Library Guides: Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: Data

Sources of Data and Statistics

Sage Data
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)

Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
PolicyMap
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.

PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.

Data Sources
A multidisciplinary selection of databases containing data and statistics.
Text and Data Mining
Texts and data for your TDM research.
Climate Data
List of climate data resources maintained by UCB's Earth Sciences Library.
Health Statistics and Data
National and international data; compiled by UCB's Public Health librarian.
Bioinformatics
Guide to Bioinformatics resources and training.
Energy and Resources: Data
Sources for energy and water data.
Agriculture: Data
Data sources for agriculture and related topics.
Data Rescue Project
Clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data.
IPUMS
Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

UC Berkeley Library’s Dataverse
This resource is an access point for dataset in the UC Berkeley Library. It is particularly strong in Business and Management and Social Sciences. It also contains resources for science and engineering as well as the arts and humanities. Includes datasets that have been acquired and licensed by the library for use by UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab students, faculty, and staff
The UC Berkeley Library Dataverse is managed and maintained by the Library Data Services Program and Library IT. UC Berkeley's Dataverse was deployed using the Dataverse application, an open-source repository software for archiving, sharing, and accessing data developed by the Institute of Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard University.

Text and Data Mining

See the Text Mining & Computational Text Analysis Guide and "Before you scrape and before you train" for information on what Library-licensed resources are available for text and data mining (TDM) or AI model training and what you should consider before scraping data or training models. Send any questions to tdm-access@berkeley.edu.

Data Services & Tools

GIS
The Earth Sciences & Map Library supports geographic information system (GIS) software and data services across all disciplines for the UC Berkeley campus. The library collects GIS data for areas around the world, with an emphasis on the San Francisco Bay Area and northern California.

ArcGIS Online
User-friendly, powerful cloud-based mapping software for creating web maps and performing analysis. Includes access to ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World and premium content, including demographic, environmental, and imagery data.

ArcGIS Online enables users to build interactive maps, create web-based apps, and perform spatial analysis in browser-based software. UC Berkeley users have access to a wide range of content including imagery, basemaps, demographics and lifestyle, landscape, boundaries and places, transportation, earth observations, urban systems, oceans, and historical maps that can be combined with users' own data to create maps, scenes, and apps and perform analysis. ArcGIS Online also includes tools for geocoding, geoenrichment, network analysis, and spatial analysis. UC Berkeley affiliates may log in with their Calnet credentials for full access at https://cal.maps.arcgis.com
GeoData@UC Berkeley
Geospatial data in both vector and raster formats including GIS data and scanned maps.

GeoData@UC Berkeley is the library's geoportal. It allows users to search for and download geospatial data collected by the UC Berkeley Library and partner institutions for a wide range of topics including transportation, land use, boundaries, demographics, agriculture, natural resources, and more. The geoportal includes vector and raster GIS data and scanned maps. Users can search both geographically and using a text-based search. Some data is restricted to UC Berkeley access only.

Geospatial Innovation Facility (GIF)
Part of CNR, GIF offers workshops, office hours, online trainings and more on GIS. They also facilitate free UCB access to ArcGIS.
D-Lab
Training and consulting on data analysis software and methods, and access services for restricted use data.
Berkeley Research Data Portal
Portal for data infrastructure, tools, and services across UCB.

Research Data Management Support

See researchdata.berkeley.edu for more information.

Data Repositories

re3data
Registry of research data repositories that can be searched or browsed for particular subjects.
Dryad
Open-source, research data curation and publication platform; UC Berkeley is an institutional member, so UCB researchers can publish and archive their data at no cost.

More Research Help

Research Methods--Quantitative, Qualitative, and More
Guide to research method resources.
Open Science
A guide to Open Science at Berkeley.

OSF Institutions
The Open Science Framework (OSF) supports and enables reproducible open science as a platform for research outputs including preprints; registrations and preregistrations; and project sites to host project plans, results and associated files.

Statistics Department Consulting Service
Statistics advice is available as you design your research and analyze the results.
Data Visualization Guide
Best practices and resources for visualizing data.

Secondary menu