Library Guides: UCB Library Strategic Collections Acquisitions: 2023-24 Acquisitions

Strategic Resources Acquired by the Library in FY2023-24

1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
Grassroots materials produced by left-wing organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade. Materials are sourced from archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada.
Amnesty International Archives This link opens in a new window
Explore the growth of the human rights movement during the second half of the twentieth century through the International Secretariat records of Amnesty International. 1961 - 1991
"This collection covers a wide range of human rights concerns and issues including:
Activism and Campaigning, Global Politics, Mass Atrocities, Migrants and Refugees, Minority Rights, Mistreatment and Disappearances, Political Prisoners and Prisoners of Conscience (POCs), Structure and Administration of Amnesty International, Torture and Death Penalty."
Cairn This link opens in a new window
Added 466 French language ebooks with a secondary emphasis (~30%) on themes pertaining to LGBTQ+, feminism, and the Global South.
Offers the most comprehensive collection of French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences available online. UC Berkeley subscribes to the complete package or "Bouquet General" which includes the full text of more than 500 peer-reviewed academic journals. It also provides citations and links to the open-access back issues to many scholarly journals available through OpenEdition Journals. For back issues not available through Cairn, search Persee.fr. UCB has also purchased access to a selection of ebooks through Cairn, available in the library catalog.
Cambridge Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A collection of approximately 1200 etextbooks and ebooks in many subjects.
Titles can be accessed online through the Cambridge Higher Education website, or through the free downloadable Spiral eReader app for offline reading. Online users have full reading access and text-to-speech capability where available. Setting up a personal CHE account is necessary to make use of Spiral eReader functions such as saving your reading progress, adding bookmarks, adding and exporting notes, highlighting text, adding links, offline reading on desktop or mobile device, and printing or copying up to 20% of the text.
License term: 4/1/2024-12/31/2025, although our subscription includes textbooks published before the beginning of the license term.
China and the Modern World This link opens in a new window
The Library acquired the module covering Hong Kong, Britain, and China II, 1965-1993.
The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.
The Civil & Military Gazette Online, 1876-1963 This link opens in a new window
This is an important primary resource on the British Indian administration and colonial government and the personnel who served in it. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The Civil & Military Gazette was a publication meant for the British colonial administration serving in India. It provided the news of the day as well as information on the hiring, promotions, and retirements of civil and military personnel. As such, it is a key resource for the social history of British India as well as colonial studies generally.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
The Library added additional modules to this resources in FY 2023-24
Conflict in Indochina : Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1959-1979 This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of key events during the War in Vietnam, and the wider impact on Laos and Cambodia. The material covers the role of China, the US and the Soviet Union, as they compete for influence within the context of the Cold War.
Includes reports, correspondence, maps, photographs, newspaper clippings, economic data, and memoranda drawn from the National Archives, UK. Files of the British Foreign Office (FO 371) and from the Southeast Asian Department (FCO 15). In depth files on the internal politics of Laos, Cambodia, and North and South Vietnam further explore increasing instability across the region following French decolonization. Note: "Indochina" is a term used by French colonial officials to refer to Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia.
Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of political ephemera and organizational material from across the world covering twentieth century political parties, pressure groups and trade union movements, created for, about and by local actors.
"This resource brings together primary source material produced in over 70 former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories, created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change. Largely eschewing the accounts of colonizers, this collection helps researchers explore decolonization as a historical process sparked from within, specifically the changing or adapting of systems from an imposed imperial or colonial structure after 1945 and up to the present day. The archive sheds light on national political developments that followed decolonization and how former colonies negotiated their own agency and futures.
"
Egypt and the Rise of Nationalism, 1840 - 1927 This link opens in a new window
Egypt and the Rise of Nationalism richly presents the development of nationalist sensibilities, movements, and publications from the 1870s until the third decade of the twentieth century and culminating with the formal dissolution of the British protectorate in 1924.
Global Census Archive: South East Asia This link opens in a new window
This archive includes official government documents issued by the national census agencies in Southeast Asia. It is an essential tool to retrieve current and historical census data to support innovative census research of interdisciplinary subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and continues to the present.
"The East View Global Census Archive® (GCA) is an innovative program to collect official data and publications issued by national census authorities, from the early 19th century to the present day, providing a key resource for scholars and analysts to find current and historical census data to support critical research into our changing world."
Japan Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Added content for the 1860's.
L2 Voter Data This link opens in a new window
L2 Voter Data is a continuously updated database of all registered voters in the United States. It provides detailed demographic profiles, historical voting records, party affiliation data, and geospatial analysis tools. 2001 - Present. Requires account
L2 Voter Data is licensed for anyone affiliated with UC Berkeley, including LBNL users. Prior to accessing the data, the user must have permission from a UC Berkeley PI. The user will also need to set up a Savio account with Research IT.

Alternatively, if you are interested in using the L2 Voter Data but do not have a PI, you can request access for the DataMapping Tool. Please note that there are a limited number of seats for the DataMapping Tool. We ask that you request access only if you have an active research project in progress.
Prensa Libre Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1951, Prensa Libre is a leading newspaper published in Guatemala City and distributed nationwide.
Prensa Libre has covered critical moments in Guatemalan and Latin American history, including political upheaval, assassinations, and coups; peace treaties and elections; natural disasters; economic and technological developments; Guatemalans on the international stage; Garífuna and Pueblos Originarios communities, immigratiion and much more.
Southeast Asia Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Southeast Asia Digital Library is a growing repository of resources from and about the region of Southeast Asia. It supports Southeast Asian research and education by making these unique digitized materials freely accessible in one website.
"SEADL is a multi-institutional project and our digital collections come from libraries and archives around the world. SEADL supports research and education in Southeast Asian Studies by making these unique digitized materials freely accessible in one website."
Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new window
Added Climate Impact Data, aka ESG (Environment, Social, Governance) data for 2 years. May be extended based on usage.
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and History This link opens in a new window
Archival collections (documents, images, data, maps, and photographs) from multiple global sources that focus on aspects of environmental science, history, and anthropogenic change.
"Sources include the Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI), The National Archives (UK), Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew), the Commonwealth Forestry Institute, Royal Entomological Society, and Ecological Society of America.

Topics covered include agriculture, biodiversity, botany, climate change,
deforestation, entomology, fisheries, hydrology, irrigation, livestock, water sources, and wetlands. "

The Library also acquired several e-book collections from DeGruyter:

Ebook Archive from Columbia and Princeton University Presses
The Library acquired an ebook archive of Columbia and Princeton University Presses published before 2000 from DeGruyter.
Ebooks from DeGruyter and Various University Presses
The Library acquired 2024 ebooks from the following publishers: Chicago, De Gruyter, Cornell, Princeton, Hawaii, Texas

Strategic Resources Acquired by the California Digital Library (CDL) in FY2023-24

ArtForum Archive This link opens in a new window
CDL purchased the Artforum Archive for UCD, UCM, UCSC, and UCSF. UCB had prior access.
Spanning six decades of reporting on art in all media, Artforum offers features, reviews, and interviews relating to artists, exhibitions, publications, and other art world events / trends.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
CDL funded Kanopy for 2024 for all campuses
Proquest Historical Newspapers (All Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Continuing support for all UC's to access every historical newspaper in PQ Historical Newspapers.
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Continuing support for every UC to access all PQ history Vault modules.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) This link opens in a new window
CDL purchased 29 Oxford Bibliographies Online subject areas in perpetuity, including a buyout of annual updates, for the entire UC system
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
The 2024 Oxford Scholarship Online Frontlist purchase includes systemwide ownership and unlimited access to the full 2024 collection of ebooks from Oxford University Press, covering 27 subject areas across humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law, for all titles published online from October 2023 through September 2024. This purchase covers the January, May, and September 2024 uploads for all subjects.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]

CDL also acquired ebook packages. The links below go to UC Search where you can explore the titles acquired.

1964-2013 Duke University Press Ebooks (via DeGruyter)
CDL acquired a backfile of ebooks from Duke University Press from 1964-2013.
2024 Duke University Press Ebooks (via DeGruyter)
CDL acquired Duke University Press ebooks published in 2024
2024 UC Press eBook Collection (via De Gruyter)
The 2024 Frontlist collection of UC Press ebooks was purchased with access for all UC campuses, with access on the De Gruyter platform

New and Continuing Open Access Investments by CDL

DOAB/OAPEN Membership: 10 Campuses

Funded for the period beginning July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027

The membership helps to fund the OAPEN library, OAPEN’s open access books toolkit, the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB), the infrastructure to sustain the free services and metadata, and to further develop the platforms for the benefit of users worldwide.

