Never miss a library workshop or event by signing up for our mailing list.
Brian Quigley
Head, EPS Division; Interim Head, LHS Division
Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science
Kristen Greenland
Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Physics, and Astronomy
Lisa Ngo
Engineering
Susan Powell
Maps, GIS, and Geography
Samantha Teplitzky
Earth Science and Open Science
steplitz@berkeley.edu
Please see UC Berkeley Library announces plans for 2022-23 academic year for the latest information on services.
Important Highlights:
In good news, Moffitt Library has reopened and will be offering late night hours again starting in mid-September. The Engineering Library will also be extending its hours to midnight again starting in mid-September. Consult library hours for current hours, but in general our hours for Fall will be:
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Library
Earth Sciences & Map Library
Engineering Library
Mathematics Statistics Library
Physics-Astronomy Library [Study Only]
Jose Hernandez joined the Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries as our Evening/Weekend Work Leader in June. In this role, he will oversee and support our student employees who work evening hours including our late night hours in the Engineering Library.
We recently interviewed candidates for our vacant STEM Librarian position. We hope to be able to announce a new librarian in the near future.
While we are filling some vacancies, sadly two library assistants also left the Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries for exciting new opportunities in the spring. These vacancies will not be filled due to the Library's reduced budget, and we are adjusting services accordingly.
New Library Website - The UC Berkeley Library is known for its world-class collections and high-caliber services. The Library launched a newly redesigned website on May 17th so that these Library resources will become even more accessible to users on campus and across the globe. Check out this library news article for more information on the redesign.
SciFinder Classic Retired - The classic version of SciFinder retired on July 31st. Going forward, we will only have access to the updated interface, SciFinder-n. If you are already using SciFinder-n, there’s nothing you need to do. If you have the old URL bookmarked, it will now redirect to SciFinder-n. To migrate your saved searches and alerts, login to SciFinder-n, go to Saved and Alerts, then Migrate Alerts & Saved Results. You can find training videos on the SciFinder-n support website.
ACS Transformative Agreement - In May 2022, UC announced an agreement with the American Chemical Society that makes it easier for UC corresponding authors to publish open access in ACS journals. The agreement includes a discounted article processing charge, which the author is asked to pay if they have grant funding. If they don't have grant funding, then the libraries will cover the full charge. For more information, see The University of California has inked a first-of-its kind deal with the American Chemical Society.
IEEE Transformative Agreement - UC announced an open access publishing agreement with IEEE in July 2022. It allows UC authors to publish open access in all IEEE journals, regardless of whether they have research funds available to pay for open access publishing. Those with grant funds are asked to cover the cost of OA publishing, while the libraries will cover the full cost for those who do not have funds. For more information, see the IEEE agreement FAQ on the UC Office of Scholarly Communication website.
Nature Transformative Agreement - Starting August 1, the UC libraries will automatically pay the first $1,000 of the article processing charge for UC authors who choose to publish open access in Nature journals. The remaining amount must be covered by the authors themselves, using research funds. Authors without research funds may continue to publish their articles on a subscription basis. For more details, see the Springer Nature agreement FAQ on the UC Office of Scholarly Communication website.
Overleaf - Starting August 23, Overleaf will be implementing an email reconfirmation process. Users will need to reconfirm their affiliation every 18 months in order to remain on the Berkeley subscription. If you have had your account for over 18 months, you should see a prompt to verify your institutional email address the next time that you log in. This will enable you to continue using premium features such as unlimited collaborators, real-time track changes, Mendeley & Zotero linking -- and the new symbol palette!
LBNL - Library resources for LBNL affiliates can differ from campus affiliates. Follow the new guide (https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/lbnl) to track which databases and resources are licensed for LBNL access.
Purchase Recommendation - we welcome your suggestions! Please contact your librarian or fill out the purchase recommendation form if you would like to suggest that we purchase a journal or book for the collection.
To help meet the needs of researchers and students in a primarily remote environment, we built a Jupyter book that includes virtual tutorials on our most requested course materials. Check out the Virtual Online Library Tutorials (VOLT) Jupyter book to learn more about searching, organizing, and writing tools.
