African American Studies: Historical Primary Sources by Topic

Library of Congress online exhibit on African American history from slavery to the Civil Rights era. Includes books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, recordings, and more.

Includes two collections: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909. Most were written by African-American authors, though some were written by others on topics of particular importance in African-American history.

The Amistad Research Center is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.

Offers specialized reference and archival collections dedicated to the study and research of African American culture and history and of other peoples of African descent.

Serves as a portal to its members' holdings of materials that document African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics, with a special focus on materials relating to Chicago.

Repository for African and African American studies documentation housed at Duke University. Some collections materials related to Black history and culture have been digitzed and are available in the Duke Digital Collections.

Recognized as one of the world's largest and most comprehensive repositories for the documentation of the history and culture of people of African descent in Africa, the Americas, and other parts of the world. As one of Howard University's major research facilities, the MSRC collects, preserves, and makes available for research a wide range of resources chronicling the Black experience.

The only national museum devoted exclusively to the history and culture of African American life. The collection, totalling nearly 37,000 items, contains historical artifacts, documents, photography, and media.

A national research library devoted to collecting, preserving, and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world. The Schomburg Center provides access to and professional reference assistance in the use of its collections to the scholarly community and the general public through five research divisions, each managing materials in specific formats but with broad subject focus. The center's collections include art objects, audio and video tapes, books, manuscripts, motion pictures, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, prints, recorded music discs, and sheet music.

An aggregated search tool that provides access to archival records from more than 1000 libraries.