Skip to Main Content

Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries Newsletters: Spring 2023

Spring 2023 Newsletter

Workshops

Never miss a library workshop or event by signing up for our mailing list.

Contact Us!

Brian Quigley

Head, EPS Division; Interim Head, LHS Division

Mathematics, Bioengineering

bquigley@berkeley.edu

 

Misha Coleman

Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Industrial Engineering & Operations Research, Statistics

mishacoleman@berkeley.edu

 

Lisa Ngo

Engineering

lngo@berkeley.edu

 

Susan Powell

Maps, GIS, and Geography

smpowell@berkeley.edu​

 

Samantha Teplitzky

Earth Science and Open Science

samteplitzky@berkeley.edu

Bitmoji image of librarians with Contact Us text

Accessing Library Services and Resources

Please see "Location + Hours" for the latest information on spring semester hours.

Staffing News

On December 1, Misha Coleman joined the EPS Libraries as our STEM Librarian. In this role, she serves as the librarian for electrical engineering & computer science, industrial engineering & operations research, and statistics. Misha joins us from the University of Texas at Austin, where she recently completed her MS in Information Studies. She has a BA in Hispanic Studies from Macalester College, and she has previous experience as a software developer, a teaching assistant, and a medical interpreter.

With this appointment, we were also able to make some changes to other librarian assignments. In addition to their other roles, Lisa Ngo is now serving as the librarian for materials science & engineering, and Brian Quigley is now serving as the librarian for bioengineering.

However, our Chemical & Physical Sciences Librarian Kristen Greenland left UC Berkeley for another position in December. For the past 3 years, Kristen made significant contributions to our outreach efforts and diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives in the EPS Libraries while also serving as the librarian for astronomy, chemistry, chemical & biomolecular engineering, and physics. We wish her well in her exciting new role! It will take some time to fill her position, but we will continue to be here to help those four departments. If you have questions for the library on access problems, literature reviews, citation management, or open access publishing in those subject areas, please contact us at epslibs@berkeley.edu, and one of our librarians will reply to you.

Resource Updates

Mendeley Institutional Edition subscription ending  - A reminder that our subscription to Mendeley Institutional Edition will be ending this month. While our subscription has provided access to premium features such as expanded storage and unlimited private groups, users will still be able to access the free version of Mendeley even after our subscription ends. With 2GB of personal library storage and the ability to create 5 private groups with up to 25 members, the free version will be sufficient for the majority of Mendeley users at UC Berkeley. If you are one of our Mendeley users, you should receive an email next week about the subscription ending -- by logging into your account from a UC Berkeley IP address within 10 days of receiving that email, you will be granted a 12-month grace period to continue using premium features. Please see our Mendeley guide for more information.

National Parcelmap Data - Did you know that the Library acquires a national parcel dataset every few years from Boundary Solutions? Contact GIS & Maps Librarian Susan Powell if you're interested in accessing this data for your research or teaching.

Pharos - The Library recently subscribed to the Pharos database, which "provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products." You must register using your Berkeley email address in order to get access to the database.

Cambridge Structural Database license key - The Cambridge Structural Database System is a repository of small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structure data along with software to analyze and visualize those structures. At the beginning of the year, we received a new license key for the software so you will need to update it in your version to continue using it. You can get the new key from our 2023 site code and activation key site. Moving forward, the license key will be updated each year.

Purchase Recommendation - we welcome your suggestions! Please contact your librarian or fill out the purchase recommendation form if you would like to suggest that we purchase a journal or book for the collection.

Serials Reduction - Spring 2023

As previously announced, the Library is in the process of reducing its collection budget by $1.7M to partially address its budget deficit. During the current fiscal year, our discretionary budgets for monograph and other one-time purchases have been reduced $850,000. Next year, our serials budgets will be reduced by $850,000. To prepare for this reduction, the Library will be conducting a review of all of its journal, ebook, and database subscriptions and sharing lists of potential cancellations with campus for feedback. Watch for lists to review in March or April.

