Library Guides: History: United Kingdom &amp; Ireland: Foreign Office Files

Foreign Office records from 1782

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980 This link opens in a new window
Makes available British government files from various Foreign Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. Includes letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activist biographies and first-hand accounts.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the British Foreign Office files on the apartheid Governments of South Africa from 1948 onward. These formerly restricted documents, sourced from The National Archives, UK, provide unprecedented levels of detail, with in-depth analysis of events, international reaction and policy dilemmas, accompanied by numerous first-hand accounts and reports.

Arabian Gulf Digital Archive
Archive of documents collected by the National Archives of the United Arab Emirates that are of historical value to the UAE, Gulf Cooperation Council states, and the Arabian Peninsula.

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 This link opens in a new window
Full-text of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses, and maps from the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices relating to Africa, the Americas, and the Middle East. [1834 - 1966]
From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence, the documents in this resource cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent. The resource also includes a gallery of maps. Part of a larger series of documents issued by the British Government. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of The Confidential Print series, issued by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices. This series covers papers related to South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the Cold War in the 1960s. [1833 - 1969]
"Covers the South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the Cold War in the 1960s. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics. The series originated out of a need for the Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one-page letters or telegrams; others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.
Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of The Confidential Print series, issued by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices. This series covers the Middle East, c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. [1812-1957]
Covers such events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked "Confidential Print" were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These historical documents inform the volatile situation in the region today.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961 This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of Great Britain's Foreign and Colonial Offices' entire Confidential Print series relating to the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America.
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. Topics covered include slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 This link opens in a new window
All British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980, covering important historical events in modern Chinese history.
These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history. Historical events covered include the Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis, Japanese war, the seeds of communist victory, the Communist revolution, the Great Leap Forward, and the Cultural Revolution.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 This link opens in a new window
British Government files on South Asia for the period between 1947 and 1980.
Sourced from the British Foreign Office files, this resource covers the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in this period with additional content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions. Other files look at the impact on United Kingdom, US and European trade, industrial policy, education and the media. Includes variety of material: diplomatic dispatches, telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, leaflets, letters, and other ephemera.
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text searchable access to formerly restricted top level discussions and correspondence from the British Embassy and consulate in Japan. Access is available for all three modules.
Includes memoranda, reports, minute sheets and correspondence, along with detailed assessments of key events, speeches, maps, and topics of special interest. Includes Japan-specific files from the FO 371 and FO 262 series and is supplemented by files from the Western and American Department papers in FO 371.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 This link opens in a new window
Includes British Government files on the Middle East covering 1971-1981.
Sourced from the British Foreign Office files located at the National Archives, UK, this resource will include complete runs of Foreign and Commonwealth Office files from the Arabian and Middle East Department (FCO 8), The Southern European Department (FCO 9), the Eastern Department (FCO 17), the North and East African Department (FCO 39) and the Near East and North Africa Department (FCO 93), and is augmented by selections from the Prime Minister’s Office files (PREM) and Defence Intelligence files (DEFE).

Hertslet's commercial treaties
Call Number: JX636 .1827a NRLF
Also available online through Hein Online World Treaty Library.

The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 This link opens in a new window
The complete UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) 7 and 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon's presidency.
Top-level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate these papers. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment. Includes strong primary source coverage of US policy decisions by the FCO and the British embassy in Washington; White House staff appointments and UN discussions; views on Europe; the deployment of F-111 aircraft on US airbases in the UK and Nixon's battles over funding from Congress; visits to the US by Harold Wilson and Edward Heath; and the internal situation in the US and domestic reform.

1812/14 - 1977 British and Foreign State papers Main (Gardner) Stacks JX103 .A3 Bound 1(1812/14)-169(1967/68) and online at HeinOnline. Includes principal documents relating to the political and commercial affairs of nations and their relations with each other. It also contains texts of international treaties, constitutions, and other diplomatic documents such as statements, speeches, declarations, protocols and other communications relevant for international relations.

