Skip to main content

Art History: Arts and Visual Collections at Berkeley

Arts and Visual Collections at Berkeley

Art History/Classics Library Fine Arts Collections http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/art-history-classics-library

The Fine Arts Collections number over 180,000 volumes. Collections are located in the Art History/Classics Library, Doe Library, Main (Gardner) Stacks and off-site at the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF) and directly support programs in Art History, Art Practice, Classics, and Ancient History and Mediterranean Archaeology.

ahc-library@berkeley.edu
Bancroft Library Pictorial Collections

http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/bancroft-library/pictorial-collection

Oskicat: set limits to Pictures & Graphics (and, optionally, Bancroft Library)

9.5 million original images comprise the Bancroft Pictorial Collections, chiefly documenting California, the American West, and Mexico. Photographs dominate, and range from gold rush daguerreotypes and landscape photographs by major photographers (Timothy O'Sullivan, Carleton Watkins, Eadweard Muybridge, Désiré Charnay, Ansel Adams) to large negative archives of 20th century photojournalism. Also found at Bancroft are oil paintings, prints, drawings, and sketchbooks dating from Pacific voyages of the late 18th century onward, to prints by contemporary artists of the Bay Area and Mexico. Bancroft also holds personal papers of many California artists, some with photographs documenting their lives (e.g. William Keith, Douglas Tilden, Bruce Conner, Joan Brown.) Rare and unique imagery beyond the scope of western North America is also found, such as 19th century views of classical antiquities from the Norman Neuerburg collection, and early photographs of China and Japan from the papers of diplomat Eli T. Sheppard.

 

bancref@library.berkeley.edu
California Digital Library, Calisphere

https://calisphere.org/

Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. The collections on Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.

 
Earth Sciences & Map Library

http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/earth-sciences-library

http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/maps

The Earth Sciences and Map Library has one of the largest map collections in California, with over 470,000 maps and air photos issued by local, state, and federal agencies, foreign governments, international organizations, and commercial firms. Our collection emphasizes California and the nine counties of the San Francisco Bay Area and the counties of northern California, but also includes extensive U.S. and global topographic mapping at various scales; geologic, highway, and other thematic maps; national and thematic atlases; and worldwide nautical charts. Maps are predominantly from the 20th Century and later, with significant holdings of reproductions and facsimiles of earlier maps. In addition to geographic breadth and maps covering a range of scales--from city plans to world maps and beyond--our collection also contains a rich variety of cartographic styles. Most maps in the collection may be checked out as circulating items and we offer a large-format scanning service for a nominal fee.

 
Environmental Design Archives http://archives.ced.berkeley.edu/

The Environmental Design Archives is committed to raising awareness of the significant architectural and landscape heritage of Northern California and beyond through collecting, preserving, and providing access to the primary records of the built environment of the region and landscaped environment of the world. The work of most of the San Francisco Bay Region's historically significant architects and landscape architects are represented in the collections of more than 200 architects and firms. These collections contain drawings, plans, specifications, photographs, audio-tapes, personal papers, business records, furniture, art, models, and artifacts. The Environmental Design Archives provides primary source material for scholarly research, teaching support, preservation, and public service, and actively encourages and promotes the use of its collections.