Bechtel Renovation & Engineering Student Center

Construction is slated to begin this summer on an addition to the Bechtel Engineering Center that will create a new and transformative Engineering Student Center. We wanted to provide advance notice that the Engineering Library will temporarily close after the Spring 2023 semester to accommodate this construction. Library staff are busy working on plans to provide alternate study space recommendations and services during the closure, and we will provide more information later this semester.

Events & Exhibits

 

Date Time Event Location
February 2 12 - 1:30 PM Introduction to LaTeX with Overleaf

Earth Sciences & Map Library; 50 McCone Hall
February 8

10:10 - 11AM

12:10 - 1 PM

4:10 - 5 PM

 Introduction to Zotero Zoom; Register
February 9, 10 12:10 - 1:30 PM Advanced Zotero Zoom; Register
February 14 1 - 2 PM GIS & Mapping: Where to Start Zoom; Register
February 15 1 - 2:30 PM Edit For Change Wikipedia Edit-a-Thon Zoom; Register
February 28 2 - 3 PM

Bay Area Open Science Group - Ruth Schmidt, 

Project TARA (Tools to Advance Research Assessment), Building Blocks for Impact

 Zoom; Register
March 9

10:10 - 11AM

12:10 - 1 PM

4:10 - 5 PM

 Introduction to Zotero Zoom; Register
March 13, 14 12:10 - 1:30 PM Advanced Zotero Zoom; Register
March 28 2 - 3 PM

Bay Area Open Science Group - Joshua Buckholtz, 

Center for Open and Reproducible Science at Stanford

 Zoom TBD
April 25 2 - 3 PM Bay Area Open Science Group - Open Science in the Fraser Lab (UCSF) Zoom TBD
May 23 2 - 3 PM Bay Area Open Science Group - Save the date; Speaker TBD  

Please visit the Library Workshops Calendar to register and view additional workshops. For more information about the types of events and instruction sessions we offer, visit the Events & Instruction from the Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries Guide.

Other Events:

UC Love Data Week

February 13 - 17 - UC Love Data Week is a week-long offering of presentations and workshops focused on data access, management, security, sharing, and preservation. (Visit https://uc-love-data-week.github.io/)

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The Inclusive Excellence Collection at the Engineering Library is a collaboration between the College of Engineering and the Kresge Engineering Library. The collection consists of physical books as well as electronic books and other electronic resources. Although some books are housed in the Engineering Library, this resource is for the entire campus. The collection is meant to be dynamic and will grow over time.

This collection was created by the College of Engineering's Director of Community Engagement & Inclusive Practices Fatima Alleyne, Head of Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries Brian Quigley and Engineering Librarian Lisa Ngo.

Access the collection here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/EngineeringLibraryDEI

-------

Following the Engineering Library's lead, a similar effort was created in partnership with the Earth & Planetary Science Department and the Earth Sciences and Map Library. This guide stems from a Call to Action by Earth & Planetary Science graduate students and was co-created by Bonita Dyess and Sam Teplitzky from the library, and Tyler Cadena and Michelle Devoe from the EPS department.

The guide can be found here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/geo_dei

Bay Area Open Science Group

Bay Area Open Science Group

Bay Area Open Science Group Logo with mapAre you interested in making your research more openly available? Want to learn about open science tools and platforms that can make your research more effective and reproducible? The Bay Area Open Science Group is intended to bring together students, faculty, and staff from the Stanford, Berkeley, and UCSF communities to learn about open science, discuss the application of open science practices in a research context, and meet other members of the community who are interested in (or already are) incorporating open science practices into their work.

 

Spring 2025 Meetings:

We meet on the 4th Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm via Zoom. All are welcome to attend and join the conversation!

