It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
The China Press was an English newspaper founded in Shanghai on August 29, 1911, one of the major newspapers in Shanghai in that time period. Its rich content serves as an important research resource for Chinese studies. [1911-1949]
This newspaper was established by an American Thomas F.Millard, most editors and staff were American journalists. It covers political news (including the Revolution of 1911), world and local news, education and women issues, novels, entertainment news and advertisements.
The English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly is the newspaper of record for Japan's engagement with modernity and its emergence onto the world stage in the first half of the twentieth century. [1902 - 1940]
Historians of East Asia have long seen the Japan Chronicle as a uniquely valuable resource. It is a well-informed, controversial but always readable source of news and opinion on Japan and East Asia.
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. [1912-1949]
"Republican “Minguo” China (1912-1949) was an era contrasted by industrialization and modernization but also civil unrest and outright war between Nationalists and Communists. The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions."
The English-language Manchuria Daily News (1908 – 1940), published in Dalian (Darien).
The English-language Manchuria Daily News (1908 – 1940), published in Dalian (Darien), presents Japan’s case for its presence in China. From 1932 the Manchuria Daily News promotes Japan’s newly founded vassal state Manchoukuo, as the showcase state for Japan’s cultural, political and technological leadership of Asia. Complemented here by Manchuria Magazine, Manchuria Month, Contemporary Manchuria and the Manchuria Information Bulletin, the Manchuria Daily News offers scholars of the modern history of Japan in China a multifaceted view of competing Japanese agendas in the China theatre.
This modern newspaper package includes 100 newspapers published between 1911-1949 in Beijing and other major cities in China.
This archival collection was based on the holdings from the National Library of China, adding titles from other provincial and city libraries. In addition to major national newspapers such as Revolution Daily and New China Daily, the database also contains major local newspapers including North China Daily, Hankou People’s Daily, Western Capital Daily and Xinjiang Daily.
The database has a comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald《北华捷报》, The North-China Daily News《字林西报》, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报》, Hu Bao《沪报》, Han Bao《汉报》, Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报》, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西报行名录》published by the company. As an important part of the historical archives, the database not only vividly revealed the history, but also enriches the digital newspaper resources, providing valuable materials for the study of modern China.
12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers covering 1832-1953.
Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
The database contains articles related to musical sound, including performing arts, mass media, and traditional activities, from Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) newspaper from 1898 to 1944.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) was the longest-standing and largest newspaper in colonial Taiwan, which was published between 1898 and 1944. The database compiled by the Graduate Institute of Musicology at National Taiwan University contains any articles that involve musical sound, including performing arts (e. g., dance, opera, drama), mass media (e. g., records, radio broadcasts, films), traditional activities (e. g., ceremonies, rituals, temple festivals, parades), etc. to support research on the daily musical life and sound culture in Taiwan and beyond.
Digitized historical collection of South Asian newspapers. [late 19th C. - early 20th C.]
A growing collection of South Asian newspapers. Contains more than 200,000 pages of digitized content, including material from the Ceylon Observer, Indian People / Leader, Madras Mail, and the Tribune. Part of the World News Archive project from Readex/Newsbank.
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. [1838 - 2005]
Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.