designarchives@berkeley.edu

Environmental Design Library Artists' Book Collection

http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/hands-on/all

https://library.artstor.org/#/collection/100038607

ENVI's Artists' Book Collection consists of 300 works related to architecture, landscape architecture and the urban environment. It includes work from a wide variety of artists including Julie Chen, Rebecca Goodale, Edward Ruscha, and Art Hazelwood as well as works by current and former students from Berkeley's College of Environmental Design. The LIbrary regularly makes the collection available for public events and it can be readily requested at the Environmental Design Library reference desk. deifler@berkeley.edu
Graphic Arts Loan Collection at the Morrison Library http://galc.lib.berkeley.edu/ The Graphic Arts Loan Collection (GALC) at the Morrison Library is a collection of framed original art that includes lithographs, etchings, woodblock prints, and paintings. The GALC was created in 1958 by Professor Herwin Schaefer, who believed the best way to foster an appreciation of art was for students to live with actual art. He thought the University should assemble a collection of works touched by the hand of the artist and make them available to students, which would support a meaningful extension of the university's art teaching program. These prints are available for loan to students, faculty and staff of the Berkeley campus. Patrons may check-out up to two prints each academic year beginning with the Fall semester. graphicarts-library@berkeley.edu
Media Resources Center http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/mrcvault The Media Resources Center (MRC) is the UC Berkeley Library's primary collection of materials in audio and visual formats, including DVDs, videocassettes, streamed audio and video, compact audio discs, and audiocassettes. The MRC permanent collection comprises materials in a wide range of subject fields, with emphasis on titles with broad interdisciplinary interest and resources used in instruction on the UC Berkeley campus. The collection includes documentaries and feature films; dramatic performances; literary adaptations; speeches; lectures and events; and primary source recordings, such as historic TV commercials and newsreels. The MRC is home to one of the strongest collections of works by independent film and video makers in the US avmccirc@library.berkeley.edu
Reva and David Logan Collection of Photographic Books at the Bancroft Library http://exhibits.lib.berkeley.edu/spotlight/logan-collection-of-photographic-books/feature/the-collection The Logan Collection at the Bancroft Library is composed of nearly 1500 books and periodicals about photography in all of its forms. Amassed by Reva and David Logan over the course of five decades, the Collection is particularly strong in rare early photography manuals, Pictorialism, works on or about Alfred Stieglitz and his photographic predecessors and successors, twentieth-century Modernism (including the f64 group), and documentary and photojournalism. Items from the Collection may be paged through Aeon (aeon.berkeley.edu) and viewed in the reading room at Bancroft. chultlew@berkeley.edu
UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA) Art Study Centers (Helzel Works on Paper + Cahill Asian Art + Leiber Conceptual Art) https://bampfa.org/about/bampfa-collection Of BAMPFA's 20,000+works of art, almost 16,000 are available for viewing by appointment for class use and researchers in the 3 art study centers on the lower level of the museum: the Helzel Works on Paper Study Center, the Cahill Asian Art Study Center, and the Leiber Conceptual Art Study Center. Frequently requested items include 19th- and 20th-century photography; prints by Dürer, Rembrandt, Hogarth, and Piranesi; Japanese woodblock prints; Indian miniatures; Chinese and Japanese hanging scrolls and albums; nearly 600 artist's books; and materials from the archives of Theresa Hak Kyung Cha, Ant Farm, and Tom Marioni's Museum of Conceptual Art. The Helzel WoPSC also holds the artist/object files documenting the BAMPFA art collection, which are available for research use. kimura4@berkeley.edu
UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA) Film Library and Study Center

https://bampfa.org/about/film-library-study-center

-or-

http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/bampfa-library.

Restrict searches in Oskicat to location Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive.

In addition to providing on-site research access by appointment to the more than 14,000 films and videos in the BAMPFA collection, the BAMPFA Film Library and Study Center also makes a wide range of film-related materials available to the public for research purposes. Its collections include more than 8,000 books, 150 journal titles, 7,500 posters, 35,000 stills, and 1,500 audio recordings of filmmakers who have appeared at the Pacific Film Archive, as well as screenplays, international film festival programs, and distributors’ catalogs. The library’s largest and most heavily used collection comprises some 95,000 documentation files containing film reviews, press kits, and articles on filmmakers, performers, national cinemas, genres, and other topics. Some materials from the documentation files are available online through CineFiles, BAMPFA’s film-related document database. bampfafilmlibrary@berkeley.edu
Visual Resources Center, College of Environmental Design
https://ced.berkeley.edu/research/visual-resources-center/ The Visual Resources Center is a library of teaching and research images, primarily serving the College of Environmental Design at the University of California, Berkeley. We hold over 82,000 digital images, over 300,000 35mm slides, and 37,000 lantern slides depicting architecture, landscapes, cities, and related material. cedvisualresources@berkeley.edu
Visual Resources Center, History of Art Department

http://arthistory.berkeley.edu/resources/about-the-vrc/

 

VRC collection is searchable via the Artstor Digital Library

The Visual Resources Center maintains a continually expanding online collection of visual media representing the History of Art Department's teaching and research strengths, in addition to encyclopedic coverage of art, architecture, and visual culture from prehistory to the present across major geographic regions, chronological periods, and artistic traditions.

Access to the VRC Collection is via the Artstor Digital Library platform, alongside Artstor's own digital media collections, featuring more than two million images from collections around the world.

vrc@berkeley.edu
       

 

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.