British Documents on Foreign Affairs -- Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential print

Part I, from the mid-nineteenth Century to the First World War

Series A, Russia, 1859-1915 NRLF (UCB) JX632.B74 1983 (6 volumes)
Series B, The Near and Middle East, 1856-1914 Main (Gardner) Stacks JX632 .B745 1984 (20 volumes)
Series D, Latin America, 1845-1914 Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B744 1991 (9 volumes)
Series E, Asia, 1860-1914 Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B745 1989 (30 volumes)
Series G, Africa, 1848-1914 Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B747 1995 (25 volumes)

Part II, from the First to the Second World War

Series A, the Soviet Union, 1917-1939 NRLF (UCB) DK266.A3 B68 1984 (17 volumes)
Series B, Turkey, Iran, and the Middle East, 1918-1939 Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B752 1985 (35 volumes)
Series D, Latin America, 1914-1939 Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B7645 1989 (20 volumes)
Series F, Europe, 1919-1939 Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B756 1990 (67 volumes)
Series G, Africa, 1914-1939 Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B757 1994 (30 volumes)
Series H, The First World War, 1914-1918 Main (Gardner) Stacks D621.G7 B75 1989 (12 volumes)

Part III, from 1940 through 1945

Series A, the Soviet Union and Finland Main (Gardner) Stacks JX632 .B7762 1997 (6 volumes)
Series B, Near and Middle East Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B762 1997 (10 volumes)
Series C, North America Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B763 1999 (5 volumes)
Series D, Latin America Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B7658 1998 (11 volumes)
Series E, Asia Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B765 1997 (8 volumes)
Series F, Europe Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B766 1997 (26 volumes)
Series G, Africa Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B767 1998 (5 volumes)
Series L, World War II and General Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B7694 1998 (5 volumes)

Part IV, from 1946 through 1950

Series B, Near and Middle East Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B772 1999 (10 volumes)
S eries D, Latin America Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B774 2000 (8 volumes)
Series E, Asia Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B775 2000 (11 volumes) Online at HathiTrust
Series G, Africa Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B777 2000 (5 volumes)

Part V, from 1951 through 1956

Series D, Latin America Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B77964 2005 (6 volumes)
Series G, Africa Main (Gardner) Stacks JZ632 .B77967 2005 (7 volumes)

---------------------------------------------------------

The following resources are selections of documents (mostly general correspondence) covering the build up to the First and Second World Wars and the Cold War.

British Documents on the Origins of the War, 1898-1914 Main (Gardner) Stacks D505 .G68 (11 volumes)

Online at HathiTrust here and here

Documents on British Foreign Policy, 1919-1939 Main (Gardner) Stacks and NRLF (UCB) DA566.7 .A18 (62 volumes)

Documents on British Policy Overseas Main (Gardner) Stacks and NRLF (UCB) DA588 .D63 1984

--------------------------------------------------------------

Additional resources

British Diplomacy with America and Ireland, an Ambassador's Letters, 1909-1962 (BOA)
A British ambassador to Washington from 1917 until 1918, Arthur C. Murray served as the Assistant Military Attaché to the British Embassy. While Murray worked with Franklin Roosevelt the two men became close friends. They continued writing to each other until Roosevelt's death in 1945. The Murray- Roosevelt letters reveal how the President's foreign policy evolved prior to World War Two.
British Diplomacy from the Unification of Germany to the Spanish Civil War, 1863-1939 (BOA)
This collection contains extensive material collected over the life of influential British diplomat Esmé Howard. This includes a plethora of personal correspondence with important figures, further correspondence, memorandum, and other material from his many diplomatic occupations, his personal diaries, and files documenting his personal estate.

Guides and Indices

The National Archives (UK) provides two searchable indices to Foreign office correspondence:

Index to the Correspondence of the Foreign Office for the Year ... Main (Gardner) Stacks JX631.A12 A3

1920-1924 Online at HathiTrust

A guide to researching FCO history
Downloadable guide prepared by the Foreign & Commonwealth office.

Ireland

Documents on Irish Foreign Policy
A public history programme for the study of modern Irish history through diplomacy. DIFP aims to make the history of Irish foreign policy accessible to all.

Secondary menu

History: United Kingdom & Ireland: Foreign Office Files

Foreign Office records from 1782

Guides and Indices

Ireland