Find the materials from our Fall LaTeX workshops here:
https://eps-libraries-berkeley.github.io/volt/LaTeX/latex_workshop.html
| Date | Time | Event | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| August 23 | 2 - 3 PM | Bay Area Open Science Group - Open Science Team Agreements |
Zoom; Register |
| August 25 | 12 - 1 PM | GIS & Mapping: Where to Start | Zoom; Register |
| August 25 | 4 - 5:15 PM | Introduction to LaTeX with Overleaf | Zoom; Register |
| September 6 - 13 | 9 AM - 12 PM, daily | UC-joint Carpentries Workshop: Coding and Data Management | Zoom; Register |
| September 7 | 4 - 5:15 PM | Introduction to LaTeX with Overleaf | Zoom; Register |
| September 8 | 4 - 5 PM | GIS & Mapping: Where to Start | Zoom; Register |
| September 14 | 10 AM, 12 PM, 4 PM | Introduction to Zotero | Zoom; Register |
| September | 2 - 3 PM |
Bay Area Open Science Group - Dana Larsen (UCSF) |
Zoom; Register |
| October | 2 - 3 PM |
Bay Area Open Science Group - Shilaan Alzawahi (Stanford) - NASA TOPS |
Zoom; Registration (TBD) |
Please visit the Library Workshops Calendar to register and view additional workshops. For more information about the types of events and instruction sessions we offer, visit the Events & Instruction from the Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries Guide.
Mapmaking Contest
Our third annual Student Mapmaking Contest took place in Spring 2022. Check out the winning maps, and follow the Earth Sciences Library (@geolibraryucb) for news about next year's contest.
The Inclusive Excellence Collection at the Engineering Library is a collaboration between the College of Engineering and the Kresge Engineering Library. The collection consists of physical books as well as electronic books and other electronic resources. Although some books are housed in the Engineering Library, this resource is for the entire campus. The collection is meant to be dynamic and will grow over time.
This collection was created by the College of Engineering's Director of Community Engagement & Inclusive Practices Fatima Alleyne, Head of Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries Brian Quigley and Engineering Librarian Lisa Ngo.
Access the collection here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/EngineeringLibraryDEI
-------
Following the Engineering Library's lead, a similar effort was created in partnership with the Earth & Planetary Science Department and the Earth Sciences and Map Library. This guide stems from a Call to Action by Earth & Planetary Science graduate students and was co-created by Bonita Dyess and Sam Teplitzky from the library, and Tyler Cadena and Michelle Devoe from the EPS department.
The guide can be found here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/geo_dei
Are you interested in making your research more openly available? Want to learn about open science tools and platforms that can make your research more effective and reproducible? The Bay Area Open Science Group is intended to bring together students, faculty, and staff from the Stanford, Berkeley, and UCSF communities to learn about open science, discuss the application of open science practices in a research context, and meet other members of the community who are interested in (or already are) incorporating open science practices into their work.
We meet on the 4th Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm via Zoom. All are welcome to attend and join the conversation!
Read our recent Reflection on the themes that emerged from our 2022-23 meetings: https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.8110673
Check out our collaborative notes
Find presentations from past meetups on Zenodo
Want to talk about Open Science with your lab or team? We created a two-page template for teams to learn more about open science and select practices that work for them. Find it on Zenodo.
Bay Area Open Science Group
Are you interested in making your research more openly available? Want to learn about open science tools and platforms that can make your research more effective and reproducible? The Bay Area Open Science Group is intended to bring together students, faculty, and staff from the Stanford, Berkeley, and UCSF communities to learn about open science, discuss the application of open science practices in a research context, and meet other members of the community who are interested in (or already are) incorporating open science practices into their work.
Meetings:
We meet on the 4th Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm via Zoom. All are welcome to attend and join the conversation!
