It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
This list of data repositories was compiled by Karen Payne of the University of Georgia's Information Technologies Outreach services, with funding provided by USAID, to point to free downloadable primary geographic datasets that may be useful in international humanitarian response. The repositories are grouped according to the tabs at the bottom of the sheet There are 17 groups of repositories. No longer actively maintained.
OurAirports is a free site where visitors can explore the world's airports. Members create and maintain data records for over 50,000 airports around the world. Includes data about airport locations, elevations, runways, communication frequencies, and radio navigation aids.
Provides geographically-linked health and demographic data from the DHS Program and the U.S. Census Bureau for mapping in a geographic information system (GIS), including survey boundaries, indicator data, and population estimates.
This page contains a categorised list of links to over 500 sites providing freely available geographic datasets. Beware: The data linked to may be inaccurate, incomplete, or just plain wrong. As always, critically examine the data you are using, look at what organisation produced it and what agenda they may have, and beware that there are disputes over some of the data (particularly country boundaries).
Demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries).
China Geo-Explorer II provides access to demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries). It is a tool for quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment, and a tool for identifying spatial patterns and trends. The database can generate easy-to-use and customized reports, dynamic charts, tables and maps. Data can be exported to PDF, Excel, Word, or Shape files.
The Mosaic project identifies, gathers, harmonizes, and distributes surviving historical census microdata for Europe and beyond. It aims at building a comprehensive and detailed resource for the historic study of populations by historians, demographers, economists, and other researchers. The Mosaic project builds on historical integrated census microdata projects such as the Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) and the North Atlantic Population Project (NAPP). Records are distributed in the same integrated format, so that historical comparisons can be made across time and space.
Contains 21 maps, one for each century from year 1 CE to year 2000 CE. These maps depict the political makeup of Europe at the last year of each century. Each map is composed of physical features shapefile layers (rivers, seas, and elevation data) and political features layers (sovereign nations, dependent territories, autonomous peoples, cities and towns, uncertain boundaries).
Allows visualization and download topographic base map data and other data themes including: Elevation, Orthoimagery, Land Cover, Hydrography, Geographic Names, Boundaries, Transportation, and Structures.
The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia. It also includes non-county areas, unsuccessful authorizations for new counties, changes in county names and organization, and the temporary attachments of non-county areas and unorganized counties to fully functioning counties. The principal sources for these data are the most authoritative available: the session laws of the colonies, territories, and states that created and changed the counties.
The Newberry Library makes these data available without charge over the Internet as shapefiles that users can download for use with geographic information system (GIS) software. Accompanying these data for each state and its counties are two versions of the essential metadata: one an extensive, detailed document following the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) model, the other a one-page summary. There also is a database that describes each change, provides the FIPS codes and complementary ID codes for all states and counties, and gives references to the authorities for every county change. A set of supplementary documents includes chronologies of changes, county areas in square miles for each version of every county, and a bibliography of the laws, maps, and other materials used to compile the boundary changes.
Curated list of over 2,200 addresses for ArcGIS servers from the federal level to the city level. All links are tested once per week and bad links are fixed or flagged. Created by Joseph Elfelt - MappingSupport.com (https://mappingsupport.com)
An interactive mapping tool from the Commission for Environmental Cooperation to research, analyze and manage environmental issues in Canada, United States and Mexico. Includes thematic data on land cover, terrestrial and marine ecosystems, pollution and waste, human influence, and climate, as well as base data.