Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Southeast Asia Studies


data visualization

 

Government Publications and Statistics

 


 

Recommended Tools and Sources

Government publications and statistics include all governmental and non-governmental statistical sources. Recommendations for finding government publications and statistics include:

  1. A-Z Databases (use subject and database type filters to perform specific searches)
  2. United Nations organizations
  3. WorldBank

 

undefined

A-Z Databases is the full list of UC Berkeley database subscriptions.

To access it in the "Start Your Search" box on The Library homepage. select BROWSE ALL DATABASES in the DATABASES tab.

 

To search for statistical data related to South Asia Studies in A-Z Databases, select:

  • "Southeast Asian Studies" in the Subject (far left) dropdown.
  • "Statistic and Numeric Data" in the Database Type dropdown.

 

About A-Z Database Icons
  • Resources with the  UCB Access Only key icon icon are only available to UC Berkeley students, faculty, staff, and workstation users.
  • Resources with the Free or open access  icon are available to all users.

undefined

The Department of Economic Planning and Statistics (DEPS) is a "central economic planning organization" that aims to "ensure economic planning and statistics to meet the nation's best interest".

 
 

undefined

The Myanmar Central Statistical Organization (CSO) vision is to "build a coherent National Statistical System in Myanmar that produces comprehensive, accurate and high-quality socio-economic statistics".

undefined

The Lao Statistics Bureau of the Department of Economic Statistics (DES) is "a department within the structure of LSB under supervision of Ministry of Planning and Investment, with the mandate to assist leadership of LSB in field of economic statistics".

undefined

The Singapore Department of Statistics (DOS) aims to "develop and maintain a national statistical service of quality, integrity and expertise".

undefined

The Department of Statistics - Malaysia (DOSM) describes its role as "establishing a quality, user-oriented and timely information system for the formulation of policies for national development planning and administration".

undefined

The Statistics Timor-Leste General Directorate of Statistics (GDS) is "responsible for ensuring general guidance and integrated coordination in relation to all Ministry services with competences in the fields of Statistics".

undefined

The General Statistics of Viet Nam (GSO) is an "organization directly under the Ministry of Planning and Investment (MPI) realizing the function as an adviser for the MPI Minister in state management for statistics".

undefined

The National Institute of Statistics (NIS), which is part of the Ministry of Planning, is the focal point on statistical matters in Cambodia. The NIS compiles and consolidates statistics provided by decentralized offices and collects primary ata through household and establishment surveys and population, agricultural, and economic censuses.

undefined

The Philippine Statistics Authority's (PSA) mission is to "deliver relevant and reliable statistics, efficient civil registration services and inclusive identification system for equitable development towards improved quality of life for all".

undefined

ASEAN Statistics Division (ASEANstats) is one of the divisions under the ASEAN Economic Community Department of the ASEAN Secretariat in charge of providing statistical services to the ASEAN Secretariat, ASEAN bodies and ASEAN stakeholders.