Library Guides: Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: Books, eBooks, Reports

eBooks

Use UC Library Search to search for eBooks on a particular topic, or browse one of the eBook collections below. To learn how to navigate the different eBook platforms, see these instructions.

Many popular non-fiction and fiction titles are available as e-books and audiobooks on Overdrive.

ACSESS Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, journals, trade magazines, news, and more from The Alliance of Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science Societies.
ACSESS was created by and is composed of the American Society of Agronomy, the Crop Science Society of America, and the Soil Science Society of America.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) offers literature on biodiversity through open access as part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL has digitized taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and >100,000 volumes.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” Founded in 2005, it is a cornerstone organization of the Encyclopedia of Life.
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
"Access to encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more."
"Content reflects the interdisciplinary nature, and resources for studying food, in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
Includes: Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, the Cambridge World History of Food, Bloomsbury’s Cultural History of Food and chapters from Food History: Critical and Primary Source. Image collections including the Culinary Arts Museum, USA and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA."
CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on agriculture and the applied life sciences from CAB International. [2000-present].
This collection is divided into six subject areas: Agriculture; Animal & Veterinary Sciences; Human Health & Nutrition; Plant Sciences; Environmental Science; and Leisure & Tourism.

Cambridge Books Online
Access to selected Cambridge University Press e-books in the sciences, engineering and social sciences.

Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Primary archival materials, visual ephemera, text, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Content includes food labels, advertisements, documentary films, pamphlets, recipes, menus, books, photographs, and more.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections such as UC Berkeley. Titles out of copyright are available in full.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Publishes reports by the National Academy of Sciences on science and science policy. Topics include agriculture, biology, computers, energy, the environment, engineering, food, medicine and health, space, social sciences, transportation, and more.
Includes more than 3000 free, online books. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets and an interactive Health data database. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories. Includes data from 1983 to the present. (source oecd)
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A database containing hundreds of e-books published by Oxford University Press in the areas of Biology, Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Politics , Psychology, Public Health, Religion, and Mathematics.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook platform with access to hundreds academic publishers. The individual ebooks in this collection are also listed in UC Library Search.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of academic ebooks, encyclopedias, handbooks, and more with an emphasis in the sciences.
Springer Electronic Book Package This link opens in a new window
Full-text Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.
Includes nearly 20,000 Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences, including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science/Psychology, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, and more.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of books and handbooks in bioscience, engineering, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, statistics, social sciences, and other fields from Taylor & Francis including their CRC Press and Routledge imprints. Formerly ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and similar collections.
Water Intelligence Online This link opens in a new window
Digital reference library from the International Water Association.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, ebooks, reference works, and laboratory protocols and databases.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley

UCB Faculty, Staff, and Students:

Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) Request books, articles, and other materials not available at UC Berkeley.

Non-UCB Borrowers:

See UCB Library's information on interlibrary lending and duplication services.

Recommend a Purchase:

Use this form to recommend purchases (books, etc.) or subscriptions.

UC Library Search

UC Library Search is the University of California's unified discovery and borrowing system.

Access it directly or from the Library homepage to find most UC books, articles, media, archival collections, and more.

See the UC Library Search User Guide and ask for research help 24/7 for more information.

Government Reports (U.S.)

You can find reports and other 'grey literature' using many of the databases listed in the Articles tab. Here are some other sources for government reports:

Document Library [California Department of Fish and Wildlife]
EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications [Environmental Protection Agency]
Treesearch [USDA Forest Service Research & Development publications]
USGS Publications Warehouse [U.S. Geological Survey]

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for technical reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and other government agencies.
NTRL is the gateway to indexes, abstracts, and technical reports of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). The NTIS archives reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and others.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Search across federal science agency publications; includes Energy Citations Database, NASA Technical Report Server, USGS Publications Warehouse, etc.
A collaborative effort of 12 federal science agencies, this site serves as a gateway to more than 1800 scientific web sites. The site allows metasearching of free full-text and bibliographic databases such as Energy Citations Database, NASA Technical Report Server, NTIS, PubMed, Agricola, USGS Publications Warehouse, etc.
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive & Image Library) This link opens in a new window
U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by the TRAIL project.

Find Reports and Information from Government, IGOs, NGOs, and Think Tanks

Government Information

Other librarians at UCB have created these helpful Guides to Finding Government Information.

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) Information

Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of IGO websites

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) Information

Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of NGO sites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from curated lists.

Search Think Tanks and Research Centers

Link to a Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.

Using Google More Effectively

Advanced Google Searching
Tips and tricks on how to use advanced search features in Google, special google searches, Google tools, and more!

Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).

Browse catalog records for ESPM dissertations

Secondary menu

Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: Books, eBooks, Reports