North American Pollutant Release and Transfer Register (PRTR) data through interactive tools and comprehensive reports. Create summary charts, customized queries and download your results in a variety of formats, including kml files for viewing in Google Earth. From the Commission for Environmental Cooperation.
For important information about using and understanding Taking Stock Online, the publisher strongly recommends reading the Pollutant Release and Transfer Register (PRTR) Reporting Requirements section.
Includes inventory data for Greenhouse Gas (GHG), Black Carbon (BC) and Short-Lived Climate Pollutant (SLCP) emissions published with the cooperation of the governments of Canada, Mexico and the United States. Incorporates a menu of search tools for accessing trinational emissions inventory data, a data dictionary, and a publicly accessible application programming interface (API) to distribute trinational emissions inventory data to advanced users, front-end developers, and researchers. From the Commission for Environmental Cooperation.
Time period of coverage ranges from the 1830s through the 1970s with most data from the period prior to 1960. Each series typically includes observations for a number of meteorological and other geophysical parameters.
Collects information on currently implemented policies related to climate change mitigation from countries worldwide. The downloadable and browseable database, drawn from more than a dozen sources, includes policies from nearly every country in the world and lists the policies’ names, jurisdictions, years of enactment, general objectives, and more.
Open Access article: Sun, Q., Miao, C., Duan, Q., Ashouri, H., Sorooshian, S., & Hsu, K. L. (2018). A review of global precipitation data sets: Data sources, estimation, and intercomparisons. Reviews of Geophysics, 56(1), 79-107.
Local & California Sources for Climate Data
GeoData@UC Berkeley is the UC Berkeley Libraries' geoportal where users can search, preview, display, map, and download geospatial data in a variety of formats.
Access restricted to users with a Berkeley email address Users must create individual accounts using their @berkeley.edu email address. County-level hazard loss data set for the US for 18 different natural hazard events types such as thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornadoes, covering from 1960 - present.
For each event, the database includes the beginning date, location (county and state), property losses, crop losses, injuries, and fatalities that affected each county. The data set does not include Puerto Rico, Guam, or other U.S. territories. Data and maps were compiled and geo-referenced by the Hazards & Vulnerability and Research Institute at the University of South Carolina. The subscription only allows access to aggregated data. See the site FAQ for more information.
Urgent response products generated by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) for both emergency response and scientific rapid response. Includes Damage Proxy Maps, Flood Proxy Maps, InSAR and GPS results for earthquake and volcanic eruptions.