Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries Newsletters: Spring 2021

Never miss a library workshop or event by signing up for our mailing list distributed monthly.

Brian Quigley

Head, EPS Division;

Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science

bquigley@berkeley.edu

 

Kristen Greenland

Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Physics, and Astronomy

kgreenland@berkeley.edu

 

Lisa Ngo

Engineering

lngo@berkeley.edu

 

Susan Powell

Maps, GIS, and Geography

smpowell@berkeley.edu​

 

Samantha Teplitzky

Earth Science and Open Science

steplitz@berkeley.edu

Please see Library Services and Resources During COVID-19 for the latest information on services during the pandemic.

Contactless pickup of physical items is available through Oski Xpress. Click on the Request button on an item page in the Library Catalog to initiate a request. Note that physical copies of items available electronically through HathiTrust are not available for checkout.

We congratulate Anna Sackmann on her new role as Data Services Librarian for the University Library. Anna has been our Science Data & Engineering Librarian for the past 5 years, expertly teaching and consulting about research data management and serving as librarian for bioengineering, electrical engineering, and materials science & engineering. Due to the current budget cuts and hiring freeze, we cannot fill her position immediately, but we will continue to be here to help those departments. If you have questions for the library on access problems, literature reviews, citation management, or open access, BioE, EE, and MSE faculty and students can contact us at epsref@lists.berkeley.edu for assistance, and one of our librarians will reply to you shortly.

• Springer Nature transformative open access agreement - As of January 4, research published in Springer journals by UC corresponding authors will be open access by default. The UC libraries will automatically pay the first $1000 of the article processing charge. If authors have grant funding available, we ask them to use it to cover any remaining charge, but authors lacking research funding can request that the UC libraries pay the entire fee. For more information, please see Boon for University of California authors: Landmark Springer Nature deal kicks off. 
• ISO and IEC Standards Access - We are in our final year of a pilot service to obtain select ISO and IEC standards through the Techstreet platform. Requests are filled using BSI (British Standards Institute) Standards; BSI adopts approximately 75% of ISO standards as well as some IEC standards. Feedback about the pilot, standards requests and/or questions can be sent to the library at epsref@lists.berkeley.edu.
• A digitized collection of German World War II Captured Maps from the UC Berkeley Library soft launched last fall. These maps were produced and used by the German military during World War II. Explore the more than 10,000 images at https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/germancapturedmaps
• Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) Journals have recently left IEEE Xplore in order to transition to open access. All issues from 2013 forward are now provided open access through the IET Journals Hub on Wiley. Currently, we also have access to the 1872-2006 archive through the IET Digital Library, and we are working to license the 2007-2012 issues.

---

Purchase Recommendation - we welcome your suggestions! Please contact your librarian or fill out the purchase recommendation form if you would like to suggest that we purchase a journal or book for the collection.

Watch for our citation management and writing tools survey! Science faculty, graduate students, and researchers will soon receive an email from their subject librarian with a link to a survey that we are conducting about citation management and writing tools. These tools are constantly evolving, and we are very interested in learning more about your preferences and opinions about them. Even if you don't use citation management tools, we would appreciate your input. The survey will close on February 19 - watch for the link!

To help meet the needs of researchers and students in a primarily remote environment, we built a Jupyter book that includes virtual tutorials on our most requested course materials. Check out the virtual Online Library Tutorials (vOLT) Jupyter book to learn more about searching, organizing, and writing tools.

Find all of the slides and exercises from our Fall LaTeX workshops here:

https://eps-libraries-berkeley.github.io/volt/LaTeX/Intro_to_LaTeX.html

 

Date	Time	Event	Location
February 9, 2021	2:00 - 3:30pm	Publish Digital Books and Open Educational Resources with Pressbooks	Zoom
February 9, 2021	3:00 - 4:00pm	Ethical Considerations in Data	Zoom
February 10, 2021	2:00 - 3:00pm	Cybersecurity for Graduate Students in Research	Zoom
February 11, 2021	1:00 - 2:00pm	Getting Started with LastPass and VeraCrypt	Zoom
February 11, 2021	3:40 - 5:00pm	Introduction to Savio Workshop	Zoom
March 2, 2021	3:10 - 4:30pm	Creating Web Maps with ArcGIS Online	Zoom

Please visit the Library Workshops Calendar to register and view additional workshops. 

Contact us to schedule workshops about Overleaf, research workflows, data management and more! We're happy to present personalized sessions for your course or research group. 

Love Data Week 2021

Celebrate Love Data Week by joining us for a series of events from February 8 through February 12, 2021. This year, the UC campuses are partnering to celebrate this nationwide campaign designed to raise awareness and build community around research data. Tune in for sessions that explore topics related to data ethics, data security, and much more! Students, faculty, researchers, librarians, and data specialists are invited to attend these events to gain hands-on experience, learn about resources, and engage in discussions around data needs throughout the research process.

To register for UCB workshops during this week and see what other sessions will be offered UC-wide, please visit: https://uc-love-data-week.github.io/

Please contact researchdata@berkeley.edu with questions.

Mapmaking Contest 2021

Our second annual student Mapmaking contest opens on March 1, 2021. Entries are due by April 9th. Find information about criteria, submission links and images of last year's winners at https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/mapthebay

The Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Collection at the Engineering Library is a collaboration between the College of Engineering and the Kresge Engineering Library. The collection consists of physical books as well as electronic books and other electronic resources. Although some books are housed in the engineering library, this resource is for the entire campus. The collection is meant to be dynamic and will grow over time.

This collection was created by the College of Engineering's Director of Community Engagement & Inclusive Practices Fatima Alleyne, Head of Engineering & Physical Sciences collections Brian Quigley and Engineering Librarian Lisa Ngo.

Access the collection here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/EngineeringLibraryDEI

-------

Following the Engineering Library's lead, a similar effort was created in partnership with the Earth & Planetary Science Department and the Earth Sciences and Map Library. This guide stems from a Call to Action by Earth & Planetary Science graduate students and was co-created by Bonita Dyess and Sam Teplitzky from the library, and Tyler Cadena and Michelle Devoe from the EPS department.

The guide can be found here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/geo_dei

Susan became the Geography subject editor for Resources for College Libraries, a database that provides lists of core titles for undergraduate education and teaching, co-published by Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) Choice and ProQuest.

Sam presented Virtual Online Library Tutorials (vOLT), an outreach project with Jupyterbook at the Science Librarianship in the time of COVID conference on January 13, 2021.

Brian co-authored an article on current trends in academic libraries as a member of the ACRL Research Planning & Review Committee: Benedetti A., Boehme G., Caswell T.R., Denlinger K., Li Y., McAllister A.D., Quigley, B.D., ... & Wesolek A.J. (2020). 2020 top trends in academic libraries. College & Research Libraries News, 270–278. https://doi.org/10.5860/crln.81.6.270

Kristen was invited to speak at three talks about her work with the Being Human in STEM Initiative. This initiative started as a course at Amherst College, and has developed into a broad network of educators invested in diversity and inclusion in STEM. The Being Human in STEM course empowers students to investigate issues of diversity in STEM through academic inquiry and project-based community engagement, and the course has been implemented at over a dozen institutions.