China and the Modern World: Hong Kong, Britain and China 1841–1951 presents a collection of British government documents on colonial Hong Kong, spanning a period of over a century. Digitized from the British Colonial Office records grouped under the CO 129 Series titled "War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Hong Kong, Original Correspondence,” the collection consists of despatches and correspondence between the governors of Hong Kong and the Colonial Office, as well as letters and telegrams of other government departments and organizations such as the Foreign Office, Home Office, and War Offices.
Composed of correspondence from missionaries in the field to the governing board at home and correspondence from the board to its missionaries. The files also contain reference material about missionaries, their mission stations, and conferences.
Composed of correspondence from missionaries in the field to the governing board at home and correspondence from the board to its missionaries. The files also contain reference material about missionaries, their mission stations, and conferences.
As purser’s clerk aboard the U.S. steam frigate Mississippi, William Speiden, Jr., (1835-1920) created a two-volumejournal dating from 1852 to 1855 documenting the U.S. Naval Expedition to the China Seas and Japan under thecommand of Commodore Matthew C. Perry.
Oral history interviews conducted with civil rights activists and other participants in the events. Also includes photographs and a few documents and articles.
It contains digitized traditional and excavated ancient Chinese texts, including oracular inscriptions on 53,834 pieces of original tortoise shells and bones, wood/bamboo and silk scripts, 12,021 bronze vessels and about 18,000 copies of the original inscriptions, Han and Pre-Han (pre-220AD) traditional Chinese texts, Weijin and the Northern and Southern Dynasties (220-589AD), and Chinese Encyclopedias (Leishu).
Covering the 18th to early 20th centuries, this database documents the socioeconomic aspects of transpacific and around-the-world commercial, scientific, and other maritime voyages. The focus is on the China trade.
Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps in this collection have been sourced from international libraries and archives and explore the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. The Documents section is rich in primary source material including ship logs, diaries, correspondence, account books, other shipping and commercial company records, catalogs of trade goods, and other records of prices.
More than 2,000 documents concerning the relationship between the United States and China, with an emphasis on the 1969–1998 time period. The documents include memos, cables, and studies concerning U.S. diplomatic relations with China, records concerning the U.S.-PRC security relationship, documents related to the economic and scientific association with the PRC, and intelligence estimates and studies concerning the PRC's foreign policy objectives, military capabilities, and internal situation.
Cornell's Wason Pamphlet Collection, digitized in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these include a wide variety of writings on the people and cultures of China and foreign involvement there.
Types of material include addresses and speeches, annual reports, catalogues, examinations, guides, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, and minutes. Themes covered by the collection include the arts, the Chinese diaspora (including the Chinese in California), education, the foreign presence in China, foreign relations and diplomacy, governance, international conflict, language and literature, leisure, missionaries, opium, rebellion and revolution, science and medicine, trade, and travel and exploration.
Includes the diaries, journals, letters, photographs and scrapbooks of a host of businessmen, tourists, scholars, missionaries, doctors, journalists and diplomats from the first British mission to China in 1792-1794 through to the mid 20th century. The Library has parts 1-3.
Incorporating 19 document types including illustrations, diaries, memoirs, and official papers, the database provides varying perspectives from politicians and diplomats to missionaries and tourists, documenting key events during the period.
The collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. It is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library, with additional sources from other major universities.
The Cambodian Elections Web Archive covers the 2013 and 2018 general elections, which saw Cambodians vote for representatives to the 125-seat National Assembly.
Nearly 2,000 rubbings that reproduce Buddhist and Daoist scriptures and historical and allegorical depictions incised on stone stelae, cave walls, bronze vessels, jade, ceramics, and roof tiles.
Archival materials and documents on the Chinese Cultural Revolution, Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign, Chinese Great Leap Forward and Great Famine, and Chinese political campaigns in the 1950s.
The database is made up of Communist Party documents, speeches of Mao Zedong and other leaders, important newspaper and magazine articles, documents of the Red Guards, and more. The materials are indexed in both English and Chinese; however, the entire body of literature is only available in Chinese.
Note: This resource allows for two simultaneous users. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
The Song Tomb Inscriptions Database《宋代墓誌銘数据库》currently includes about 6,400 items, more items will be added in the future. [960-1270]
The texts have been collated from various sources including the Quan Song wen《全宋文》, unearthed epitaphs in recent years, and private rubbing collections. Sources are provided for each epitaph. Wherever available, high quality images of rubbings of original epitaphs have been added to the database and can be viewed side by side with the text. The database is full text searchable.
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
Punctuation and annotations were inserted to help understand the texts. It is full-text searchable as well as browsable by dynasty. An online Calendar Conversion tool is available for easy reference from dynasty to years. An important primary source for research on Chinese history.
Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture.
This collection of rare materials brings together books, manuscripts, and maps produced during the 18th and 19th centuries that document Japanese exploration and observation of the island and prefecture now known as Hokkaido in Japan, as well as Sakhalin and the Kuril Islands in Russia.
Official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy, over a time period starting from the Meiji era to the end of World War II.
Digitized papers of Edward Sylvester Morse, who was one of the first Americans to live and teach in Japan. This collection is a good source for those interested in the anthropology, archaeology, art and culture of Japan.
Edward Sylvester Morse's papers (ca. 1858-1925) at the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum document the numerous and valuable contributions he made to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials.
Resources on Japan's foreign policy, news, relations with other countries and consular services. The Foreign Policy section includes PDFs of the "Diplomatic Bluebook," the annual report of Japan's foreign policy and activies, back to 1971. The Countries & Regions section includes documents and data on Japan's relationshp with other countries.
Materials digitized as part of an exhibit at the National Diet Library, including primary materials related to the political history of modern and contemporary Japan.
An informational clearinghouse on North Korea that disseminates newly declassified documents on the DPRK from its former communist allies as well as other resources that provide valuable insight into the actions and nature of the North Korean state.
The digital collection draws from the 654 titles in the Korean Rare Book Collection housed in the Asian Division of the Library of Congress. The initial online presentation includes 11 digitized rare titles.
An online archive of oral history interviews in Tibetan and Chinese with accompanying written transcripts (in English) that documents the social and political history of modern Tibet
Sources of Chinese Tradition
Sources of Japanese Tradition
Sourcebook of Korean Civilization