Tuesday, August 23, 2022, 2-3 PM - Open Science Team Agreements
Click here to register for August Zoom Meeting
This month, the Bay Area Open Science Group introduces the “Open Science Team Agreement,” a template that research groups can use to discuss, adopt and implement open science practices. Ariel, John, and Sam (the co-hosts of Bay Area Open Science Group) have designed a prototype team agreement (available via Overleaf or Google Docs) and are looking for feedback. Join us to discuss what else should be included, and how team agreements can be used to kickstart conversations on open science. Potential adopters are especially welcome.
Tuesday, September 27, 2022, 2-3 PM - Free Open Access Medical education
Register for September Zoom Meeting
Dana Larsen - UCSF
This month the Bay Area Open Science Group is learning about engaging with #FOAMed (Free Open Access Medical education): how medical trainees are utilizing online educational resources.
FOAMed, Free Open Access Medical education, describes online resources which are free and generally represent a crowdsourcing of content, such as blogs, microblogs (Twitter), podcasts, and online journal clubs. While FOAMed has been increasing within medical education, limited data exists on how to utilize this tool to supplement existing curriculum in order to fill gaps in trainees' knowledge and stimulate self-directed learning. In this session, Dr. Dana Larsen, principal investigator of a UCSF Innovations Funding in Education study, will discuss her design-based research project seeking to pragmatically build an adjunct curriculum for nephrology fellows using FOAMed resources.
Tuesday, October 25, 2022, 2-3 PM
Natasha Batalha (NASA Ames)
This month the Bay Area Open Science Group will hear from Natasha Batalha as she shares her experience as a Team Lead on NASA's TOPS (Transform to Open Science) Mission developing a curriculum on Open Results.
Tuesday, November 29, 2022, 2-3 PM
This month the Bay Area Open Science Group will discuss the slew of new federal open science policies coming our way including the 2023 NIH Data Management and Sharing policy and the recent OSTP memo "Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Research". What does this mean for you and your research? Let's discuss!
Tuesday, February 28, 2023, 2-3 PM - Ruth Schmidt, Project TARA (Tools to Advance Research Assessment), Building Blocks for Impact
Ruth Schmidt is an associate professor at the Institute of Design (ID) at Illinois Tech, whose research sits at the intersection of behavioral science, humanity-centered design, and complex systems. She has been working with DORA for several years to tackle research assessment reform from a behavioral systems perspective, resulting in tools like "Building Blocks for Impact" to provide new structures and language that help expand traditional notions of defining and assessing quality researchers.
Tuesday, March 28, 2023, 2-3 PM - Joshua Buckholtz, Center for Open and Reproducible Science at Stanford
This month the Bay Area Open Science group will be joined by Joshua Buckholtz, Director of Operations and Research Scholar at the Stanford Data Science Center for Open and REproducible Science (SDS-CORES).
Tuesday, April 25, 2023, 2-3 PM - Open Science in Bioengineering with the Fraser Lab, UCSF
This month, the Bay Area Open Science group will be joined by members of the Fraser lab at UCSF. James Fraser, Roberto Diaz, and Christian Macdonald will join us in a conversation about how they incorporate open science values into their bioengineering research, and how they think about getting credit for this work.
Tuesday, May 23, 2023, 2-3 PM - Open Data with Steve Diggs, Senior Product Manager for data publishing at the California Digital Library, UC
This month, the Bay Area Open Science group will be joined by Steve Diggs. Steve recently started at the California Digital Library (CDL) as the University of California Curation Center (UC3)’s new Senior Product Manager for our data publishing portfolio. Steve most recently worked at the Scripps Institute of Oceanography at UCSD where he has served as the Technical Director of the Hydrographic Data Office (CCHDO). Steve will discuss best practices in data publishing, adapting data repositories in response to researcher needs and preserving data to meet compliance requirements.
Tuesday, June 27, 2023, 2-3 PM - ChatGPT and SciHub, an informal chat
Join the Bay Area Open Science Group this month for an informal conversation about “open” information focusing on ChatGPT and SciHub. What do these tools have in common? What do they say about the future of scientific information access and open science?
