Never miss a library workshop or event by signing up for our mailing list, distributed monthly.
Brian Quigley
Head, EPS Division;
Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science
Lisa Ngo
Engineering
Susan Powell
Maps, GIS, and Geography
Anna Sackmann
Science Data and Engineering
Samantha Teplitzky
Physics, Astronomy and Earth Science
samteplitzky@berkeley.edu
IOP ebooks Release 6 includes 95 ebooks from two series (Concise Physics and Expanding Physics).
Elsevier and alternative access options - as you may have heard, we are currently at an impasse in our contract negotiations with Elsevier and do not have access to their 2019 journal content. You can read more about it in the Library News story about the Elsevier negotiations and consult our alternative access guide to learn how to obtain Elsevier articles.
Cambridge open access publishing agreement - on the other hand, UC was able to successfully negotiate a transformative open access publishing agreement with Cambridge University Press. As a result, we will have full and permanent access to Cambridge journals, and open access publishing in their journals will be available to authors across the UC’s 10 campuses. Read more in the Library News story about the Cambridge agreement.
Inspec Analytics - tool for analyzing research outputs and collaborations in physics and engineering based on organization or subject classification. The tool uses Inspec data for analysis, and we are currently beta testing the display of Inspec Analytics within Inspec search results and records on Engineering Village.
LinkedIn Learning - formerly Lynda.com, this online learning platform provides videos and full courses covering software, technology, business and creative skills. Includes courses on Adobe and Microsoft tools.
BBC Landmark Video Collection - streaming video collection of BBC documentaries on the natural world including the series Planet Earth, Life, and Blue Planet.
Purchase Recommendation - we welcome your suggestions! Please contact your librarian or fill out the purchase recommendation form if you would like to suggest that we purchase a journal or book for the collection. If we have an ebook but you would prefer the print book, we can also purchase the print version for the collection on request.
| Date | Time | Event | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8/22/19 | 2 - 3 pm | Citation Management: an introduction | Engineering Library Training Room |
| 8/22/19 | 4 - 5 pm | Introduction to LaTeX using Overleaf: Basics and Bibliographies | Engineering Library Training Room |
| 8/28/19 | 5 - 6 pm | Introduction to Zotero | 405 Moffitt Library |
| 8/29/19 | 4 - 5 pm | LaTeX with Overleaf: Tables and Figures | Engineering Library Training Room |
| 9/4/19 | 11 am - 12:30 pm | 405 Moffitt Library | |
| 9/5/19 | 4 - 5 pm | LaTeX with Overleaf: Equations and Formulas | Engineering Library Training Room |
| 9/10/19 | 12 - 1 pm | Mendeley Workshop: Organize, Cite, Discover | Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library Training Room |
| 9/11/19 | 11 am - 12:30 pm | Engineering Library Training Room | |
| 9/12/19 | 5 - 6 pm | Zotero: Beyond the Basics | 405 Moffitt Library |
| 9/17/19 | 4 - 5 pm | Mendeley Workshop: Organize, Cite, Discover | Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library Training Room |
This series of workshops is designed to address the dissertation writing process for graduate students in engineering. Developed with the help of current and former graduate students, each workshop addresses a different challenge of the dissertation writing process. Attendees will become familiar with writing and editing strategies and tools to improve the writing workflow. This series is designed for graduate students in engineering, but is open to any member of the UC Berkeley community.
| Date | Time | Event | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9/4/19 | 2 - 3:30 pm | Planning and Writing the Dissertation | Engineering Library Training Room |
| 10/23/19 | 2 - 3 pm | Improving Writing Workflows | Engineering Library Training Room |
| 11/6/19 | 1 - 3 pm | Editing and Revising Writing Workshop | Engineering Library Training Room |
Salwa Ismail, Associate University Librarian for Digital Initiatives & Information Technology, joined the UC Berkeley Library on June 3. Salwa was previously Head of Library IT at Georgetown University.<
Susan Swarts joined us as Associate University Librarian for Administrative Services & Organizational Effectiveness on August 5. Susan was previously Assistant Vice Provost for Administration and Assistant Dean of the UCLA Division of Undergraduate Education.
Librarians Susan Powell, Brian Quigley, Anna Sackmann and Samantha Teplitzky presented posters at the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) 2019 meeting in Cleveland. Brian, Anna & Sam's poster, Supporting Research Workflows with Online Collaborative LaTeX Writing Tools, discussed the development of our LaTeX workshop series. Susan's poster, From curation to creation: Transforming paper map collections into research-ready GIS datasets, explored her creation of an historical GIS database of 20th century Mongolia.
The Faculty Library Committee met in May to discuss several issues:
We discussed the Elsevier negotiations and gave updates on why UC cut ties with Elsevier and how to obtain alternative access to Elsevier articles.
We also discussed the successful Cambridge transformative open access agreement and its implications. You can read more about what it means for you in the UC Office of Scholarly Communication's article on Exciting Changes Ahead: Publishing Your Articles in Cambridge University Press Journals.
We shared information about library support for writing and citing tools:
Library workshops on citation management, Overleaf, Mendeley, Zotero, and RefWorks
PressbooksEDU pilot for publishing digital books, open textbooks, and open educational resources
Librarians are available to visit research groups or courses to talk about literature searching, citation management tools, Overleaf, open access publishing, research data management, and more.