All 18th century entertainment ephemera in the John Johnson Collection - Playbills, handbills, news cuttings and prints taken from the following sections: Theatre; London Play Places; Animals on Show; Circuses; Concerts; Dioramas; Entertainment folders; Exhibitions; Human Freaks; Magic and Mystery; Museums and Waxworks.
Search tool that helps you discover content related to 18th century American and British literature and culture, located in both freely available digital projects and commercial produced databases.
Items published in Great Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. (18th Century Collections Online - 18th Century Collection Online - Eighteenth Century Collection Online) [1700-1800]
Contains over 180,000 items published in Great Britain and its colonies, including those in North America, during the 18th Century. This database complements the materials found in Early English Books Online (EEBO), which covers 1475-1700. The resource is thus a rich source of information about the American and French Revolutions and the Age of Reason, scientific and medical advances, literature, law, religion, industry, and all aspects of 18th Century life in Britain and its colonies.
Correspondence between 18th century thinkers, writers and their friends and families.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
Full text of important and often rare journals printed between the late seventeenth and early nineteenth centuries in Great Britain. (18th Century Journals - Eighteenth Century Journals I Online - Eighteenth Century Journals II Online - Eighteenth Century Journals Portal) [1680-1835]
The collections cover all aspects of British life including history, science, music, society, literature and theater. There is minimal overlap with EEBO, Early English Newspapers and ECCO. Contains material from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library which includes 95 rare journals printed between 1693 and 1799. Also contains materials from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center which houses 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals. (18th Century Journals - Eighteenth Century Journals I Online - Eighteenth Century Journals II Online - Eighteenth Century Journals Portal)
Brings together in one searchable database letters, diaries, printed guidebooks, travel writing, maps, paintings and architectural plans relating to the experiences of people participating in the Grand Tour.
This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. Provides information on daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex. The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent. There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning.
First-hand accounts from journals and diaries document the foundation of the East India Company and the independence of India.
The resource consists of the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland relating to South Asian history between 1615 and 1947 and cover material on India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Malaysia, and Singapore. Types of resources include diaries, journals, private as well as official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, and other original documents related to Indian history and literature. Sources include the East India Company, government documents, and papers of British military officers and civil servants in India.
Digital collection of fiction, cartoons, maps, posters, ballads, advertisements, broadsides, and reform literature relevant to the social history of London from 1800 to 1910.
Sourced from the Lilly Library at the University of Indiana (Bloomington), the resources includes digitized material from important collections relating to life in the London: Michael Sadleir's Ephemera, Chapbooks, the Virginia Warren Collection of Old Street Cries, Rare Books, Periodicals, Tallis's Street Views, London Maps and George Gissing's scrapbook from the Pforzheimer Collection. Coverage extends from the 18th-20th centuries, but the bulk of the content is from the 19th century.
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and more than 21,000 works. [1800 - 1926]. Access courtesy of the Law Library.
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and over 21,000 works.
