In FY 2019-20, the Library acquired a large number of electronic resources to support the distanced teaching, learning, and research due to the COVID-19 pandemic. While many of the purchases are entirely new databases, some acquisitions consisted of additional content to already existing resources--in these cases only the new content is listed in the description, and you can click on more for additional information about the resource.
Strategic Resources Acquired by the Library in FY 2019-20
Digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Issues are scanned in high resolution color with fully searchable text. [1896 - 2015]
Covers the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects.
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; and others.
Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
The Customs’ Gazette, published by order of the Inspector General of Customs of China in Shanghai, provided quarterly reports on trade that were prepared and submitted by various custom houses based across the country.
This statistical and narrative information provided the central Chinese government with an in-depth analysis on trade. The Gazette also provided insights into local and regional economic and social conditions, policing of customs and trade, and conditions at Treaty Ports.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. [1919 - 2013]
Full text online collection of over 750 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference works covering a spectrum of topics from the arts to the sciences.
FBI files on surveillance conducted on Black Americans, civil rights organizations, and other institutions.
Includes FBI files relating to: A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, the Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), the Black Panther Party (North Carolina), the Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, the Highlander Folk School, the Klu Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), the Moorish Science Temple of America, the Murder of Lemuel Penn, the Muslim Mosque, Inc., the NAACP, the National Negro Congress, the Organization of Afro-American Unity, Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Thurgood Marshall, W.E.B. Du Bois, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and Marcus Garvey
Searchable database with full text of the Fresno Bee from 1887-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1887-2018, and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1986-current.
Consisting of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966, this collection is a key documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War.
In this collection over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 are arranged topically and chronologically on crucial subjects: political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government administration, fiscal and monetary issues, national defense, foreign policy-making, wars and alliances, religion, culture, trade, industry, natural resources, and more.
This is a collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India for the period covering the partition of the Subcontinent from 1945 to 1949.
This is a collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India. It contains a wide range of materials and identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India and South Asia in the postwar period.
This collection contains essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Japanese internal and foreign affairs during World War II and the Postwar Period.
A collection of 22 newspapers and periodicals supporting the ideology of communism, most published in the United States. Dates range from 1848 through 1978, with most coverage in the early 20th century. There are some gaps in coverage.
Added Part II (1851-1930), Part III (1880-1945) and Part IV (1800-1890).
Provides access to a rich collection of resources on the dynamics of Western trade, including the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century.
Primary source material from the nineteenth century and beyond. Particularly strong in British politics and society, European literature from 1790-1840 (via the Corvey collection), Asia and the West, and British popular culture. Includes more than 1 million images from the "Photography: The World Through the Lens" collection.
An online periodical archive that provides access to over 700 digitized journals in the humanities and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Index Online, provides additional indexing for articles in over 4,700 periodicals.
This collection provides researchers with the opportunity to explore a unique period in China’s struggle toward a modern existence through the International Settlement in Shanghai.
Files contained represent a large portion of the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in this area.
Added: Courier Journal (1830-2000), Atlanta Journal & Constitution (1868-1985), St. Louis Dispatch (1874-2003), Chicago Tribune (1995-2010, one year added annually), Los Angeles Times (1995-2010, one year added annually), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2006, one year added annually), Boston Globe (1872-1987, one year added annually), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008).
Searchable database with full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1857-2018, and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1984-current.
Contains historical newspapers throughout the Western United States. Note: The contents in this database are being added through 2021.
Titles include: The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].
While UCB and a few other campuses had this database previously, CDL acquired it for all UC.
The collection contains numerous rare, and in many cases unique, titles. Included, among many others, are the Argentine periodicals La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera; the Brazilian O Exempio, Jornal do Povo and Battaglia; the Chilean Voz del Mar; and the Mexican Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social and El Sindicalista.
Online collection of over 3,000 ebooks published by MIT Press.
Covers a broad range of subjects including arts, architecture, biomedical sciences, business, cognitive science, cultural studies, design, digital humanities and new media, economics, education, energy, engineering, environmental science, evolution, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, machine learning and AI, neuroscience, and social sciences.
CDL acquired ebooks from 2021 and the 2019 supplement, which included various publishers.
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
While UCB had several modules within this database already, CDL set up access for everything we did not own, and CDL will acquire several modules for all UC at the end of FY2020-21.
While UCB and a few other campuses had this database, CDL expanded access to the rest of UC.
This database not only provides users with the traditional PDF format, it also enables users to stream full articles and journals to their mobile devices.