  • January 28 - Deep Learning Based Framework to Identify Undocumented Orphaned Oil and Gas Wells from Historical Maps - 
    Dr. Fabio Ciulla is a postdoctoral research fellow in the Climate and Ecosystem Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He earned his M.S. degrees in Physics from the University of Rome La Sapienza and completed his Ph.D. at Northeastern University in Boston, focusing on nonlinear dynamics of diffusive phenomena on geographical networks. At Berkeley Lab, his research includes developing data-driven models to predict water quality and leveraging state-of-the-art machine learning algorithms to detect undocumented legacy oil and gas wells across the United States.
    • Brief description of the study:
      Undocumented Orphaned Wells (UOWs) in the U.S. pose environmental risks, including methane leaks and groundwater contamination. This study used historical topographic maps, available as open-source data from USGS, and a U-Net computer vision model to detect well symbols in the maps and flag UOWs when there is no match among known wells. Applied to areas in California and Oklahoma, it revealed 1,301 potential UOWs with high spatial accuracy.
    • Related article: Ciulla, F., Santos, A., Jordan, P., Kneafsey, T., Biraud, S. C., & Varadharajan, C. (2024). A Deep Learning Based Framework to Identify Undocumented Orphaned Oil and Gas Wells from Historical Maps: A Case Study for California and Oklahoma. Environmental Science & Technology. DOI: 10.1021/acs.est.4c04413
    • Zoom registration
  • February 25 - Open Science for Preterm Birth Research: Advancing Discovery Through a Public Data Repository and a DREAM Crowdsourcing Challenge - Tomiko Oskotsky is a physician-scientist in the Sirota Lab at the Bakar Computational Health Sciences Institute, UCSF. She earned her B.S. in Biochemistry from UCLA and her M.D. from the Medical College of Wisconsin, where she was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) National Medical Honor Society. Her research involves interrogating diverse datasets, including electronic health records, to better understand human health and disease. Her leadership roles include co-leading the March of Dimes preterm birth research data repository and directing the UCSF AI4ALL program, which teaches AI to underrepresented youth.

    • This talk will be centered around the development and administration of a March of Dimes-funded public data-sharing repository for preterm birth research, emphasizing its role in promoting open science and collaboration. She will discuss the organization of a DREAM crowdsourcing challenge that leveraging data from this repository and other publicly available datasets with the goal of predicting preterm risk among expectant individuals. The session will demonstrate how open data initiatives can accelerate discovery in preterm birth.

    • Zoom registration

  • March 25 - Case studies in transparency: OSF (Open Science Framework) at UC Berkeley
    • Join the BAOSG in March to learn about successful use cases for the OSF (Open Science Framework) platform. Professor Mariam Aly and Professor Don Moore, both from UC Berkeley, will join us to share their experiences using the platform to support and extend their open, transparent research practices.
      • Mariam Aly is an Acting Associate Professor in the Department of Psychology at UC Berkeley. Her lab studies how memory systems contribute to attention, perception, and prediction. Mariam is passionate about making academia more equitable and inclusive by increasing transparency, accountability, and fairness.
      • Don Moore holds the Lorraine Tyson Mitchell Chair in Leadership at the Haas School of Business at the University of California at Berkeley. His research interests include overconfidence, including when people think they are better than they actually are, when people think they are better than others, and when they are too sure they know the truth. He is only occasionally overconfident.
    • Zoom registration
  • April 22 - TBD
  • May 27 - TBD

Fall 2024 Meetings:

We meet on the 4th Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm via Zoom. All are welcome to attend and join the conversation!

