It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Comprised of the full text and page images of over 250 Bibliothèque bleue titles, mass-produced, inexpensive books that were sold to peasants. These provide a unique insight into the popular culture of 17th to mid-19th century France.
Bibliotheque Nationale de France's digital library.
Provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources. One can browse (Decouverte), search (Recherche), or explore thematic groupings of materials (Dossiers).
Over 700 trade cards (early shop advertisements) and related items, mostly from France, but also from Germany and elsewhere on the continent. They date from the early seventeenth to early nineteenth centuries and are for suppliers as diverse as hat-makers, stationers, goldsmiths, print-sellers and confectioners.
Call Number: PN5176 .D53 2005 MAIN (Gardner) Stacks
Includes lengthy articles about the French press during the Revolution, with details about dates of founding and publication, frequency, place of publication, biographical information of the proprietors, editors, and printers, political tendencies, etc.
Primarily consists of material published between 1780 and 1810 from the French Revolution Collection (FRC), the Louis XVI Trial and Execution Collection, and several smaller collections of French Revolution era material.
With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, the site allows you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions