Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.

African American Studies: Collection

Collection Overview

UC Berkeley's African American Studies collections are concentrated in the humanities and social sciences.

Location of print collections:

Specialized materials in other campus libraries:

Archives of significant African Americans and organizations, such as the NAACP and CORE, are owned in microfilm in the Newspapers & Microforms Library. A list can be found under the Microforms Collection tab.

Giving to the Library

African American Studies collections at UC Berkeley are one of the strongest in the nation. The collection supports research throughout the campus including the Africana Ph.D. program in the Department of African American Studies.  Your help will insure this fine collection continues to grow and support African American Studies at Berkeley.

How to Give
The Library's Development Office explains the various ways donors can give to the Library. Note that donations made through the online form can not specifically be designated for the African American Studies Collection. 

Purchase Recommendation

What books do you need for your research? Use the Purchase Recommendation form to submit your suggestion.