African American Studies: Civil Rights

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Papers.
A Guide is included for this collection.This massive collection consists of sometwenty-eight sections, many with supplemental files, organized by subject. Here is a list of all available NAACP files on microfilmin the Periodicals and Newspaper/Microform Room in the basement of Doe Library.

Provides digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.

More than 100 manuscript collections documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964. In them you will find official records of organizations such as the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and Congress of Racial Equality (CORE); the personal papers of movement leaders and activists such as Amzie Moore, Mary King and Howard Zinn, letters and diaries of northern college students who went South to volunteer for the summer; newsletters produced in Freedom Schools; racist propaganda, newspaper clippings, pamphlets and brochures, magazine articles, telephone call logs, candid snapshots, internal memos, press releases and much more.

Collections focus on documents relating to events that occurred during the civil rights struggle of the 1950s and 1960s in Birmingham and throughout the United States.

Features records from civil rights groups such as the Southern Christian Leadership Conference and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, along with personal papers of leaders like Bayard Rustin. Documents focus on strategies, activism, and the broader fight for civil rights in the U.S.

Extends the collection of civil rights organizational records and personal papers, featuring additional
materials from leaders and groups that shaped the Black freedom movement.

Contains documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case up to the present

Publications, video, oral histories, and more documenting the civil rights movement

Archival resources documenting the modern civil rights era in Greensboro, North Carolina, from the 1940s to the early 1980s.

Filmed oral history interviews of people involved in the movement.

Includes a selection of digitized photographs, letters, diaries, and other documents. Oral history transcripts are also available, as well as finding aids for manuscript collections.

Photographs, unedited news film footage, text documents, and oral history interviews illustrating the history of civil rights in Milwaukee

Approximately 750 interview transcripts focused on the civil rights movement in Mississippi.

Features records documenting the leadership of Reverend J.H. Jackson within the National Baptist Convention. Topics include the Convention’s role in civil rights advocacy, religious education, and addressing racial inequality. The collection highlights Jackson’s efforts to navigate tensions between activism and traditional religious values within the Black church.

Ongoing digital oral and public history project that narrates the unique history of Starkville, Mississippi's civil rights struggle.

The site combines narrative with hundreds of videos and documents to tell the story of one of America's most influential black freedom movement organizations.