  • September 24 - Good practices better than none: Lowering the barrier to good research data management and sharing. We will be joined by Dr. Abel Torres Espin. Abel Torres Espin is an Assistant Professor at the School of Public Health Sciences at the University of Waterloo. He is also appointed as Adjunct Faculty at the Department of Physical Therapy at the University of Alberta and as an Assistant Adjunct Professor at the University of California, San Francisco. Abel is part of the data team for several multi-center big data observational studies aimed at capturing and analyzing as much data as possible from different populations. Additionally, Abel is an advocate for open science, data sharing, and reproducibility. He serves as the lead data scientist for health data-sharing initiatives like the Open Data Commons for Spinal Cord Injury and Traumatic Brain Injury. Abel also participates in initiatives on data-sharing standards. He will discuss his recent article, A practical guide to data management and sharing for biomedical laboratory researchers and lessons learned to lower the barrier to good data practices, perhaps at the expense of best practices. Related article.
  • October 22 - Sewers for surveillance: Harnessing wastewater monitoring data for public health action. Elana Chan (Stanford University) is a Civil and Environmental Engineering PhD candidate in the Boehm Research Group studying how wastewater monitoring data may be interpreted for public health action. Elana was recently awarded the 2024 Stanford University Libraries Data Sharing Prize for her transparent research practices including publishing her data and code alongside her research papers with detailed documentation in the Stanford Digital Repository. 
  • November 19 - A checklist to guide sensitivity analyses and replications of impact evaluations: This month the Bay Area Open Science Group will be joined by Sridevi Prasad. Sridevi is a Berkeley alum and a second-year PhD student in Global Health and Development at the Emory Rollins School of Public Health, specializing in water, sanitation and hygiene. Prior to Emory, she was a Senior Research Associate at the International Initiative for Impact Evaluation (3ie), where she was involved in their Transparency, Reproducibility and Ethical Evaluation Initiative. Sridevi will discuss a checklist she developed to guide researchers in planning and justifying replications studies. Attendees will learn how the checklist can be applied to impact evaluations and potentially other  transparent and ethical research practices. Related article.

Looking for info from past meetups?

Read our recent reflection on the themes that emerged from our 2023-24 meetings: https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.12702026

Check out our collaborative notes

Use the Open Science Team Agreements!

Want to talk about Open Science with your lab or team? We created a two-page template for teams to learn more about open science and select practices that work for them. Find it on Zenodo.

Fall 2023 Meetings:

  • September 26 [Note special time - 9-10 AM] - This month, the Bay Area Open Science Group will be facilitating a journal club discussion focused on the recent paper, “Teaching open and reproducible scholarship: a critical review of the evidence base for current pedagogical methods and their outcomes” (https://doi.org/10.1098/rsos.221255). Join us to discuss teaching open and transparent research practices. We will also be sharing a few exciting community updates during the meetup!
  • October 24 - Building your Open Science Career - Join the BAOSG and guests, Hao Ye (Curriculum Developer, Community for Rigor, U Pennsylvania) + Virginia Scarlett (Scientific Computing Associate, Open Data, HHMI Janelia), to discuss job searching and career pathways in open science.
  • November 28 - [Note special time - 11 AM - 12 PM] - This month Kate Tasker and Rebecca Tang will join us from the UCSF Industry Documents Library (IDL) - a free online archive of millions of previously-internal corporate documents from Tobacco, Opioid, Food and other industries that impact public health. Kate and Rebecca will give an overview of IDL, discuss how the documents are prepared for free open access, and share how researchers have used the documents for scientific and computational analysis, litigation, investigative journalism, and policymaking that protects and improves public health.

Spring 2024 Meetings:

