Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Southeast Asia Studies


old black and white photo of people posing

 

Images, Galleries, and Exhibits

 


 

Recommended Tools and Sources

Images, galleries, and exhibits are usually part of an archive or special collection. Recommendations for finding images, galleries, and exhibits include:

  1. The UC Berkeley online exhibits page
  2. UC Berkeley Library Digital Collections
  3. The Bancroft Library
  4. The South/Southeast Asia.Library

A to Z Databases tutorial for finding "Southeast Asia Studies" images and mediaWhen not on this page, the easiest way to access A-Z Databases is from the Start Your Search box on The Library homepage. Just select "Databases" and "Browse All Databases".

In A-Z Databases, find South Asia Studies images and media by:

  1. Selecting "Southeast Asian Studies" in the Subject dropdown.
  2. Selecting "Images", "Sound/Audio", or "Videos" in the Database dropdown.

 

 

Chinese Overseas: Challenges and Contributions is an "historic exhibit and "the result of the collaboration of five libraries: The Bancroft Library, the Center for Chinese Studies Library, the East Asian Library, the Ethnic Studies Library, and the South/Southeast Asia Library. It displays the rich and rare Chinese Overseas resources at the libraries of the University of California at Berkeley. These resources document and reveal the challenges and the triumphs of Chinese Overseas as well as their contributions to their adopted and host countries and to their homeland. These unique research materials have proven invaluable for the research and teaching needs of faculty, students and scholars on the Berkeley campus and beyond. They also tell fascinating stories.

 

A Hundred Harvests: the History of Asian Studies at Berkeley was an exhibit in the Brown Gallery of Doe Library from June 20, 1997 through February 1, 1998. It lives on here as a virtual exhibit. Through archival holdings and matchless library collections showcased in the exhibit, the story unfolds of the scholars and philanthropists who founded and nurtured the Asian programs that today are consistently rated the best or among the best in the country and that attract scholars and students from all over the world.

 

 

 

thumbnail

The Swift Family Collection of Palm Leaf Manuscripts was donated to The Library by Lloyd Wesley Swift, a 1930 Berkeley graduate. Simply known as the Swift Family Collection, it includes several Buddhist palm leaf manuscripts from mainland Southeast Asia. These manuscripts were featured in The Written Word Remains, an exhibition of manuscripts and rare printed books from South and Southeast Asia, and subsequently stored in Berkeley's South/Southeast Asia Library. Later, select manuscripts from the collection were displayed in the 1997 exhibition A Hundred Harvests: The History of Asian Studies at Berkeley. In 2002, the process of identifying, inventorying, and cataloging each manuscript began.

To learn more about the Swift Family Collection, visit its Online Archive of California (OAC) finding aid.

 

 

This Vietnam: Journey of the Heart, 1985-2000 finding aid is for the exhibition of the same name available through the Online Archive of California (OAC). The collection featured in the exhibition is owned by The Bancroft Library.

Exhibition text was provided by John Balaban.

According to the Matteo Vegetti Myanmar Gallery website, "Myanmar is changing at an incredible speed: once a locked up state, nowadays thousands of foreign investors are flocking the country reshaping the burmese lifestyle. Far from stereotypes this gallery presents a glimpse of daily life that will probably disappears in the coming years."