Library Guides: History: Europe: Books

History E-Book Collections

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Completely searchable full text of the Cambridge Histories series.
Explore American and British history, ancient history, Islamic history, economic history, the histories of philosophy, science, music, literature, religion, social histories, and much more. "My Histories" allows you to create and share a personalized library with your own bookmarks and notes.
Early European Books Online (EEB) This link opens in a new window
Full-color, high-resolution facsimile scans of rare texts in European languages from the early modern period (1450s-1701), with strong representation in Danish, Dutch, French, Italian, and Latin texts.
Contents are drawn from rare book collections from the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library in London, and others. Search by country of publication, language, page features (illustration, musical notation), and source library, and you can include historical and linguistic variants in your search. Books can be browsed in an online Flash-based viewer or downloaded as JPEGs or PDFs. The scans are of the entire physical object and pages, including marginalia and binding.
Humanities E-Book Project (formerly History E-Books Project) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of important and frequently-cited books in humanities. (ACLS History E-Books Project - HEB) [1920s - present]
Access to the full-text of important and frequently-cited books in humanities. (These e-books are also listed in UC Library Search.
Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment ONLINE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook collection based on the series Studies on Voltaire and the Eighteenth Century (SVEC) that was first published in 1955 as well as the current series Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment. [1955-2016]
A partnership between the Voltaire Foundation and Liverpool University Press is making volumes from the series available online for the first time. A broad overview of a variety of subjects relating to the Enlightenment including: history, cultural studies, literature, biography, religious studies, philosophy, and gender studies. The collection contains 572 volumes, a digital collection with over 190,000 pages of highly-regarded content in both English and French.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.

Browsing European History

UC Berkeley Library arranges books by Library of Congress call numbers. Though history is covered in every discipline (e.g., women's history may be located in the women's studies call numbers while medical history may be in the medicine call numbers), the major sections for European history are listed below.

Call number	Subject area	Location
D	History General	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level B
DA	Great Britain	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level B
DAW	Central Europe	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level B
DB	Austria, Hungary, Czech	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level B
DD	Germany	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Levels B & C
DE	Greco-Roman	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DF	Greece	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DG	Italy	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DH	Low Countries	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DJ	Netherlands	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DK	Russia, former Soviet Union, Poland	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DL	Scandinavia	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DP	Spain & Portugal	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DQ	Switzerland	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C
DR	Balkans	Gardner (MAIN) Stacks Level C

USTC

Universal Short Title Catalogue
A collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century (1450-1700). Provides locations of books and in some instances links to digitized copies.

Microfilm Collections

German Books Before 1601 [microform]
Call Number: MICROFILM 4298 AC [NRLF]
Over 3000 German, Swiss, and Austrian printed books from the 15th and 16th centuries. Individual titles of the collection are listed in Melvyl. The Guide for the collection is at MICROFILM 4298 AC guide, in Newspapers & Microforms.

Secondary menu

History: Europe: Books

History E-Book Collections

Browsing European History

USTC

Microfilm Collections