  • January 23, 2024 - This month the Bay Area Open Science group is digging into Citizen Science for health research with Shamsi Soltani from Stanford. As big data proliferate, the importance of representing the lived experiences and diverse perspectives of individuals will only grow. Shamsi and her team used micro-scale citizen scientist-collected data from four Bay Area communities along with aggregate epidemiologic and population-level data sets to illustrate barriers to, and facilitators of, physical activity in low-income aging adults. These data integrations highlight the synergistic value added by combining data sources, and what might be missed by relying on either a micro- or macro-level data source alone.
  • February 27, 2024 - In February, we will be joined by members of the UCSF Decision lab. PI Winston Chiong and his team will join us in a conversation about how they incorporate reproducibility into their neuroethics and decision neuroscience research, showcasing practices and values from their lab handbook.
  • March 19, 2024 - This month the Bay Area Open Science Group will celebrate the 10th anniversary of SCOAP3, the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics, a groundbreaking partnership of libraries, funding agencies and research centers around the world to open the literature in the field of High-Energy Physics. Kamran Naim (Head of Open Science), Anne Gentil-Beccot (Open access coordinator and electronic resources manager, and Alexander Kohls (Scientific Information Service, Group Leader) of CERN will join us to discuss the SCOAP3 model, accomplishments and plans for the future, and will highlight data from participating US institutions.
  • April 23, 2024 - Supporting an Open Source Software Journal: Strategies for Effective Editing and Engagement. This month the Bay Area Open Science Group will be joined by Kelly L. Rowland. Kelly will discuss her experiences as editor for JOSS, a journal dedicated to publishing articles about open source research software across domains. JOSS’ scope includes software that solves complex modeling problems in a scientific context, supports the functioning of research instruments or the execution of research experiments, or extracts knowledge from large data sets. Kelly is a Computer Systems Engineer in the User Engagement Group at the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC), a division of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL). Before joining NERSC, she obtained her Ph.D. from UC Berkeley in Nuclear Engineering with a Designated Emphasis on Computational Science and Engineering. Kelly has been an editor for the Journal of Open Source Software (JOSS) since 2021. 
  • May 28, 2024 - Will teamwork make the dream work? Promoting open science practices via big team science. This month the Bay Area Open Science Group will be joined by Nicholas Coles and Heidi Baumgartner. Nicholas and Heidi will discuss their experiences as co-directors of the Stanford Big Team Science Lab (BiTS). Nicholas is a Research Scientist at the Stanford Human-Centered AI center and founded the Emotion Physiology and Experience Collaboration, which is working to develop the largest publicly available dataset on emotion physiology and experience. Heidi is a Research Scholar at Stanford and is the Executive Director of ManyBabies, an international collaborative network focused on replication and best practices in developmental psychology research.

Bay Area Open Science Group

Bay Area Open Science Group Logo with mapAre you interested in making your research more openly available? Want to learn about open science tools and platforms that can make your research more effective and reproducible? The Bay Area Open Science Group is intended to bring together students, faculty, and staff from the Stanford, Berkeley, and UCSF communities to learn about open science, discuss the application of open science practices in a research context, and meet other members of the community who are interested in (or already are) incorporating open science practices into their work.

Meetings:

We meet on the 4th Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm via Zoom. All are welcome to attend and join the conversation!

Dates for 2022-2023:

Fall Semester 2022

Tuesday, August 23, 2022, 2-3 PM - Open Science Team Agreements

Click here to register for August Zoom Meeting

This month, the Bay Area Open Science Group introduces the “Open Science Team Agreement,” a template that research groups can use to discuss, adopt and implement open science practices. Ariel, John, and Sam (the co-hosts of Bay Area Open Science Group) have designed a prototype team agreement (available via Overleaf or Google Docs) and are looking for feedback. Join us to discuss what else should be included, and how team agreements can be used to kickstart conversations on open science. Potential adopters are especially welcome.

Tuesday, September 27, 2022, 2-3 PM - Free Open Access Medical education

Register for September Zoom Meeting

Dana Larsen - UCSF 

This month the Bay Area Open Science Group is learning about engaging with #FOAMed (Free Open Access Medical education): how medical trainees are utilizing online educational resources.

FOAMed, Free Open Access Medical education, describes online resources which are free and generally represent a crowdsourcing of content, such as blogs, microblogs (Twitter), podcasts, and online journal clubs. While FOAMed has been increasing within medical education, limited data exists on how to utilize this tool to supplement existing curriculum in order to fill gaps in trainees' knowledge and stimulate self-directed learning. In this session, Dr. Dana Larsen, principal investigator of a UCSF Innovations Funding in Education study, will discuss her design-based research project seeking to pragmatically build an adjunct curriculum for nephrology fellows using FOAMed resources.

