Many of the acquisitions are entirely new databases, however some acquisitions consisted of additional content to already existing resources--in these cases only the new content is listed in the description, and you can click on "more" for additional information about the resource.
Strategic Resources Acquired by the Library in FY 2018-19
Provides access to over 280 African American newspapers from around the country.
This collection includes historically significant African American Newspapers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles. Also includes several California titles like the Los Angeles Tribune (1943-1960), Oakland Sunshine (1915-1922), and Western Outlook (1914-1928), and the Elevator (1865-1898).
Almandumah is a comprehensive full text database for Arabic scholarly output. It includes almost one million items (1/3 in abstract), including about 1900 unique Arabic journals, 2500 conferences, and 200,000 dissertations from the Arab world. [1920 - Present]
Almandumah database consists of 6 specialized databases which are: AraBase for language and literature, IslamicInfo for Islamic studies and Islamic law, HumanIndex for humanities, EcoLink for economic and management studies, EduSearch for education, and Dissertations and Thesis which includes full text and abstracts for about 200,000 (1/2 in abstracts) from 170 schools across the Arab world. The database covers the Arabic scholarly output since 1920 until present.
Artifex Press is a publisher of digital catalogues raisonnés. Current digital catalogues raisonnés include: Chuck Close, Jim Dine, Tim Hawkinson, Sol Lewitt, Agnes Martin, and James Siena.
This primary-source collection documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.
Digitalia e-books can be read as PDFs, HTML, or Flash files. To date, the UCB Library has purchased more than 2100+ titles which are all discoverable in UC Library Search.
Collections include playtexts from Methuen Drama, Faber and Faber, Arden Shakespeare, and Nick Hern Shakespeare’s Globe On Screen, L.A. Theatre Works audio collection, BBC Drama Films, the Hollow Crown series, early modern drama titles staged and filmed specifically for educational use. The platform has a web-based e-reader with page and line numbers that correspond to the print edition, download options, full text search, visualization tools including a Words and Speeches Graph and a Character Grid for each play, the ability to view lines for one specific character, genre, period, title, or playwright browsing, and annotation tools.
Added: Euratlas Georeferenced Historical Vector Data
GeoData@UC Berkeley is the library's geoportal. It allows users to search for and download geospatial data collected by the UC Berkeley Library and partner institutions for a wide range of topics including transportation, land use, boundaries, demographics, agriculture, natural resources, and more. The geoportal includes vector and raster GIS data and scanned maps. Users can search both geographically and using a text-based search. Some data is restricted to UC Berkeley access only.
This collection will have the archives of 26 magazines devoted to LGBTQ interests including a complete run of The Advocate. Also includes a number of UK-based titles such as Gay News. Provides cover-to-cover coverage. Titles are still being added to this collection.
This modern newspaper package includes 100 newspapers published between 1911-1949 in Beijing and other major cities in China.
This archival collection was based on the holdings from the National Library of China, adding titles from other provincial and city libraries. In addition to major national newspapers such as Revolution Daily and New China Daily, the database also contains major local newspapers including North China Daily, Hankou People’s Daily, Western Capital Daily and Xinjiang Daily.
Borrow popular ebooks and audiobooks to enjoy online, on your device, Kindle, or eReader. The collection is strongest in high-use and popular fiction. Check out materials using your CalNet ID.
Added Classical Studies and Studies in the Enlightenment
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
Added the following African American newspapers: Pittsburg Courier (1911-2002), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), and The Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
Rafu Shimpo began in 1903 and is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the U. S. During WWII, it was suspended from 1942-1945, and was revived in 1946. The digital archive contains all obtainable issues from 1914 through 2018.
Digital collection with full-text comics, graphic novels, and related scholarship from pre-Comics Code era works to modern sequential releases from the US, Canada, France, Italy, Spain, England, Sweden, Norway, Australia, Korea, Japan, and more.
Repository of over 54,000 primary source video testimonies of the Holocaust, the Armenian Genocide, the Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, the Nanjing Massacre, the Cambodian Genocide, the South Sudan Civil War, and more.
* More than 54,500 video testimonies at an average of two hours each
* Roughly 116,000 hours of film (equal to 13 years’ continuous streaming content)
* Over 900 German transcripts and almost 1,000 English transcripts (NEW).
* Almost 65,000 index terms in English, applied at the one-minute segment
* Over 719,000 images (photographs, documents, works of art, artifacts from war, etc.)
* Filmed in 63 countries; Testimonies given in over 40 languages
* 1.9 million names of family members and prominent figures; Roughly 49,000 locations referenced
* 2,500 recitations of literary works (poems, letters, diaries)
* Over 2,100 musical recitals; 2,300 interviewers; 1,000 videographers
CDL negotiated preferential pricing for this resource for UCB and other UC campuses.
Primary source collections include: American Fiction
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990, American Fiction, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, The Making of Modern Law, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, The Times Digital Archive, The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Lists more than 4000 open access scholarly journals that are available freely. Covers all subjects and languages. 319 of the journals are searchable on article level.
CDL provided some funding to support digitization of public domain run of TV Forecast/TV Guide.
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