(New) Open Book Collective

Funding for the Open Book Collective and University Press Supporter Programs

July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2027

The Open Book Collective (OBC) is a registered charity that brings together open access book publishers, open publishing service providers, and knowledge institutions working in collaboration for a more sustainable and equitable future for open access books. Funding supports open access monograph publishing by the following presses (each participates in the Open Book Collective) and the Thoth Open Metadata platform :

Leuven University Press

University of London Press

University of Westminster Press

Thoth Open Metadata

Open Education Network (OEN) Membership: Funded for 2024

OEN (Open Education Network)is a not-for-profit started at the University of Minnesota to support open textbooks, and specifically the Open Textbook Library,OEN has expanded to become a community that “advances the use of open educational resources and practices” in “both vision and practice.”

Opening the Future: Funded for 2024

Support for OA eBook Publishing

The 2024 annual fee is fully funded for nine UC campuses, with DRM-free, unlimited access to the Liverpool University Press and Central European University Press backlists (the CEUP titles are hosted on the Project MUSE platform). UC campuses will receive perpetual access after three years of participation, in April/May 2025. The support enables both Liverpool University Press and CEUP to publish new frontlist books in OA format. The membership revenue is used only to produce new OA monographs, without requiring authors to find funding for book processing charges (BPCs).

Liverpool University Press Modern Languages Package (9 UCs, UCSF does not participate)

Central European University Press

CEUP Political Science Package (UCB, UCD, UCI, UCLA, UCR, UCSC)

CEUP History Package (UCM, UCSB)

CEUP Library Selection Package (UCSD)

SciPost: Funded for 2024

SciPostis a not-for-profit open repository publishing infrastructure, which includes innovations such as “peer-witnessed refereeing,” a form of open peer review. SciPost is managed by scientists. There are no author fees, and authors retain copyright when submitting for publication in SciPost.

The Society for Cultural Anthropology: Funded for 2024

CDL contributed to the 2024 Open Access Community Investment Program (OACIP) for Cultural Anthropology, a peer-reviewed Diamond open access journal that publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics.

Subscribe to Open

(New) International Water Association Publishing (IWAP) Subscribe to Open (S2O) and Gold OA

Ten IWAP S2O and four gold open access titles are funded in full in 2024 for 10 UC campuses:

IWAP: Subscribe to Open Title List

Aqua
Journal of Hydroinformatics
Journal of Water and Climate Change
Journal of Water and Health
Journal of Water, Sanitation and Hygiene for Development
Water Policy
Water Practice & Technology
Water Quality Research Journal
Water Science & Technology
Water Supply

IWAP: Gold Open Access Title List

Blue-Green Systems
H2Open Journal
Hydrology Research
Water Reuse (formerly Journal of Water Reuse & Desalination)

(New) Mathematical Sciences Publishers Journals Expanded Package (MPX), including five 2024 S2O Journals

Fully funded in 2024 for 10 UC campuses

The Mathematical Sciences Publishers (MSP) Expanded Package (MPX) title list follows, including perpetual electronic access to the articles in the year of the subscription.

MSP’s 2024 Subscribe to Open program includes five journals, with the anticipation to add more in future years:

Geometry & Topology

Algebraic & Geometric Topology
Algebra & Number Theory
Analysis & PDE
Pacific Journal of Mathematics

In addition to the five S2O journals listed above, the following journals are included in the 2024 MSP Expanded Package (MPX):

Algebraic Statistics
Annals of K-Theory
Communications in Applied Mathematics and Computational Science
Innovations in Incidence Geometry: Algebraic, Topological and Combinatorial
Involve, a Journal of Mathematics
Mathematics and Mechanics of Complex Systems
Moscow Journal of Combinatorics and Number Theory
Probability and Mathematical Physics
Pure and Applied Analysis
Tunisian Journal of Mathematics

The MIT Press / Direct to Open (D2O): Funded for 2024

The MIT Press’s D2O program met the annual funding goal for 2024, and will provide access to 79 new monographs and edited book collections freely accessible worldwide.

Secondary menu

UCB Library Strategic Collections Acquisitions: 2023-24 Acquisitions

About 2023-24 Acquisitions

Strategic Resources Acquired by the Library in FY2023-24

Strategic Resources Acquired by the California Digital Library (CDL) in FY2023-24

New and Continuing Open Access Investments by CDL