It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
Many of the acquisitions are entirely new databases, however some acquisitions consisted of additional content to already existing resources--in these cases only the new content is listed in the description, and you can click on "more" for additional information about the resource.
Strategic Resources Acquired by the Library in FY 2017-18
For most of the twentieth century the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) was the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against government. Its a leader in the defense of the freedoms of speech and press, the separation of church and state, the free exercise of religion, due process of law, equal protection of the law, and the privacy rights of all citizens. Scholars and students of 20th Century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
Full collection of books from Artech House. Practical engineering books that cover areas of electrical engineering, materials science, information security, communications, radar, remote sensing, and other areas of emerging technology. [2000-2018]
The China Press was an English newspaper founded in Shanghai on August 29, 1911, one of the major newspapers in Shanghai in that time period. Its rich content serves as an important research resource for Chinese studies. [1911-1949]
This newspaper was established by an American Thomas F.Millard, most editors and staff were American journalists. It covers political news (including the Revolution of 1911), world and local news, education and women issues, novels, entertainment news and advertisements.
Docuseek2 is a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from independent distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Fanlight. Note: When browsing the platform, you will see film icons next to each title. Grayed out icons indicate Berkeley does not have access to these titles. To view a list limited to titles owned by Berkeley, click the "My Movies" link at the top of the page.
A full-text searchable database of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, sciences, medicine, geography, travel, history, and literature. It includes books of European/Arabic translations. [1475-1900]
"The databases consists of three modules: Module 1) Religion and Law. Module 2) Sciences, History, and Geography. Module 3) Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works." Search in Arabic or Roman scripts.
Indexes over 125,000 volumes of early works printed in England or in English. These works constitute a significant portion of items included in the English Short Title Catalogue. It contains most of the works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplements.
The Eastern Times was founded in Shanghai on June 12, 1904. It was ranked among the top three newspapers with Sin Wan Pao and Shen Pao. [1904-1939]
The newspaper was established by Di Chuqing, and Huang Bohui took over in 1921. It hired famous newspapermen like Luo Xiaogao, Chen Jinghan, Bao Tianxiao as editors. It carried national and local news, commentaries, sport news, novels and entertainment news.
This is a digital archive of the India Office Records on the East India Company from its inception until it dissolution. [1600-1947]
The East India Company Archive is a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Consisting of royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and all other areas the Company was active in from 1600 to 1947.
Provides full text, comprehensive overviews on animal systematics and morphology as well as extensive coverage of physiology, behaviour, ecology and applied aspects of zoological research. Updated Frequently. [1923--]
The Mergent Archives provides online access to the Moody's/Mergent manuals. These manuals provide corporate histories, business descriptions, and information on properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, financial statements and municipal debt. The database covers the following manuals: Industrial Manual (1920-present) Public Utility Manual (1914-present) OTC Industrial Manual (1970-present) OTC Unlisted Manual (1986-present) Transportation Manual (1909-present) International Manual (1981-present) Bank and Finance Manual (1928-present), Municipal & Government (2005-present).
Primary source material from the nineteenth century and beyond. Particularly strong in British politics and society, European literature from 1790-1840 (via the Corvey collection), Asia and the West, and British popular culture. Includes more than 1 million images from the "Photography: The World Through the Lens" collection.
Added the following modules: Black Freedom Struggle in the Twentieth Century: Federal Government Records, and its Supplement; New Deal and WWII: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies (1933-1945)
Resource for the study of Early Modern Britain and Europe. Reunites the State Papers Domestic and Foreign with the Registers of the Privy Council and State Papers in the British Library. The database reproduces the original historical manuscripts in facsimile linking each manuscript to its corresponding Calendar entry.
CDL Acquired Resources
In FY2017-18, CDL switched to a new cost share model, and used funds to help ease campuses into the new funding model.