Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Southeast Asia Studies

Myanmar (Burma)

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

Brunei

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

Cambodia

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

East Timor

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

Laos

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

Malaysia

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

Singapore

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

Thailand

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

Vietnam

Image courtesy of wikitravel.org.

Purpose of this Guide

This guide's purpose is to connect students with scholarly sources related to Southeast Asia Studies. See below for general tools recommended for starting your research. Use the tabs to the left to find specific types of sources.

Southeast Asia

Map of Southeast Asia

Tools for Starting Your Research

These tools that will connect you with a variety of resource types to help you perform general research.

Start Your Search box

Start Your Search combines library collections, catalogs, and databases into a single search experience. 

Found on the The Library homepageStart Your Search comes with two options:

  • Basic offers a simple keyword, title, or author search.
  • Advanced offers multiple options for narrowing searches.

OskiCat logo

OskiCat is UC Berkeley's catalog. Melvyl is the University of California system catalog. To access them:

  1. Find the "Start Your Search" box on The Library homepage.
  2. Select OskiCat or Melvyl in the Search tab.

A-Z Database List logo

A-Z Databases is the full list of UC Berkeley database subscriptions. To access it:

  • Find the "Start Your Search" box on The Library homepage.
  • Select Browse All Databases in the Databases tab.

 

About A-Z Database Icons

  • Resources with the  UCB Access Only key icon icon are only available to UC Berkeley students, faculty, staff, and workstation users.
  • Resources with the Free or open access  icon are available to all users.

UC Berkeley Southeast Asia Studies Departments and Libraries

Department of South and Southeast Asia logoThe Department of South and Southeast Asian Studies offers degree programs in history, religion, and cultural and textual traditions. Its faculty represent specialties in historical periods ranging from classical to modern, literature, and religious studies, performing research in India, Pakistan, Tibet, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Vietnam, and the Philippines.

Center for Southeast Asian Studies logoThe Center for Southeast Asian Studies (CSEAS) "was founded in 1960 for the development of research and teaching on [the whole region] and the countries of Southeast Asia - covering Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, and Vietnam."

South/Southeast Asia LibraryLocated in Doe Library (Room 120), The South/Southeast Asia Library provides:

  • Quiet study spaces
  • Comfortable seating
  • Many electrical outlets
  • Large study tables
  • Several study carrels
  • A public computer
  • A public scanner.