More than 1800 funeral service programs dating from the 1960s to the present collected by the African American Department of the Enoch Pratt Free Library / State Library Resource Center in Baltimore, Maryland.
The over 1,000 programs in this collection highlight the lives of those who have passed away since 1935 in the African American community of Bexar County.
Microfilmed collection held at UCLA consisting of newspaper clippings, photographs, publicity material, posters, correspondence, and business records related to early Black film companies, Black films, films with Black casts, and Black musicians, sports figures, and entertainers.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community.
Includes pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, which reveal the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.
Black Thought and Culture contains approximately 100,000 pages of nonfiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, veterans, entertainers, and others—covering 250 years of history.
In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts. The ideas of nearly 100 people present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America. The collection includes the words of hundreds of notable people. Important items include: a full run of The Black Panther newspaper; 2,500 pages of exclusive Black Panther oral histories owned by the Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation; and the full run of Artist and Influence, originally published by the Hatch-Billops Collection. Includes brief biographical information for all authors.
A multimedia platform that brings a spotlight to the Black experience. Through an evolving visual exploration, Black Archives provides a dynamic accessibility to a Black past, present, and future.
Full text of plays by hundreds of black playwrights, as well as information on related productions, theaters, production companies, selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. [1850 - present]
Contains almost 1,500 plays by more than 200 playwrights. Includes information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. The plays have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of James V. Hatch, co-author with Errol G. Hill of A History of African American Theatre. Complements the other Alexander Street Press database Black Drama,(first edition).
Contains fiction, poetry, book reviews, and literary notices originally published in 900 black periodicals and newspapers. The index to this collection is the Black Literature Index, which is part of the Black Studies Center database.
