It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
British Government files on South Asia for the period between 1947 and 1980.
Sourced from the British Foreign Office files, this resource covers the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in this period with additional content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions. Other files look at the impact on United Kingdom, US and European trade, industrial policy, education and the media. Includes variety of material: diplomatic dispatches, telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, leaflets, letters, and other ephemera.
A digital platform for culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within - and about - the Indian subcontinent. [1700-1953]
The South Asia Archive provides digital access to rare and out of print materials ranging from the mid-18th to mid-20th century in a mix of English and vernacular languages. Search across multiple document types, including government acts, books, calendars, catalogs, censuses, directories, gazette, journals, film pamphlets, legal documents, magazines, manuals, maps, proceedings, reports, and statistics. The material included is interdisciplinary, covering art history, economics, law, science, education, literature, and more.
The Archives of the Church in North India comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India.
The Archives of the Church in North India comprises archival and printed material from the Gujarat Diocese of the Church of North India. The archives have been divided into two sections: the archival collection, consisting of meetings, correspondence and reports, and the monograph collection of early printed monographs from mission presses.
This collection covers the Viceroys of both Lord Curzon and Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound in the British Raj between the period of 1899 and 1910. Lord Curzon’s premiership largely contextualises the bulk of the files that pertain to Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound’s own rule. The collection contains departmental papers from both men’s ascendency, giving a vital and fascinating look at infrastructure, the military, commerce and industry, foreign affairs, health, and internal security and governance in the British Raj.
This is a digital archive of the India Office Records on the East India Company from its inception until it dissolution. [1600-1947]
The East India Company Archive is a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Consisting of royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and all other areas the Company was active in from 1600 to 1947.
The First Earl of Minto, Sir Gilbert Elliot Murray Kynynmound, served as Governor-General of India from 1806-1813. This collection is drawn from his personal papers during his time as premier of the East India Company (EIC), with extensive correspondence with other officials, papers from the political department, papers from the secret department, and files pertaining to his time as President of the Board of Control.
Rare printed books from the Valmadonna Library, a collection of Hebrew and Jewish books from India. Includes Hebrew poetry and liturgical history, early imprints from Calcutta, Bombay, Poona and Cochin, illustrated Haggadahs and Judeo-Urdu drama, Baghdadi and Yemenite poetry, Eastern Judeo-Arabic literature Marathi and Malayalam texts and translationsand vernacular writings of the Jews of South Asia.
First-hand accounts from journals and diaries document the foundation of the East India Company and the independence of India.
The resource consists of the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland relating to South Asian history between 1615 and 1947 and cover material on India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Malaysia, and Singapore. Types of resources include diaries, journals, private as well as official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, and other original documents related to Indian history and literature. Sources include the East India Company, government documents, and papers of British military officers and civil servants in India.
On 20 March 1929, thirty-one people, suspected of either communist or trades unionist affiliations, were arrested across India. Drawn from the British Library, Labour History Archive & Study Centre and Working Class Movement Library, the documents in this collection bring together an array of differing, and balanced, perspectives on both the trial itself as well as its consequences for British imperialism.
A collection of interviews conducted in the 1970s and 1980s with both Indian and British people describing their experiences of life in British India, the events leading up to independence in 1947 and the early years of independent India and Pakistan.
Perso-Indica is a research and publishing project that will produce a comprehensive Analytical Survey of Persian Works on Indian Learned Traditions, encompassing the treatises and translations produced in India between the 13th and the 19th century.
The papers of two leading actors in the East India Company in mid-18th century Bengal from the National Library of Wales. Chiefly in English, but with an array of original correspondence with local figures in Indo-Persian and occasionally Bengali, Marathi and Tamil.