Library Guides: History: Asia: Articles

Databases & Indexes

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, and more. [1971 - present]
Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
Complete Database for Japanese Magazine and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present This link opens in a new window
An index of Japanese journal and magazine articles from the Meiji period to the present, with a focus on academic materials.
Database of Japanese language magazines and periodicals.

Guide to Indian periodical literature
Call Number: AJ3 .G9 South/Southeast Asia Library

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. [1906 - present]
Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals 1833-1992 全国报刊索引 This link opens in a new window
It searches indexes of newspapers and periodicals published in China between 1833-1992.

Thai Journal Index
Project sponsored by the University of Washington to strengthen access to vernacular journal literature from Southeast Asia.
more...less...
Journal Titles Currently Indexed
Chiwit mai
Sinlapawatthanatham = Art & Culture
Thammasat Law Journal
Warasan phasa lae phasasat = Journal of Language and Linguistics
Warasan setthakit lae sangkhom
Warasan thammasat = Thammasat University Journal

East Asian Library Electronic Resources

The C. V. Starr East Asian Library has an extensive collection of electronic resources providing access to articles, newspapers, goverment documents, statistics, and primary sources.

Chinese Studies Electronic Databases by Subject/Type

Japanese Studies

Korean Studies

East Asian Studies

General Article Databases

Databases are collections of thousands of articles (and often book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other items) organized by subject. The Libraries have hundreds of databases covering every academic discipline. Some are multi-disciplinary, covering a broad range of subjects and including popular and scholarly sources, and others are subject-specific, and include scholarly and specialized articles. A complete list is available at Find Articles.

The following multi-disciplinary databases are good places to start your research:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals. (International Humanities Index - American Humanities Index) [1927 - present]
Includes all data from Humanities International Index. Subjects covered include archaeology, literature, religion, art, dance, theater, folklore, history, African-American studies, law, women's studies, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) This link opens in a new window
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Periodicals Contents Index) [1802 - 1995]
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from scholarly humanities and social sciences journals from 20th century North America and Europe. [1907 - 1984]
Citations to more than 1.3 million articles in over 1,200 periodicals.

Secondary menu

History: Asia: Articles

Databases & Indexes

East Asian Library Electronic Resources

General Article Databases