History: United Kingdom & Ireland: Images & Maps

Historic maps from the UK's National Maritime Museum

Over 1200 maps of London dating from 1570 to 1860

The Topographical Collection of George III contains drawn and printed maps, views and atlases produced between 1500 and 1824.

Over 20,000 maps of Scotland

An online collection of over 400,000 maps from a number of international institutions.

A Vision of Britain through Time brings together historical surveys of Britain to create a record of how the country and its localities have changed.

Photographs provide comprehensive documentation of people and life in the North of Ireland beginning in the 1970’s through circa 2007

Over 30,000 items from the diverse collection of the British Library

The approximately 9,000 prints (approximately 8,500 distinct images) in the collection highlight British political life, society, fashion, manners, and theater. They were published primarily between 1780 and 1830.

Search for images from hundreds of British libraries & museums

Historic photographs, maps and other images from the British Library; preview images available; higher quality ones are for sale

This project, undertaken from 1908 to 1931 to photograph human cultures around the world, resulted in 183,000 meters of film and 72,000 color photographs from 50 countries. The collection is now housed at the the Musée Albert-Kahn, and most of the images are available online.

Collection of almost 80,000 historic photographs of Manchester and vicinity

Over 60,000 images of West Yorkshire

More than 50,000 images of Leeds and vicinity

Approximately 20,000 historic photographs

Maps and images of County Durham

Thousands of images

The Visual Arts Data Service includes over 100,000 images of British art, material culture and history

Over 6,000 historic photographs of Glasgow