Library Guides: GIS (Geographic Information Systems) & Remote Sensing: GIS Data for Social Sciences

Sources for U.S. Demographic & Census GIS Data

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

National historical geographic information systems (NHGIS)
(Univ. of Minnesota) Provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.

SimplyAnalytics
Access to business packages within this resource have been discontinued effective 6/30/24 due to library budget cuts." A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to eart-library@berkeley.edu a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.

ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World
Collection of geographic information from around the globe with wide range of topics. Click more... button for login information.
more...less...
Includes maps, apps, and data layers. Some content freely available, some available with UC Berkeley login. To access:
--> Click the "Sign In" button
--> Click the "Enterprise Login" button
--> Enter "cal" (no quotes) in the box to complete the URL and click "Continue"
--> Sign in using your CalNet credentials
Neighborhood Change Database (GeoLytics)
Allows users to track changes from 1970-2010 down to the Census tract (using normalized data). UCB ONLY
CensusCD's (GeoLytics)
Covering decennial census' from 1960-2000, provides access to data, maps, etc.

For more information about the United States Census, see this detailed guide:

Getting Started with the U.S. Census
by Jesse Silva Last Updated Aug 14, 2024 785 views this year

Sources for Census Geometry Files

Geography Mapping Files (US Census)
Geospatial boundary files (including TIGER/Line files) for different census geometries from 1990 - present. These do not include demographic data, but do contain geographic entity codes (GEOIDs) that can be linked to the Census Bureau’s demographic data.
more...less...
Cartographic boundary files are specifically designed for small scale thematic mapping.
National historical geographic information systems (NHGIS)
(Univ. of Minnesota) Provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.
Geocorr Applications
These Geocorr (geographic correspondence engine) applications allow the user to obtain geographic correspondence files (crosswalk files, correlation lists, etc.) for dozens of geographic layers for the United States (50 states and DC). The various applications are nearly identical in what they do but vary in terms of the vintage of the database being accessed. Includes versions for 1990, 2000, and more recent census years.

Data and Maps for ArcGIS files are available on the dedicated GIS workstations at the Earth Sciences & Map Library. Look in the GIS Data folder for Esri Data and Maps > Data and Maps for ArcGIS [latest version] > usa > census

Other pages from the Census that provide helpful background information:

TIGER Data Products Guide
Guide for figuring out which US Census geography data best suites your needs
Geography Reference Maps
Maps that show the boundaries and names (or other identifiers) of geographic areas for which the Census Bureau tabulates statistical data.
more...less...
In some cases, the name is only in the form of a geographic code, such as a census block number. Some types of reference maps show and identify geographic features that are part of the boundary. Examples are roads and water features.

Reference maps can include additional features such as railroads to aid users in orienting themselves to a place on the map.
Geography Reference Files
Material such as place codes or identifiers required for some uses of Census geospatial products. Reference files also may detail legal changes to places or areas.
more...less...
Reference files give details about particular geographic areas. Reference files variously inform users of legal changes to entities, geographic boundary change notes, FIPS codes for places (and separately for school districts), and characteristics such as land area.

Other Spatial Social Science Data

Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) statistics (from the FBI)
US statistics on violent crime (murder and nonnegligent manslaughter, rape, robbery, and aggravated assault) and property crime (burglary, larceny-theft, and motor vehicle theft).
Demographic and Health Surveys Spatial Data Repository
Provides geographically-linked health and demographic data from The DHS Program and the U.S. Census Bureau for mapping in a geographic information system (GIS).
Mapping Early American Elections
Offers a window into the formative era of American politics by producing interactive maps and visualizations of Congressional elections from 1787 to 1825. The project makes available the electoral returns and spatial data underlying those maps, along with topical essays on the political history of the period and tutorials to encourage users to use the datasets to create their own maps.
Open Mobility Data
An extensive archive of public transit data. Browse and download official GTFS & GTFS-realtime feeds from around the world.
Drones in Public Safety
Ongoing initiative to track all local, state, and federal public safety agencies in the United States that own drones for operational use. New editions of the “Public Safety Drones” report are published yearly.

Secondary menu

GIS (Geographic Information Systems) & Remote Sensing: GIS Data for Social Sciences

Sources for U.S. Demographic & Census GIS Data

Sources for Census Geometry Files

Other Spatial Social Science Data