Downloadable full-text versions of a series of books containing materials from the the U.K. National Archives. The volumes locate and analyze key documentation that charted shifts in the political, social, and economic policies of British officials, both at home and in the colonies.
Digitized collection of original manuscript and printed documents from around the world to support research in the field of colonial and empire studies. [1492-1962]
Includes 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents to support study and research in the field of colonial and empire studies. Five sections include: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c. 1607-1969. In addition to original documents, this database contains scholarly essays and analysis.
Digitized collection of original manuscript and printed documents from around the world to support the study of fifteen major commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Provides original sources materials to help explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. The commodities include: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Digitized archive that documents the relationships among early North American peoples and the environment.
Includes prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimile pages documenting the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America. Focuses on personal accounts and providing unique perspectives from all the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, Native Americans as well as a wide range of Europeans.
This collection covers the Viceroys of both Lord Curzon and Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound in the British Raj between the period of 1899 and 1910. Lord Curzon’s premiership largely contextualises the bulk of the files that pertain to Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound’s own rule. The collection contains departmental papers from both men’s ascendency, giving a vital and fascinating look at infrastructure, the military, commerce and industry, foreign affairs, health, and internal security and governance in the British Raj.
This is a digital archive of the India Office Records on the East India Company from its inception until it dissolution. [1600-1947]
The East India Company Archive is a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Consisting of royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and all other areas the Company was active in from 1600 to 1947.
The First Earl of Minto, Sir Gilbert Elliot Murray Kynynmound, served as Governor-General of India from 1806-1813. This collection is drawn from his personal papers during his time as premier of the East India Company (EIC), with extensive correspondence with other officials, papers from the political department, papers from the secret department, and files pertaining to his time as President of the Board of Control.
First-hand accounts from journals and diaries document the foundation of the East India Company and the independence of India.
The resource consists of the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland relating to South Asian history between 1615 and 1947 and cover material on India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Malaysia, and Singapore. Types of resources include diaries, journals, private as well as official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, and other original documents related to Indian history and literature. Sources include the East India Company, government documents, and papers of British military officers and civil servants in India.
On 20 March 1929, thirty-one people, suspected of either communist or trades unionist affiliations, were arrested across India. Drawn from the British Library, Labour History Archive & Study Centre and Working Class Movement Library, the documents in this collection bring together an array of differing, and balanced, perspectives on both the trial itself as well as its consequences for British imperialism.
A collection of interviews conducted in the 1970s and 1980s with both Indian and British people describing their experiences of life in British India, the events leading up to independence in 1947 and the early years of independent India and Pakistan.