Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Southeast Asia Studies


page and text

 

Academic Journals and Articles

 


 

Recommended Tools and Sources

Academic journals primarily contain peer-reviewed scholarly articles, which can also appear in article databases. Recommendations for finding academic journals and articles include:

  1. The Library's Start Your Search portal (includes several online tools)
  2. OskiCat (UC Berkeley's online catalog)
  3. A-Z Databases (use subject and database type filters to perform specific searches)
  4. Google Scholar
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

BAS has over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia. [1971-present]
 
JSTOR

JSTOR provides full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary]

The easiest way to access A-Z Databases is from the Start Your Search box on The Library homepage. Just select "Databases" and "Browse All Databases". Then, find Southeast Asia Studies articles by:

  1. Selecting "Southeast Asian Studies" in the Subject dropdown.
  2. Selecting "Articles" in the Database dropdown.

Tutorial for finding articles related to Southeast Asia Studies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

undefined

 

 

 

 

Google Scholar:

  • Is freely accessible.
  • Indexes scholarly literature in many formats and disciplines.
  • Offers alerts and subscriptions to account owners.

undefined

OskiCat is UC Berkeley's library catalog.

To access it in the "Start Your Search" box on The Library homepage,, select OSKICAT in the SEARCH tab.