Tuesday, October 25, 2022, 2-3 PM

Natasha Batalha (NASA Ames)

This month the Bay Area Open Science Group will hear from Natasha Batalha as she shares her experience as a Team Lead on NASA's TOPS (Transform to Open Science) Mission developing a curriculum on Open Results.

Register for October meeting

Tuesday, November 29, 2022, 2-3 PM

This month the Bay Area Open Science Group will discuss the slew of new federal open science policies coming our way including the 2023 NIH Data Management and Sharing policy and the recent OSTP memo "Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Research". What does this mean for you and your research? Let's discuss!

Register for November meeting

Spring Semester 2023

Tuesday, February 28, 2023, 2-3 PM - Ruth Schmidt, Project TARA (Tools to Advance Research Assessment), Building Blocks for Impact

Ruth Schmidt is an associate professor at the Institute of Design (ID) at Illinois Tech, whose research sits at the intersection of behavioral science, humanity-centered design, and complex systems. She has been working with DORA for several years to tackle research assessment reform from a behavioral systems perspective, resulting in tools like "Building Blocks for Impact" to provide new structures and language that help expand traditional notions of defining and assessing quality researchers. 

Register for February meeting

Tuesday, March 28, 2023, 2-3 PM - Joshua Buckholtz, Center for Open and Reproducible Science at Stanford

This month the Bay Area Open Science group will be joined by Joshua Buckholtz, Director of Operations and Research Scholar at the Stanford Data Science Center for Open and REproducible Science (SDS-CORES).

Register for March meeting

Tuesday, April 25, 2023, 2-3 PM - Open Science in Bioengineering with the Fraser Lab, UCSF

This month, the Bay Area Open Science group will be joined by members of the Fraser lab at UCSF. James Fraser, Roberto Diaz, and Christian Macdonald will join us in a conversation about how they incorporate open science values into their bioengineering research, and how they think about getting credit for this work.

Register for April meeting

Tuesday, May 23, 2023, 2-3 PM - Open Data with Steve Diggs, Senior Product Manager for data publishing at the California Digital Library, UC

This month, the Bay Area Open Science group will be joined by Steve Diggs. Steve recently started at the California Digital Library (CDL) as the University of California Curation Center (UC3)’s new Senior Product Manager for our data publishing portfolio. Steve most recently worked at the Scripps Institute of Oceanography at UCSD where he has served as the Technical Director of the Hydrographic Data Office (CCHDO). Steve will discuss best practices in data publishing, adapting data repositories in response to researcher needs and preserving data to meet compliance requirements.

Register for May meeting

Tuesday, June 27, 2023, 2-3 PM - ChatGPT and SciHub, an informal chat

Join the Bay Area Open Science Group this month for an informal conversation about “open” information focusing on ChatGPT and SciHub. What do these tools have in common? What do they say about the future of scientific information access and open science?

Here is what ChatGPt has to say on the topic:

Looking for reliable scientific information? Look no further than ChatGPT and SciHub! ChatGPT is an advanced language model that can answer your scientific questions quickly and accurately. Whether you're a researcher, student, or just curious about the world around you, ChatGPT has got you covered. On the other hand, SciHub is a platform that provides free access to scientific papers and articles that are otherwise hidden behind paywalls. With over 80 million papers available, SciHub is a treasure trove of information that can help you stay up-to-date on the latest scientific research. So whether you prefer asking questions or reading articles, ChatGPT and SciHub are the perfect combination for anyone seeking reliable scientific information. What do you think about ChatGPT’s enthusiastic boosterism? Do you consider ChatGPT and SciHub to be the “perfect combination for anyone seeking reliable scientific information?”

Join the conversation and let us know!