Here is what ChatGPt has to say on the topic:
Looking for reliable scientific information? Look no further than ChatGPT and SciHub! ChatGPT is an advanced language model that can answer your scientific questions quickly and accurately. Whether you're a researcher, student, or just curious about the world around you, ChatGPT has got you covered. On the other hand, SciHub is a platform that provides free access to scientific papers and articles that are otherwise hidden behind paywalls. With over 80 million papers available, SciHub is a treasure trove of information that can help you stay up-to-date on the latest scientific research. So whether you prefer asking questions or reading articles, ChatGPT and SciHub are the perfect combination for anyone seeking reliable scientific information. What do you think about ChatGPT’s enthusiastic boosterism? Do you consider ChatGPT and SciHub to be the “perfect combination for anyone seeking reliable scientific information?”
Join the conversation and let us know!
Recommended Pre-listen: https://radiolab.org/podcast/library-alexandra
Bay Area Open Science Group
Are you interested in making your research more openly available? Want to learn about open science tools and platforms that can make your research more effective and reproducible? The Bay Area Open Science Group is intended to bring together students, faculty, and staff from the Stanford, Berkeley, and UCSF communities to learn about open science, discuss the application of open science practices in a research context, and meet other members of the community who are interested in (or already are) incorporating open science practices into their work.
Meetings:
We meet on the 4th Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm via Zoom. All are welcome to attend and join the conversation!
Dates for 2021-2022:
Open peer review is the least practiced aspect of open science. Yet it may teach us a lot about how manuscripts can change from their submitted version to their (peer-revied) published version of record. Mario Malicki will give an overview of 21 studies that analysed manuscript changes and his own study in which I analysed changes between 121 epidemiology preprints and
their subsequent published versions. Finally, he will present a call for declaring changes to manuscripts with each published paper.
Milo Johnson (https://miloswebsite.com/, starting a post-doc in the Koskella Lab at UC Berkeley this June)
The linear format of scientific papers is an entrenched, constrained result of history that holds back efficient and effective transmission of information between scientists. Science requires depth, but the reality is that the majority of readers don’t care about the majority of things in a paper. And we know it! At conferences, scientists give 5-minute talks at poster sessions that effectively communicate their work to 95% of their audience, and the other 5% can ask follow-up questions about the details. Can we design a way to write scientific content in a similar way, such that the details are accessible behind a concise narrative? I'll present this idea along with some preliminary technical explorations, and I'll invite y'all to brainstorm with me about how we can make tools to improve communication between scientists!
April 26, 2022
Gather around virtually with colleagues at Stanford and Berkeley for a presentation on The COVID Tracking Project by Kevin Miller, a former team lead with the project who is archiving the project's data and collections for the UCSF Archives & Special Collections. The project was a volunteer-run, community-science program that became a critical source of national pandemic data accidentally and overnight. He will discuss how it was built, and the challenges of archiving such a massive, born-digital collection.
May 24, 2022
Join us in May as we get together virtually with colleagues at UCSF and Stanford to hear from the fledgling Open Source Science at Berkeley student organization. They will be introducing their group and seeking feedback for a planned 1-unit course on developing open-source scientific software. Rachel Clune, Orion Cohen, Tarini Hardikar, and Connie Robinson are chemistry graduate students at UC Berkeley. They share an interest in improving the scientific software ecosystem and teaching computational skills to the Berkeley community
Tuesday June 28, 2022
Examining the Openness of COVID-19-related Randomized Control Trials with John Borghi
Check out our website (https://bayareaopensciencegroup.github.io/) to get on our mailing list, or let us know if you want to present!
Sam and Bonita's article, Developing a collaborative diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) guide: a library-department partnership in the Earth Sciences, was published in the Journal of Map and Geography Libraries this Spring.
Sam has taken on the role of Open Science Editor of the new diamond open access journal (free to read, free to publish in), Seismica.
Susan recently returned from leave.
Lisa presented on the Engineering Library's Inclusive Excellence Collection to the Engineering Libraries Division at the American Society for Engineering Education's (ASEE) 2022 Annual Conference.
As a member of the ACRL Research Planning & Review Committee, Brian contributed to Top trends in academic libraries: a review of the trends and issues, published in College & Research Libraries News in June 2022.