Library Guides: UCB Library Strategic Collections Acquisitions: 2020-21 Acquisitions

Strategic Resources Acquired by the Library in FY 2020-21

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
This collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. [1808-1980]
San Francisco Chronicle Archive, Complete (historical and current) This link opens in a new window
UCB added 1985-2020 digital archive and print equivilant.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new window
UCB added parts 2-4 for this resource.
Includes more than 1.5 million pages, 7000+ books, 80+ serials, 15 manuscript collections as well as court records and reference materials documents related to the antebellum era. Published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, & many other institutions.
African American Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Added 1976-2010 for the Chicago Defender.
Access includes: Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931 - 2010), The Baltimore Afro-American‎ (1893 - 2010), Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 2010), Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2010), Louisville Defender (1951 - 2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939 - 2010), New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922 - 2010), Norfolk Journal and Guide‎ (1916 - 2010), The Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2010), (Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911 - 2010) .

DeGruyter eBooks
2021 titles from Harvard, Yale, Stanford, and Columbia University Presses. Contains about 200 books available online. Link is to a catalog search for all titles

Wiley Digital Archives: Royal College of Physicians Collection This link opens in a new window
Papers of past fellows provide glimpses into the personal lives and social concerns of many distinguished physicians. Includes archive records defining the RCP’s changing role in setting standards in medical practice.
RCP members have always collected manuscripts and papers on a wide range of medical and non-medical topics. Available for text data mining. [14th-20th centuries]
American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of 45 national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada. [1826-2016]
The bulk of titles were founded in the 1970s, documenting the proliferation of Indigenous journalism that grew out of the occupation of Wounded Knee, meeting the demand for objective reporting from within Indian Country.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source material from the Race Relations Department at Fisk University, focusing on race relations across three pivotal decades in the struggle for civil rights in the United States. [1943-1970]
The work of the Department highlighted topics such as poverty and inequality, class, housing, employment, education and government policy. This resource sheds light on the work of the Department through the digitization of extensive records from the Department’s archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. [1800-1980]
Unique primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the vivid realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands. Organisational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide key context to migrants’ everyday struggles.
Colonial Caribbean: CO Files from The National Archives, UK This link opens in a new window
Colonial Office files (supplemented by some War Office files) from the UK National Archives, relating to British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean, covering the years 1624-1870
This extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, as well as details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern about absentee landlords.
Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new window
Includes research collections from the Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections and resources sourced from the US, UK and Australia that focus on individual stories and experiences.
The collection makes available papers from ground-breaking sexologists; official records of pressure groups and community organizations; diaries, correspondence and photographs charting the relationships and lived experiences of individuals; as well as erotic fiction, ephemeral materials, objects, videos, public service announcements, legal and government documents, and more.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement.
Other key areas represented in the material include employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. The content has been sourced from across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community.
Includes pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, which reveal the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.
Rolling Stone Archive This link opens in a new window
Rolling Stone is a key resource to understanding the history of music, film, television, popular culture, as well as many political and social issues over the last 50+ years
Founded in San Francisco, CA in 1967, Rolling Stone is synonymous with U.S./Western culture and provides contemporary takes on major political, social, and cultural issues. Containing article-level indexing and searchable text, researchers can discover all types of content from the full run of Rolling Stone, including articles, editorials, advertisements and much more.

Artforum Digital Archive
Proquest

Resources Acquired by CDL in FY 2020-21

African American Newspapers, Series I (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
CDL acquired Series 1 and Series 2 of this resource. UCB previously had access to Series 1.
This collection includes historically significant African American Newspapers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles. Also includes several California titles like the Los Angeles Tribune (1943-1960), Oakland Sunshine (1915-1922), and Western Outlook (1914-1928), and the Elevator (1865-1898).
China Doctoral Dissertation & Masters' Theses Database This link opens in a new window
As of 2021, the database contains more than 440,000 doctoral dissertations granted by 493 institutions, and more than 4,348,000 master theses granted by 770 institutions.
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online This link opens in a new window
CDL acquired this for all UC. UCB previously had access to this resource.
The collection contains numerous rare, and in many cases unique, titles. Included, among many others, are the Argentine periodicals La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera; the Brazilian O Exempio, Jornal do Povo and Battaglia; the Chilean Voz del Mar; and the Mexican Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social and El Sindicalista.
MIT Press eBooks Library This link opens in a new window
CDL acquired approximately 150 titles that will be published in 2021. These cover the following subject areas: art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences
Also covers artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
CDL acquired the 2021 collection, covering 27 subjects and 1400 titles.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
CDL acquired the complete 2021 collection, and the 2019 supplement.
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
CDL acquired Sage Research Methods for all UC. UCB previously acquired this resource.
SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.
Wen shi zi liao, 文史资料 This link opens in a new window
文史资料 is a collection of oral history on the historical events from Late Qing to 1980s, recorded since 1959 by members of the People’s Consultative Conferences and personalities across China.
The database contains about 26,800 series and more than 900,000 articles. The principle of guiding the publishing of these historical materials was “Three in-person”: experienced in person, saw in person, and heard in person (亲历, 亲见,亲闻). It is full-text searchable.

Secondary menu

UCB Library Strategic Collections Acquisitions: 2020-21 Acquisitions

About FY 2020-21 Strategic Acquisitions

Strategic Resources Acquired by the Library in FY 2020-21

Resources Acquired by CDL in FY 2020-21