Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Southeast Asia Studies


Revenue Stamp of one of the Princely States of India

 

Archives, Special Collections, and Digital Libraries

 


 

Recommended Tools and Sources

Archives include historical records, documents, and artifacts. Special collections are usually archives grouped by a shared topic or provenance and digital libraries house digital archives, special collections, galleries, and exhibits. Recommendations for finding archives, special collections, and digital libraries include:

  1. UC Berkeley Library Digital Collections
  2. The Bancroft Library
  3. The South/Southeast Asia.Library

The Bancroft Library's Digital Collections (Calisphere),, available through the California Digital Library's Calisphere website, includes digitized materials from Bancroft's holdings and born digital materials collected as part of Berkeley's archival manuscript and pictorial collections.It is an ever-growing research collection of digital images, text, audiovisual, and other content files.

The California Digital Library (CDL) is a collaborative effort of the ten University of California campuses and is responsible for the design, creation, and implementation of systems that support the University of California's shared collections. It was founded by the University of California in 1997 to take advantage of emerging technologies that were transforming the way digital information was being published and accessed.

undefined

In collaboration with the Hill Museum and Manuscripts Library and the Centre for the Study of Manuscripts Culture (CSMC), University of Hamburg, Germany, the Digital Repository of Endangered and Affected Manuscripts (DREAMSEA) preserves and makes accessible manuscript content in Southeast Asia. It is carried out by the Center for the Study of Islam and Society (PPIM) Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta State Islamic University (UIN) Jakarta, Indonesia.

Hathi Trust is a partnership of academic and research institutions and offers a collection of millions of digitized titles. It began in 2008 as a collaboration between Big Ten Academic Alliance and University of California system universities.

undefined

The Leiden University Library KITLV Southeast Asia Image Collection holds photographs, prints and drawings that were acquired by The Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV). Housed at Leiden University Libraries since 2014, as part of the KITLV library collection.

The Library of Congress (LOC), the largest library in the world, is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office. It "preserves and provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage [researchers in their] intellectual and creative endeavors."

The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions. Contributors include libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

undefinedNorthern Illinois University's (NIU) Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL) provides educators, students, scholars and the general public with materials published or produced in Southeast Asia.

undefined

Southeast Asia Visions (SEAVISIOS) (Cornell University) is a collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. The site provides online access to more than 350 books written in English and French.

The Court Fee and Revenue Stamps of the Princely States of India is a a gift collection of stamps, each including a state name, a tax classification, and a tax amount. 

Before India's independence from Britain in 1947, Indian princely families collaborating with the British ruled nearly half of the Indian subcontinent. As early as 1797, the British issued the Court Fee and Revenue Stamps of the Princely States of India to collect taxes from Princely State residents.

 

Featured Stamps
                    Alwar                                       Bundi                                    Indargarh                        Udaipur (Chitrakot) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sikh immigrants

Echoes of Freedom: South Asian Pioneers in California, 1899-1965 is an exhibit created from Azadi di Gunj (Echo of Freedom), an early collection of Indian nationalist poems calling for a revolt against British rule in India, published in San Francisco by the Pacific Coast Hindustani Association, later known as the Ghadar party."

 

Excerpt - "In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, businessman, students, farmers, and laboreres began coming to California from India. Many decided to settle here and make California their home. This exhibit tells their story--their struggles, successes, and contributions--through material from the rich "South Asians in North America" archive.

 

 

 

Formerly known as the Hindustan Ghadar Party Collection, the South Asians in North America (SANA) Collection relates to an Indian nationalist party based in Northern California during the first two decades of the 20th century. The collection includes primary source photographs, pamphlets, party literature, and interviews in Punjabi, Hindi, Urdu, and English. 

 

Also see: Annotated and Selected Bibliography

Gobind Behari Lal Collection. This collection, ranging from circa 1945 to 1979. includes 8 cartons of papers, notebooks, photographs, and other items related to Gobind Behari Lal, who came to UC Berkeley in 1912 on a scholarship, joined the Gadar Party, and participated in the Indian independence movement. He later worked as a science journalist for Hearst newspapers, becoming the first Indian-American to win a Pulitzer Prize. 

Henry Morse Stephens Collection. This is an early bequest in 1919 of an important collection relating to British India and Indian history. 

Kipling Collection. This collection on Rudyard Kipling was begun in 1919 and expanded by a major purchase in 1963 of rare and scarce materials, first editions, manuscripts, typescripts, and ephemera. 

Krishnabai Nimbkar CollectionThis was a gift in 1955 from Dr. Krishnabai Nimbkar's collection on India's Congress Party, including correspondence, papers, pamphlets, and policy statements.

Leo E. Rose Himalayan Collection. This collection was begun with extensive purchases made in Nepal by Professor Leo Rose on politics, history, and law in the 1950s and continued with purchases under the Himalayan Border Countries Program from 1960 to 1969 and is currently enhanced by acquisitions under the Library of Congress Acquisitions Program. This collection includes microfilm of portions of the holdings of the India Office Library, London and the Nation Archives in New Delhi on the Himalayan region, with a concentration on Nepal. It is especially strong on the 19th and early 20th century period and is a unique resource in the U.S. 

Maps of South Asia. The Earth Sciences & Map Library holds 4500 maps and nautical charts of South Asia, in addition to world maps and general maps of Asia and the Indian Ocean region. There are also 65 atlases and gazetteers of the area. 

The Power of Patterns: Double Ikat for Textile Exchange in India and IndonesiaIn her honors thesis, My Chan highlights two distinctive types of textiles produced by tie-dying the warp and weft threads before they are woven, hence "double ikatPatola in Gujarat, India and Geringsing in Bali, Indonesia.

S.K. (Swarna Kumar) Mitri LettersThis collection consists of four letters (10 p.) Mitri, a "Hindu student", wrote to a fellow student at the University of California Berkeley. It includes details of Mitra's life in Bengal, India, where he married against his family's wishes and tried to start a boycott of British goods. Mitri also writes about how he came to UC Berkeley, his feelings about the campus, and his attitudes toward "foreigners."