Recommended Pre-listen: https://radiolab.org/podcast/library-alexandra

Register for June meeting

Bay Area Open Science Group

Are you interested in making your research more openly available? Want to learn about open science tools and platforms that can make your research more effective and reproducible? The Bay Area Open Science Group is intended to bring together students, faculty, and staff from the Stanford, Berkeley, and UCSF communities to learn about open science, discuss the application of open science practices in a research context, and meet other members of the community who are interested in (or already are) incorporating open science practices into their work.

Meetings:

We meet on the 4th Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm via Zoom. All are welcome to attend and join the conversation!

Dates for 2021-2022:

  • September 28: 
    • Introductions and Open Science Group Discussion
  • October 26: 
    • Join us in October to learn about Curating a COVID-19 Data Repository, a public data repository built by the Yu Group at UC Berkeley to aid community-wide data science efforts in the fight against COVID-19.
      Tiffany Tang, a statistics PhD student in the Yu Group, will be discussing how the project came about, what it was like working in the time pressure situation, and some lessons learned in the process of creating an open-source data repository. We will also have plenty of time for questions and a more general discussion on creating an open-source data repository.
  • November 30: (note, 5th Tuesday instead)

Open peer review is the least practiced aspect of open science. Yet it may teach us a lot about how manuscripts can change from their submitted version to their (peer-revied) published version of record. Mario Malicki will give an overview of 21 studies that analysed manuscript changes and his own study in which I analysed changes between 121 epidemiology preprints and 
their subsequent published versions. Finally, he will present a call for declaring changes to manuscripts with each published paper.

  • December (no meeting)
  • January 25, 2022
  • February 22, 2022
  • March 22, 2022

    • Milo Johnson (https://miloswebsite.com/, starting a post-doc in the Koskella Lab at UC Berkeley this June)

      The linear format of scientific papers is an entrenched, constrained result of history that holds back efficient and effective transmission of information between scientists. Science requires depth, but the reality is that the majority of readers don’t care about the majority of things in a paper. And we know it! At conferences, scientists give 5-minute talks at poster sessions that effectively communicate their work to 95% of their audience, and the other 5% can ask follow-up questions about the details. Can we design a way to write scientific content in a similar way, such that the details are accessible behind a concise narrative? I'll present this idea along with some preliminary technical explorations, and I'll invite y'all to brainstorm with me about how we can make tools to improve communication between scientists!

  • April 26, 2022

    • Gather around virtually with colleagues at Stanford and Berkeley for a presentation on The COVID Tracking Project by Kevin Miller, a former team lead with the project who is archiving the project's data and collections for the UCSF Archives & Special Collections. The project was a volunteer-run, community-science program that became a critical source of national pandemic data accidentally and overnight. He will discuss how it was built, and the challenges of archiving such a massive, born-digital collection.

  • May 24, 2022

    • Join us in May as we get together virtually with colleagues at UCSF and Stanford to hear from the fledgling Open Source Science at Berkeley student organization. They will be introducing their group and seeking feedback for a planned 1-unit course on developing open-source scientific software. Rachel Clune, Orion Cohen, Tarini Hardikar, and Connie Robinson are chemistry graduate students at UC Berkeley. They share an interest in improving the scientific software ecosystem and teaching computational skills to the Berkeley community

  • Tuesday June 28, 2022

    • Examining the Openness of COVID-19-related Randomized Control Trials with John Borghi

Check out our website (https://bayareaopensciencegroup.github.io/) to get on our mailing list, or let us know if you want to present!

Get Connected w/ GIS!

Campus GIS & Mapping Community of Practice meetups are announced in several forums:

Interested in presenting at a future meetup or have an idea for a speaker or location? Please let us know by filling out this interest form!

Librarian News

Sam has taken on the role of Open Science Editor of the new diamond open access journal (free to read, free to publish in), Seismica. Her first co-authored editorial was recently published: https://doi.org/10.26443/seismica.v1i1.255

Susan recently returned from leave.

Lisa co-presented on a panel at the SciDataCon-IDW Seoul 2022 conference, sharing a talk "Introduction to data analysis at UC Berkeley: building a scalable instruction partnership in the Library."